Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good old British hero
From the man himself, heroic yet modest. Tells the story straight. And the story is worth telling. A good read
Published 13 months ago by timmots

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Shackalicious
I enjoyed reading about the Endurance crew, the drifting on ice to Elephant island and Shackleton's voyage to South Georgia and even the Ross Sea Party. However the Aurora part bored me. Did not read any of the appendix as by the point had had enough.
Published 1 month ago by kej2772


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good old British hero, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South: The Story of Shackleton's 1914-1917 Expedition (Kindle Edition)
From the man himself, heroic yet modest. Tells the story straight. And the story is worth telling. A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect travel companion, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South: The Story of Shackleton's 1914-1917 Expedition (Kindle Edition)
I read this after visiting Antarctica this winter. It was an ideal book as we followed Shackleton's journey. The bravery and fortitude of these early adventurers leap from the page and the cold and discomfort are tangible. An excellent companion for anyone contemplating making this wonderful journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational read, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South: The Story of Shackleton's 1914-1917 Expedition (Kindle Edition)
if you thought you were a hard man - read this book, THEY were hard men. They never complained - except that -20F was too warm!! Hard to credit this happened not quite a century ago. Rubbish equipment, rubbish food, no contact with the outside world for months at a time. A walk over South Georgia, over the glaciers at 4000 feet in rotten boots and torn clothing! Barely believable. After reading this you will think twice about complaining about anything ever again!!!

Maps, data and sketches not included in this ebook though - which is a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South: The Story of Shackleton's 1914-1917 Expedition (Kindle Edition)
Have read this book 3 times and each time I read it I marvel at the resourcefullness of these people having been to the antarctic peninsular and stuck my bows into the Weddel Sea I cant imagine the deprivations of spending a winter on the ice.
What a hero!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... In depth read and the story builds at a good pace understanding issues with the ice and the dogs ..., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South: The Story of Shackleton's 1914-1917 Expedition (Kindle Edition)
Very In depth read and the story builds at a good pace understanding issues with the ice and the dogs on board and the suffering with the crew . Really enjoyed the book and you realise what a great story thus is .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South: The Story of Shackleton's 1914-1917 Expedition (Kindle Edition)
I found South ; The Story of Shackleton's 1914 - 1917 Expedition by Sir Ernest Henry Shackleton a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Shackalicious, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South: The Story of Shackleton's 1914-1917 Expedition (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading about the Endurance crew, the drifting on ice to Elephant island and Shackleton's voyage to South Georgia and even the Ross Sea Party. However the Aurora part bored me. Did not read any of the appendix as by the point had had enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a man, what a team., 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South: The Story of Shackleton's 1914-1917 Expedition (Kindle Edition)
Wow, just finished it.

Firstly to clear up the 1* reviews; Correct, there are no photos, I was disappointed with the lack of photos at first but I was totally captivated (so it gets 5*). It's a free book. If you want photos, cough up and pay for it, or you can search Shackleton's Antarctic Expedition on the internet and find dozens of maps and photos ...like what I did!

This book is excellently written, what he and the rest of the team went through, with what we now deem as primitive equipment, simply beggars belief. Nobody died on his watch (Endurance). He is factual in his account and modest with his praise.

If you want a good free historical book, look no further than this one. Don't expect photos or maps.

So, where now, Dickens or WWII?!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Story of Shackleton, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South: The Story of Shackleton's 1914-1917 Expedition (Kindle Edition)
Very good, historical and factual story. Lots of detail and really drew the reader in - excellent and would highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Victory from the jaws of defeat, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Though with no human enemy, this is a story reminiscent of Xenophon's 'Anabasis', even to the extent that the 'Sea' is the goal, and that of a leader looking after and eventually delivering his men.

The detail of the diary of the escape off the ice to Elephant Island and thence to South Georgia is astounding and provocative, yet delivered almost deadpan, without ostentation: What now, what should be next and how to achieve it.

The book also relates the story of the Ross Sea party, where sadly there were casualties, not to be discovered until later.

I had been expecting some of the photographs of Hurley (the official photographer) to be included but they were not.

Along with 'Shackleton's Boat Journey' by Worsley, the crucial navigator, and 'Endurance' by Lansing, I thoroughly recommend this book.

Try 'Home of the Blizzard' by Sir Douglas Mawson too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

South: The Story of Shackleton's 1914-1917 Expedition
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews