Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like the advertisers said for another act, you'll know more songs than you thought
I mainly bought this as I like Ricky on the voice so thought I would see what his music is about. I could only name 'I Predict a Riot' as a Kaiser Chiefs track prior to buying this, I'm in my 60's, so not the demographic that usually follow this kind of music but I really like this album and have played it non-stop.

Great tunes, nicely produced and well played...
Published 7 months ago by John Morris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Souvenir: The Singles 2004-2012
Best heard one by one - not in one go.
Published 3 months ago by Anothercustomer48


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like the advertisers said for another act, you'll know more songs than you thought, 15 Mar 2014
By 
John Morris "Moggies3" (Scarborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Souvenir : The Singles 2004 - 2012 (MP3 Download)
I mainly bought this as I like Ricky on the voice so thought I would see what his music is about. I could only name 'I Predict a Riot' as a Kaiser Chiefs track prior to buying this, I'm in my 60's, so not the demographic that usually follow this kind of music but I really like this album and have played it non-stop.

Great tunes, nicely produced and well played and sung.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking back from the Voice, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Now, I have to admit that I really made Ricky Wilson's acquaintance on "The Voice" and loved "I predict a riot" which was part of the introductory music on some of the early episodes. I had heard of the Kaiser Chiefs but would not have been able to name any of their hits. So for me this album was a revelation. Great intelligent songs, catchy rock pop, a bit redolent of Squeeze and Madness and the Peppers but original and really worth listening to. Looking forward to "Education, Education, Education and War ".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody's favourite Kaiser Chiefs tunes, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Souvenir : The Singles 2004 - 2012 (MP3 Download)
Everybody's favourite Kaiser Chiefs tunes on one album. Top tunes full of the Kaiser Chiefs energy and distinctive style. Five star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A flawless collection from the best British band of the past 20 years, 29 Mar 2013
The Kaiser Chiefs made their name with loud, racuous guitar driven punk rock with a charming stripped-back simplicity that made their earlier contemporaries The Strokes and Razorlight so successful. Unfortunately unlike those bands they perhaps never had the same hipster cool and despite originally being the darlings of students across the country, latter albums saw them become maligned as a "Dad" band. A cruelly unfair prejudice against a band that had been so refreshing in its high energy fun that never took itself too seriously.

This collection shows just how much they developed from "Employment", in fact the only notable omission singles wise is from that Album with "Na Na Na Na Naaaa" missing for some inconceivable reason. Aside from that it is highly comprehensive with the big hitters from the first three albums getting things fired up nicely early on.

The new songs are absolutely fantastic and are on a par with anything they have released in the past. "Listen to your head" and "On the Run" are both syth rock masterpieces brimming with bouncing energy that conveys a clear message that despite drummer Nick Hodgson leaving, they still have plenty to offer.

Some of the later material was perhaps overlooked by many more casual fans, especially as "Future is Medieval" was released in such a fragmented way online. It was produced by a production team who have worked with David Bowie and the influences of his work are clear. "Man on Mars" is perhaps the most intelligently written song from the band and although harder to appreciate due to some complex synth arrangements, it is an enduring song as one of the few by the band that holds significance beyond a dance floor rock out.

Overall it is a great collection of Indie British punk rock that is a clear reminder that the mid-2000s were a golden age for British music that had been heralded in by The Libertines a few years previously. The biggest surprise is the range of styles the Chiefs have covered, proving beyond doubt that they are far more than a few catchy tunes and infectious riffs. As this and their recent tour proved, this album is no swansong but a celebration of a band at its peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For KC Fans and for general people, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a suspect reviewer because i JUST LOVE Kaiser Chiefs and of course i had to buy the CD.

It is a very nice compilation for those who just need a sample of best music by them.

The sound and quality of the CD is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Souvenir : The Singles 2004 - 2012 (MP3 Download)
All their best hits. Does what it says on the tin. Cant wait to see them play live!! Not a bad price either :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great in the car or in the lounge, 29 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Get several Kaiser Chiefs CD's and having all the hit singles on one CD just adds to the collection. Great music which is shared with my son and daughter - full family appreciation X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to the Kaiser Chiefs, 23 April 2014
By 
P. J. Toll (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first Kaiser Chief CD I have bought and I really like their style of music. Great to listen to and will get a lot of plays from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy!!, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always sung along to the Kaiser Chiefs without buying their CD's but
after seeing Ricky on the Voice finally bought this and definitely don't
regret it. Enjoyed every song and now looking forward to their new CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking back on the first eight years!, 3 April 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
If you only need one Kaiser Chiefs album - here it is!

'Souvenir' contains all the songs that you will most associate with the band, including modern day rock anthems like 'Oh My God', 'Ruby', 'I Predict A Riot' and 'The Angry Mob'. The songs aren't in any chronological order, but in an order which is pleasing to the listener.

Every single that the band has released from 2004-2012 is on here, along with the brand new song 'Listen to Your Head' and the previously unreleased 'On the Run'. It should also be noted that the version of 'You Can Have It All' is the 'light orchestral' version which was previously only available on an exclusive 7-inch single. Therefore, if you already own the four studio albums, there are three tracks on here that will be new to you.

The Kaiser Chiefs were massive around the time of their debut album 'Employment' in 2004, and their music from the start was loud, raw and aggressive. To someone who was almost teenager like myself, they always appealed to me. From day one, the lyrics to their energetic songs were always good, and almost impossible not to sing along to. Overtime, the material became more mature, which is apparent as you listen to this compilation in full, but the songs remained as uplifting as ever.

It appears that the band have unfortunately lost some of their popularity in recent years, but not their talent for writing and singing a good song (as 'Listen To Your Head' and the tracks from their fourth album 'The Future Is Medieval' testify), 'Souvenir' is a timely reminder of a great rock band who were part of my teenage years. If you enjoy indie rock music - you should be sure to give these guys a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews