Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shame and Redemption
In "Rome: The Eagle of the Twelfth", we are transported to that Legion's participation in the War in Parthia, and subsequent action in Jerusalem. The Twelfth Legion has to endure shame, and near-obliteration, before finding redemption through the actions of the author's principal characters.

Authenticity seems to drip from every page of M. C. Scott's novel;...
Published 20 months ago by Tony G

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not up to her Boudica books.
I liked Manda Scott's Boudica series so much that I thought I would also enjoy the Rome set. However, the Boudica books were much more in the eminently readable and very believable 'social history' genre, whilst the Rome books were too much on a par with detective/mystery stories for me. I couldn't relate to the characters in the Rome series in the way I could with the...
Published 20 months ago by Janey M (Happy Teacher)


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shame and Redemption, 20 Jan 2013
In "Rome: The Eagle of the Twelfth", we are transported to that Legion's participation in the War in Parthia, and subsequent action in Jerusalem. The Twelfth Legion has to endure shame, and near-obliteration, before finding redemption through the actions of the author's principal characters.

Authenticity seems to drip from every page of M. C. Scott's novel; whether it is the superstitions of the common soldier, the description of the local geography or the tactics and training of this incredibly well-drilled fighting machine. And it's so difficult to review such a story and refrain from including "spoilers" - but they are called that for a reason, and I would hate to lessen your enjoyment of this by tipping you off to the action, now!

This book centres around Demalion of Macedon, his comrades, and their immediate leaders - some loved and some loathed, and, as with many armies throughout history, the effects their decisions have on the campaigns being waged. The action unfolds in several, different and distinct phases; each one with a different feel and atmosphere, and each one pivotal to the development of the plot.

I cannot emphasise strongly enough what a good story this is; my favourite periods of history are the myths and legends of Greece; and the empire-building of Rome, and this latter is not only well catered for, here, but actually adds to my knowledge - and, therefore, my enjoyment of the tale. I have added the author's other novels to my wishlist - can't give any higher praise than that?

Anyone who calls one of their leading characters "Pantera" is ok in my book - and in his!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly detailed historical fiction, 25 Oct 2013
By 
JennyD (Manchester, Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Telling the story of Demalion, a reluctant soldier in Rome's legions, this book is far from a throwaway sword n' sandal read of epic bloody battles and vague characters. This is the story of an entire Roman legion, the 12th to be exact. We follow Demalion from his reservations, to his enthusiasm, then to his eventual love of his legion and his follow soldiers. The characters are all so beautifully detailed, their story so engaging, that it is like reading a biography. I have never read any historical fiction quite like this, it is in a different league and has authenticity and great writing at its core. When I say the writing is detailed I seriously mean it, right down to different types of clothing, layouts of Roman army camps and even types of horses! I finished the book half convinced that everything I had read, including all the characters, were real and if I'm honest, I wanted them to be. The characters had such a sense of honour and duty it was hard not to admire them, not to cheer them on in their mission to retrieve their Eagle, the object that means so much to every legion. I loved following the 12th through their triumphs, defeats, sorrow and redemption, this is a truly thrilling read and I will be reading more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More realistic version - not hollywood, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome: The Eagle Of The Twelfth: Rome 3 (Kindle Edition)
Found one in a charity shop and so good I had to buy the whole series. Cannot put the books down and look forward to reading the other series written by her. Easy to read and battle scenes very visual and moments where time seems to stand still.
A great read really recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Rome: the Eagle of the Twelfth" by M. C. Scott, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read many novels set in the era of ancient Greece, and the Roman Republic and Empire; and I have enjoyed this the most of all. The characters are strong and believable, and you care for them; and a moving love story unfolds through the course of the book.

On top of that, the quality of the writing is lyrical and superb; and I can't wait to read the next novel in the series, both to enjoy more of M. C. Scott's writing; and to discover what happens to Demalion and the other characters we have met in this, and in the previous books; and above all, the enigmatic Pantera, whose story runs through them all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is going right up there as one of my best for 2012 Very Highly recommended, 22 May 2012
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Review:

There are many Roman era Historical Fiction books and authors on the market now and they explore differing facets of the Roman world and the roman army. What the majority of them have in common is that the culmination, the pièce de résistance of the story is the great battle, the pulling together of all the threads so the hero wins, or survives to fight another day over coming terrible odds. All this is what most of us readers want in a novel, something of great power and motivation, coupled with great story telling and that touch of escapism to take us beyond the borders of our lives into another time and place, to maybe give us a little piece of that heroic feeling.

With Manda Scott's Eagle of the Twelfth you get all the usual accomplished parts of a roman novel, but then you get something more, something that I always felt I got touches of in Simon Scarrow's early eagle novels, but In Manda's to a much greater depth. You get to be the hero, to feel the heroes thoughts, cares concerns, you ride along in his skin rather than as an observer, but you experience it as a real person doing heroic deeds rather than a prefab hero.

Eagle of the Twelfth is not just Manda's triumph, Demalion of Macedon is her triumph.

For those readers who are expecting a swords and sandals heroic ride with a Scarrow or Riches style swagger, its there, but expect also for the legion to finally be stripped back to its real warts and all self. Because Eagle of the Twelfth gives an expose on just why these men conquered the world, how they were so tough, why they fought so much as a unit and how they used that comradeship, that family of the eagle to survive the cold the heat, the rain the hell of war, Life in the ancient world.

The cover of the book proudly states on a sticker, "as good as Conn Iggulden or your money back", And I have to say Conn in the case of this book, I think Manda has you beat (well maybe not Wolf of the Plains) but Rome for Rome.

This book captures not just the epic scale of Rome's legions, but its core, its heart, its soul, its very essence, what made the men tick.

This book is going right up there as one of my best for 2012 Very Highly recommended, not just for those who like Historical fiction, but for those whole love great fiction told by a great story teller.

(Parm)

Book Description

Throughout the Roman Army, the Twelfth Legion is notorious for its ill fortune. It faces the harshest of postings, the toughest of campaigns, the most vicious of opponents. For one young man, Demalion of Macedon, joining it will be a baptism of fire. And yet, amid all of the violence and savagery of his life as a legionary, he realises he has discovered a vocation - as a soldier and a leader of men. He has come to love the Twelfth and all the bloody-minded, dark-hearted soldiers he calls his brothers.

But all that he cares about is ripped from him when, during the brutal Judaean campaign, the Hebrew army inflict a catastrophic defeat upon the legion - not only decimating their ranks, but taking away their soul - the eagle.

There is one final chance to save the legion's honour - to steal back the eagle. To do that, Demalion and his legionnaries must go undercover into the city of Jerusalem, into the very heart of their enemy, where discovery will mean the worst of deaths, if they are to recover their pride.

And that, in itself, is a task worthy only of heroes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 23 May 2012
Eagle of the Twelfth is the third book in the Rome series but is a sort of prequel to Rome: The Emperor's Spy and Rome: The Coming of the King and in it we meet the spy Pantera, star of the first two books. While he is a important character, this book focuses on Demalion, a young and somewhat reluctant legionary conscript. After surviving the perils and intrigues of the Parthian court with Pantera, Demalion is posted to the Twelfth legion.
This is the worst legion in the East and its reputation amongst the other legions is rock bottom. Demalion, along with his centurion Lupus decide that they are going to turn, first their century and then the rest of the legion into the best fighting force they can. Along the way we meet the rest of Demalion's tent unit, Tears, Cadus, Lupus, the Rabbit, Proclion, Horgias, Sarapammon, Syrion, and Rufus.

They then embark on the brutal training needed to redeem the reputation of the Twelfth and foster a fighting spirit and a love for their eagle. They must face snow, wind and rain as they struggle to turn the Twelfth into a fighting force capable of standing up to the Parthian Cataphracts. Along the way they face unbelievable hardships and disasters as they try to turn the Twelfth into a legion they can be proud of. Demalion and his tent unit then lead from the front as they face Parthian hordes and Jewish rebels, facing impossible odds and heartbreaking loss but also learning to love each other and more importantly they learn to love and cherish `The Eagle of the Twelfth'.

As I stated at the beginning of this review, I loved this book, I have always been a fan of M.C Scott but this is easily her best book so far. The thing that set this book apart from all of the other Roman fiction books on the market is M.C. Scott's ability to create believable relationships between her characters. She shows how men from different backgrounds and temperaments forge, through hardship and adversity the strength and togetherness to withstand every obstacle thrown at them.

We see how the men first learn to trust one another, love each other and then ultimately, how they deal with the loss of their comrades and Scott isn't scared of showing the sometimes complex relationships that form between the men.

This is a seriously good book and is pushing to be my book of the year so far. If you like fiction (Roman or otherwise) with real emotions and feelings and a cracking good story then this is the book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, so far..., 28 May 2012
By 
JPS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The two previous volumes of this series were more focused on Pantera, the Emperor's spy. While he still is one of the main characters, the real hero of this histoical novel is one Demalion of Macedon, son of a Macedonian horse trader (the descendant of the horse trader who sold Bucephalus to Alexander) who has joined the rather disreputable XII legion.

To this original twist, the book's prologue adds a highly dramatic ploy, and a very successful one, that put Demalion in a situation that reminds us of a Roman version of Thermopylae. I am often a bit suspicious when an author starts using these kind of ploys because they are sometimes a substitute for a poor plot. This is not at all the case here. The ploy worked very well for me and got me "hooked" in immediately. The narrative then goes on to tell what happened in Hyrkania, in Parthian territory, some four years before, where Demalion was part of what we would now call a special operation (in fact an assassination) together with centurion Cadus and under the command of Pantera, but I won't tell you the rest of the story, which is highly enjoyable, fast-paced and mostly accurate.

In fact, this is one of the book's additional strongpoint. Unlike what many authors tend to do, Manda Scott has "sticked" with the historical sources as much as possible, proving that it is perfectly possible to write an excellent historical novel while keeping it as historically accurate as possible. So, the disastrous campaign conducted by the incompetent, jealous and cowardly Roman Governor Paetus did happen as described in the book. It did end with the shameful surrender of what was left of his two legions, including the Twelth Fulminata and this largely ruined the tireless effort of Corbulo's, at the time Rome's most successful general, and a potential danger to Nero. What Manda Scott does not mention, however, is that Paetus, although recalled to Rome, was - rather strangely - not punished for his abyssmally poor performance by Nero and that L. Caesennius Paetus was in fact the son-in-law of Sabinus (Vespasian's elder brother) whose daughter he had married. It also seems that he had been sent to annex Armenia. One cannot help wondering whether these orders, which, in effect, contradicted somewhat the objectives of Corbulo, were not also intended to undermine the latter's effort to reach a balanced peace agreement with the Parthians.

The second great piece are the events surrounding the failed siege of Jerusalem and the defeat of Cestius Gallus at Beth Horon. Here too, the narrative is mostly historically accurate, although there are a few exceptions. One was that there seems to have been no cataphract cavalry allied to the Jewish rebles. Another is that, rather than the set piece battle that we are shown, it is more likely that the Roman forces and their allies were in fact trapped and badly mauled when going through the passes, something that the Jews had already done previously to a Seleucid force decades before. A third was that at least half of the Roman forces did manage to get away, although they did lose their siege equipment in the process. Anyway, this is quibbling and the author's interpretations here do not have the slightest negative impact on the novel, quite the reverse in fact.

The third great piece is Manda Scott's tribute to Rosemary Suttcliff's Eagle of the Ninth that generations of children and teen-agers in the UK (and abroad!) have been almost literally brought up on. This is the rescue mission to recuparate the legionary Eagle of the Twelth in ennemy territory, after the legion had been almost destroyed and had lost its Eagle. I won't elaborate on this part tto much, but it is just as good as the others, even if purely fictional. One of its strong point is to show the kind of atmosphere that existed within the insurgent city of Jerusalem, and the horrible infighting between the moderates and several factions of extremists among the Jews: in addition to a "leberation war" against the Roman occupier and their puppet king, the various factions also engaged in vicious infighting and this civil war sometimes even took precedence against fighting the Romans.

The last great piece; in my view, is Manda Scott's depiction of Vespasian. As she acknowledges, this is largely drawn from Barbara Lewick's excellent biography, although she adds her considerable talent in making the future Emperor, who was about 60 at the time, really come to life. This might be prejudice on my part (and it certainly is to the extent that I have always had a soft spot for Vespasian), but he is painted exactly as I imagine him to be.

Needless to say, this book worked wonderfully well for me and therefore it fully deserves the top rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this series!, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did miss the character of Hypatia but the new characters were great, an excellent book! I can't wait to read more! If you enjoyed Boudicca, you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not up to her Boudica books., 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked Manda Scott's Boudica series so much that I thought I would also enjoy the Rome set. However, the Boudica books were much more in the eminently readable and very believable 'social history' genre, whilst the Rome books were too much on a par with detective/mystery stories for me. I couldn't relate to the characters in the Rome series in the way I could with the Boudica books. I shall just have to re-read Boudica!
Incidentally, my daughter - just coming up for 30 - also enjoyed Boudica to the point of reading, then re-reading, but didn't enjoy Rome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another epic novel., 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great story with excellent characters and historical accuracy from M.C Scott. The book immerses you back into the day to day activities of the Roman legions and the realities of their short violent lives, loves and triumphs. For the service from Amazon, excellent as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews