Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Christmas Treat
Where would Christmas be without MR James? To be listened on a winter's night, preferably before Christmas with the tree lights on and a Baileys Irish Cream. The Michael Hordern readings are the best but as they are still unavailable on CD this is the next best thing.
The stories are Canon Alberic's Scrapbook, Lost Hearts, The Mezzotint, The Ash Tree, Number 13,...
Published on 29 Sep 2010 by Stephen Gale

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Stories good but took a while to get used to the way it was written
Stories really good and creepy and an easy read, once I got used to the style of the authors writing.
Published 6 days ago by jan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Christmas Treat, 29 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Where would Christmas be without MR James? To be listened on a winter's night, preferably before Christmas with the tree lights on and a Baileys Irish Cream. The Michael Hordern readings are the best but as they are still unavailable on CD this is the next best thing.
The stories are Canon Alberic's Scrapbook, Lost Hearts, The Mezzotint, The Ash Tree, Number 13, Count Magnus, Whistle and I'll Come To You and The Treasure of Abbot Thomas. Read by David Timson with two by Stephen Critchlow. There are embellishes of classical music now and again but it doesn't intrude on the atmosphere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still enjoyable reading, 4 Jun 2011
By 
Cat (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first read these stories in my teens (and found them quite frightening!) and for several years the BBC televised a version of one of the stories each year as a Christmas ghost story. I've re-read them over the years and still find them a good read. The Kindle edition was free and the stories are as good as ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I was always looking for, 23 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big fan of ghost stories, and enjoy nothing more than choosing a scary book to read over the Halloween period. And so you can imagine my joy when Amy introduced me to the works of M. R. James. Ghost Stories of an Antiquary was his first collection of ghost stories, published in 1904. The tales all follow a similar route - a build up of otherworldly hints topped off by a ghastly visitation - and all are very enjoyable. What I liked most about the stories were his descriptions of building. Wonderful. Because I read it on the Kindle I could look up architectural words I didn't know right away. As each unwitting lead character arrives at a holiday destination or new country mansion that they have recently inherited we picture their locale perfectly.

What is also excellent is the way in which each story has a very creepy undertone. There is always mention of witchcraft or the occult early on to pique the interest, this is then investigated in libraries or via local hearsay, before something unnatural arrives. An it is the arrival of the unnatural that is the cherry on the cake. Always unnerving, sometimes freaky, often grotesque, they never fail to send a shiver down the spine. I look forward to reading more M. R. James in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice selection, well read., 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good selection of stories, and a well performed set of readings. If you like M.R. James, give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Deeply Haunting Collection Of Tales, 12 May 2011
One of the great aspects of the Kindle is the ability to discover classic authors we may never have chanced upon before because of the prohibitive cost of their books. But now that out of copyright books are available for free, I suspect there will be a torrent of interest in many unfairly neglected authors.

M.R. James certainly falls into this category - Ghost Stories of an Antiquary contains several mesmerising ghost stories that will stay with you long after you have read them. James' prose style is deceptively simple, but it has a hypnotic effect that allows him to really engage with the reader's imagination.

I do not want to say too much about the specific stories as I do not want to give away some of the terrific ideas that James plays with.

If you are a fan of ghost stories, you must give James' stories a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stories good but took a while to get used to the way it was written, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories of an Antiquary (Kindle Edition)
Stories really good and creepy and an easy read, once I got used to the style of the authors writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories of an Antiquary (Kindle Edition)
this was a good book was not sure at first but by the second chapter I was hooked not your usual ghost book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic ghost stories, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories of an Antiquary (Kindle Edition)
One of the best collection of ghost stories. Well written and although written years ago, the tales are still relevant today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories of an Antiquary (Kindle Edition)
very interesting book liked it very much
and would recommend to people who like a good read
excellent read what more can I say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Classic old school ghost stories, 26 Mar 2014
This review is from: Ghost Stories of an Antiquary (Kindle Edition)
M R James is a great writer. Good old school ghost stories full of gothic horror yet written so simply. The atmosphere and tension is built up beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost Stories of an Antiquary
Ghost Stories of an Antiquary by M. R. (Montague Rhodes) James
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews