Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars24
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2011
This is the sort of book that justifies the purchase of a Kindle - without it I probably wouldn't have read it. I read it as:

a) an English Literature undergraduate, and
b) someone brought up in the Catholic faith

Absolutely fascinating, carefully reasoned and persuasive. A historical record of the growth of Christianity and the way it, and in particular Catholicism, became more powerful than secular governments. The basic premise of the book is (SPOILER) that religion holds that it is and always has been the ultimate infalliable truth, and therefore was obliged to oppose science when it proved that religious tenets such as a flat earth were false. Scientific progress was untenable in the face of an omniscient God, and this led to conflict. (END SPOILER)

The author tries - and mostly succeeds - to be even-handed but he is by turns amused, angered and horrified by the measures taken to preserve the status quo.

Not an anti-God book - more an anti-organised religion book.
44 comments|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
When I downloaded this book I knew nothing about the author, john William Draper. He was an (English born) American scientist, philosopher, chemist and photographer who died in 1882. This book received worldwide recognition and was translated into several languages. It was banned by the Catholic Church.

Though the language used is verbose by present standards, it explores every aspect of the dichotomy between faith (mainly of the Catholic Church) and reason (of the scientist). I have never before read such an extended exploration of this conflict - which is how Draper sees it. One wonders how the Catholic Church could have survived such an onslaught. Draper is kinder to Islam (for example for protecting & fostering the learning of the Ancient Greeks) and to Protestantism.

Read this very stimulating book to get a later 19th century view of this conflict because the issues raised are still relevant today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
I used to go to a local library to borrow some books, but have recently begun to download free books from Amazon using my Kindle when I have time. I am very glad that a lot of books are available free of charge. Thank you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
It's understandable that in centuries past there should have been a conflict between religion and science, but that it continues today is astonishing. If only the gullible believers would read a few books like this rather than just swallowing the 'cherry-picked' bits from a bible or similar so-called holy book, we could enter another period of enlightenment. But I fear that the endless process of each group of misguided zealots will continue 'smiting' each other - as required by their 'holy book'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
I didn't much like as a read or guide to the subject. There are plenty of books about which will lead the reader through the subject and I recommend that you do read around the subject for a full appreciation of the topic. Reading will add depth to your knowledge of the history and philosopy of both subjects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
A superb book. When you are not howling with laughter at the amazing stupidity of the devout you are sobbing bitterly at their heartless cruelty. The writer of this book is religious but tells it like it is. The truth and nothing but the truth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
Language is quite difficult to read but once in I really enjoyed this non-bias viewpoint throughout the book. I enjoyed the history aspect of it and makes me want to read more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
Interesting. As the Bible is not a scientific book it is a History book. But it is scientifically correct when it talks about scientific things.
See jw.org.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
the book wasn't up to standards which isn't good I didn't enjoyed it but it help me understand the difference between science and religion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
Fascinating. The range of reference is enormous right from ancient Greece through the Middle Ages to the modern era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)