Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Evocative short stories
I've rediscovered short stories since I got my Kindle because they are ideal travelling companions. Some of these are absolutely first class, particularly the title story and also 'The Daughters of the Late Colonel' and 'Marriage a la Mode'. They are all beautifully crafted and most of them encapsulate entire lives in one incident. Some of the stories suffer by comparison...
Published 19 months ago by GeordieReader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK book
Very, very descriptive and definately a product of it's time. The author nicely describes the going to a 'summer house' away from the city heat, which was done by most middle class Americans in the Victorian/Edwardian era. Her writing of a woman who did not love her children as the fear of childbirth overwhelmed her was novel for that era. OK if you have an interest in...
Published 21 months ago by Jude Faulkner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Evocative short stories, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Garden Party and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
I've rediscovered short stories since I got my Kindle because they are ideal travelling companions. Some of these are absolutely first class, particularly the title story and also 'The Daughters of the Late Colonel' and 'Marriage a la Mode'. They are all beautifully crafted and most of them encapsulate entire lives in one incident. Some of the stories suffer by comparison with the best, as is the way with collections. One or two didn't quite work for me, hence the four stars, but it was free and still is, so I recommend dipping into it and enjoying some wonderful writing which brings a place and time to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Garden Party and Other Stories, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Garden Party and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
These are charming stories, their content evoking the claustrophobia of family life set for the large part in colonial New Zealand. The stories centre around the interplay of relationships. The descriptions display a fine mastery of language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Garden Party and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
One of best short story writers. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Brill is Brilliant, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Garden Party and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
I got this for Miss Brill - my favourite short story by Ms. Mansfield and it's all a delight. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Katherine Mansfield short stories, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Garden Party and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
A good little collection of KM's short stories including some of the classics. If you haven't read anything by her before, this is a good way in to her writing. She's out of copyright now, so this e-book version can be downloaded free. Only contains the text. The Penguin edition has some explanatory notes as well, but not sure if the notes justify the extra cost (although nothing to stop you borrowing it from a library free of charge)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best short stories ever written, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Garden Party and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
Katherine Mansfield's short stories are some of the best ever written. I bought them on Kindle because I can no longer read the small print in my Penguin paperback. Everyone who aspires to write short stories should read them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK book, 30 Jun. 2013
By 
Jude Faulkner - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Garden Party and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
Very, very descriptive and definately a product of it's time. The author nicely describes the going to a 'summer house' away from the city heat, which was done by most middle class Americans in the Victorian/Edwardian era. Her writing of a woman who did not love her children as the fear of childbirth overwhelmed her was novel for that era. OK if you have an interest in the era but a lot of novel readers might find it hard going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant little stories, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Garden Party and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
I hadn't read any Katherine Mansfield before these short stories and I found them delightful.
Nothing much happens - youngsters grow up, old people grow older, nobody gets murdered; the stories are all about the characters and their relationships. They are understated and written with a real lightness of touch but are often very moving and are not sentimental.
They are generally set in a privileged middle class milieu which might not suit everybody and as they were written a century or so ago the style is of its time. However they are so well and unpretentiously written that they are very easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Garden Party and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
Lovely writing from one of the early twentieth century greats. Her characters are amazing, and her subtle railing against injustice cruelties of society is a joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic, 11 Mar. 2013
By 
H. Baird "HRB" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Garden Party and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book as I have a deck chair with the penguin cover, It didnt disappoint. Classic stories. Enjoyx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Garden Party and Other Stories
The Garden Party and Other Stories by Katherine Mansfield
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews