Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic
Tristram Shandy is a classic of humorous writing and probably the first post modern novel, written long before the term was even thought of. Just don't expect much of a plot!
Published on 29 Nov. 2012 by MR P W NUNN

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Meandering musings a little hard to follow
As enjoyable as story as it is, The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman left me disappointed. The main thrust of the story - of how Tristram came into the world and his interactions and opinions of and on it - becomes so diluted that I struggled to maintain my interest.

What are these musings? The author Laurence Sterne set out to parody the many...
Published 11 months ago by Mr N D Willis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Meandering musings a little hard to follow, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman (Kindle Edition)
As enjoyable as story as it is, The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman left me disappointed. The main thrust of the story - of how Tristram came into the world and his interactions and opinions of and on it - becomes so diluted that I struggled to maintain my interest.

What are these musings? The author Laurence Sterne set out to parody the many books of the time that poured forth their own musings on many subjects. Think of the works of philosophy of the likes of Michel de Montaigne. Such works at the time of Sterne's writing, Shandy is set in the early 1700s, became quite fashionable to the point where many 'gentlemen' of the age were apt to share their thoughts. Think of it as the modern day phenomenon of celebrity endorsement: let Katie Price share her thoughts on politics; hear Wayne Rooney give his thoughts on healthy eating.

The trick had been performed admirably by Cervantes in Don Quixote, and by Rabelais in Gargantua - incidentally Cervantes effort remains one of my favourite books whereas Rabelais one of my least enjoyed - and Sterne often namechecks these works to underline his method. While Shandy gives a uniquely British take on the style, the intentionally scatterbrained style became quite annoying.

Shandy recounts the story of his uncle's obsession with military tactics, based on experience of a battle and wounding alongside his faithful servant Trim. It recounts Shandy's parents and their feelings of how best to bring a child into the world. It also recounts the travels and travails of Shandy himself as he endeavours to record his efforts to fulfil or shake off the influence of his parents and uncle.

There are many passages of wit and warmth that bring the cast of Shandy to life. These passages show Sterne's great grasp of satire. However, for me at least, the story leapt, twisted and asided too frequently and caused the effervescent brew of Shandy to go flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 29 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman (Kindle Edition)
Tristram Shandy is a classic of humorous writing and probably the first post modern novel, written long before the term was even thought of. Just don't expect much of a plot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tristram Shandy, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman (Kindle Edition)
Great Fun - even if you feel the need to skip bits or skim over other parts however much you read is so enjoyable. It's a bit like finding yourself in the 1700s and being talked to non-stop by someone who is rather eccentric, rather amusing, and definitely a bit rude - and still being interested to find out what happens next! Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 20 Jun. 2014
By 
Friend of Dorothy (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman (Kindle Edition)
This is not one of my usual rambling reviews. Let's just say I loved it. As with Joyce's Ulysses, which I reviewed recently, this is a much funnier and more accessible book than its 'difficult' reputation would have you believe. The most remarkable elements are not the famous blank or black pages, wiggly lines etc. Above, all this is a book with brilliant, sympathetic and funny characters. In honour of Toby Shandy, if I see a fly in the house I now always try to usher it out of the window rather than trying to swat it: “Go, poor devil, get thee gone. Why should I hurt thee! This world is surely wide enough to hold both thee and me”.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic read, 29 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful to be able to get a copy and revisit the timeless humour of this unique classic,
Thank you, Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not an easy read., 27 Nov. 2012
By 
Tough Chops (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman (Kindle Edition)
This is quite hard work to plough through, but worth it! As it costs £0:00 as a Kindle edition, there is no harm in "giving it a try".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant novel, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman (Kindle Edition)
Melvin Bragg's radio piece on him made me revisit a novel I struggled with long ago. What an extraordinary and singular work it it. It is the most modern novel I have read. LS rips upyour ideas of conventional narrative and makes digression the driving force of his plot. If you put your prejudices aside and take a deep breath, this is a novel with vast confusing, wonderful scope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A genuine classic, 13 May 2014
By 
S. P. CRUMP "Big Veggie" (Midlands England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman (Kindle Edition)
I felt as though Tristram Shandy was a vivid glimpse into lives of real people from the past. That said, the characters also hold up as rounded humans and therefore for me the writing reflected on modern contemporary life. Above all, while it feels a little turgid at first, the effort pays off as it reals itself to be a genuine classic and great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tristram Shandy, 12 May 2014
By 
J. S. Stephens (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the great classics of English literature ,
funny ,philosophical ,and perceptive ,the British equivalent
of Candide ,and Don Quixote .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of order masquerading as disorder......, 21 Jan. 2014
By 
MCP (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman (Kindle Edition)
An essential volume to savour. Well-prepared for Kindle and a pleasure to dip in on one's travels...with A Sentimental Journey, of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews