Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars53
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2011
I am reading this book at the moment and would highly reccomend it, it is interesting in a way that you feel you are walking the street as if you were there, as you read it there is a lot of information describing the area and the people, the persons thoughts and opinions and you also get a good understanding of what London really looked like and how things were done back then, i find it easy to read, i normally read different books to this to be honest so its quite differnt to what i am used to, i have learnt things and laughed at what is written and have told my husband things which he has been surprised at , he loves books about history...
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2011
For anyone with any interest in 18th century England this is a worthwhile read. Very accessible social history with a good description of everyday life of the time, all the better for being written from a foreigner's point of view. If you are interested in your English genealogy then this will give you an idea of the lives your ancestors may have lived.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2011
As someone who is hugely interested in early modern England I have read much that describes the period in broad brush strokes. However this book offers a fascinating insight into social details that are not a part of political movements, battle scenarios or scientific discoveries. This is a look at the small people who are the backdrop to the big picture. Read it and find the real eighteenth century.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2011
If this had not been a free classic for my Kindle I might never have read it. I am so delighted that I did. I feel as if I have had a real insight into 18th century England. Because we are so far removed from the period we too are foreigners learning about a new and strange country. It is fascinating to see how much England has changed. The author draws images of the places he has visited and the people he has met along his journey.I feel as if I have travelled with him and now have a real sense of the period. A great read!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
Fascinating insight into 18th century England. Observations on character, dress, education, towns villages, buildings, playhouses, pleasure gardens, press gangs, highwaymen, footpads, Inns, roads,stage coaches,parliament and so much more. The differences in attitude depending on whether he arrived by carriage or on foot or had changed his shirt was enlightening as was how often he was 'ripped off'. I still cant decide whether this young german vicars comments about the bold women importuning for wine or the young woman who offered her arm and asked him why he walked alone in the pleasure gardens were naïve or merely discrete.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Loved this little book, set in England of George III. Not only was the kindle version free, but it was infinitely more interesting than the boring history books which simply list wars, parliamentary arguments and royal weddings. Simple story of a German vicar, travelling (walking, mainly!) from London to Matlock, just to see the England he'd read so much about in Milton. As he preferred to walk from village to village, instead of travelling by coach, he met with suspicion of being a homeless tramp, at most stops (inhabitants of Burton in particular don't come out of this story too well!). Only complaint was it was too short!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
A very readable account of the experiences of a visitor to England 233 years ago. The book gives fascinating detail of ordinary life and you feel you are getting a real sense of what the country was like back then at ground level. I was surprised at just how sophisticated London was and although life has changed enormously, how recognisable many things still are. An interesting account of a visit (a few visits) to the house of commons revealed a system which has hardly changed. This is an easy read and anyone with at least a passing interest in history will find this a worthwhile and entertaining read. A real gem..!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
This is an excellent book; and the content is very unique . Written by a German visitor to England in 1782, and I think I'm right in saying, rewritten in 1886. Even though it was written so long ago it still makes very pleasant, easy reading. His description of England is very interesting especially if you are familiar with the areas he visits i.e. London, Richmond, Oxford, Derbyshire and intermediate villages. He describes the reception he receives from many of the people he encounters which gives wonderful insight into the psyche of the English population during the eighteenth century.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
I read this after a recommendation: it was mentioned in the footnotes of another book my father read, and he then recommended it to me.

Apart from the obvious interest in seeing how London and the villages and towns en route to Derby have changed, the real charm of the book lies in the writer's willingness to see the best in every situation, and take a real interest in the people and places he encounters. He's a generous and good-natured narrator, and I found myself not only wanting to visit these places, but read more of his correspondence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
Fascinating account written by a visitor to England in 1782. England is a new experience for this traveller from Germany. At first he spends time exploring London. Afterwards he sets off, sometimes by stagecoach, sometimes walking, to explore more of England. He is often surprised by English customs and behaviour and discovers, to his discomfort, that travellers on foot are not always welcome at inns. He perseveres with some difficult journeys and encounters and gives us this interesting perspective of 18th century England
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse