Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unruly dogs, elusive truffles and rogue builders... Ah, Provence!
This is a thoroughly enjoyable journey through the ins and outs of making a life in Provence. This charming family thought they were leaving the complications of city life behind, only to find themselves with a wine business to maintain, a baby on the way, up to their ears in the politics of building a house in the countryside, learning the ropes of the truffle trade,...
Published 23 months ago by Lisa Pepin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing book
I enjoyed this book very much. I have read many "I moved to france and aren't i clever at learning to cope" type of books but this one gave a bit more of an insite to the precarious relationship between the "locals", the ones you concider to be your friends and the truth.
As a "doggy" person who can relate to the training efforts put in to...
Published 13 months ago by Cuechip


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unruly dogs, elusive truffles and rogue builders... Ah, Provence!, 23 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a thoroughly enjoyable journey through the ins and outs of making a life in Provence. This charming family thought they were leaving the complications of city life behind, only to find themselves with a wine business to maintain, a baby on the way, up to their ears in the politics of building a house in the countryside, learning the ropes of the truffle trade, protecting their small plot of land from poachers, attempting to train a reticent dog to search for truffles, all while at the mercy of Provence's most unscrupulous builder, who is hell bent on making their lives miserable, no matter what lies he needs to tell to the bank or the local townspeople to do it. A wonderful read for lovers of fine food, wine, the South of France and dogs who prefer to do things their own way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect holiday read!, 27 May 2012
By 
T. B (London UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book really does have something for everyone, and is a thoroughly enjoyable read. If you have ever spent any time in France before you will instantly recognise the characters and appreciate the author's ability to capture them and bring them to life. If you haven't, you will be booking your ticket immediately to queue up at the nearest Boulangerie for a taste of village gossip French style!

Jamie clearly has a very deep love of France, but writes in such a way that is accessible to all. Many writers of this genre tend to leave you feeling like they are writing for members of their own exclusive clique,who will be the only ones to get the joke, or appreciate the subject. There is also no hint of condescension which is a trap most expat writers fall in to.

Travellers, foodies, wine lovers, dog lovers, expectant parents, tenants, entrepreneurs, those embarking on building a house, or even the odd bit of poaching will find themselves captivated from start to finish. As well as those who fancy going on a great adventure.

Well written in an easy, flowing style with fabulous descriptions, this is the perfect companion for anyone this summer, be it poolside, or with a bottle of rose at a cafe watching the world go by.

If you have a kindle, or enough space in your handluggage, download all his books so you can enjoy the Ivey's French adventures from start to finish. If only they could have included the recipes. Maybe that's the next book? Certainly hope so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining read, 31 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Trees and a Truffle Dog: Sniffing Out the Perfect Plot in Provence (Kindle Edition)
Jamie Ivey is a very good writer. His entertaining story moves along with speed and interest. This latest book continues his galant tale of his move to France to start a wine business but focuses on his young family, the truffle dog they acquire and the challenge of building a new house. He is very brave with both successes and failures honestly written. It is good to read of the support of his parents, a rarity in this style of writing, and he writes as a true man about his delightful daughter and, of course, his supportive wife.
I would like to see him try a novel or another book about living in Provence.He has enough experience. His writing is similar to Peter Mayle but, I feel, more honest, less funny, yet more entertaining. He deserves to be better known but that may spoil the possibilities of new material. I am certainly curious about his wine business and whether Snuffles found any more truffles!
What he does conjure up is the glorious Provençale countryside and makes me want to return to experience it's delights once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly entertaining warm view of Provencal life, 8 Nov 2012
This review is from: Ten Trees and a Truffle Dog: Sniffing Out the Perfect Plot in Provence (Kindle Edition)
A real "feel good" read with heartwarming stories of Provencal life. We live in Provence in the Luberon too and pretty much every story touched a chord with us. Well written and not too formulaic in its approach to the yarns. Very good indeed please do write some more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing book, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Trees and a Truffle Dog: Sniffing Out the Perfect Plot in Provence (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book very much. I have read many "I moved to france and aren't i clever at learning to cope" type of books but this one gave a bit more of an insite to the precarious relationship between the "locals", the ones you concider to be your friends and the truth.
As a "doggy" person who can relate to the training efforts put in to achieve an end goal i found the whole exercise amusing. My husband is now reading the book and laughs out loud at some of the antics.
The book does remind me of "A year in Provence" in many ways which is a great tome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ten Trees and a truffle Dog, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although I am vegan and knew Ten Trees and a Truffle Dog contained many detailed descriptions of meat dishes, I wanted to continue reading this beautifully written, wonderful story told with such humour and joy.
I love the brilliant way the author describes each character so you actually feel as if you are living in this village in Provence.
Jamie Ivey has become one of my favourite authors...my only other favourite author is Eric-Emmanuel Schmitt, the author of The Most Beautiful Book in the World.
I am looking forward to enjoying more books written by Jamie Ivey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blue Angel, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Trees and a Truffle Dog: Sniffing Out the Perfect Plot in Provence (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyable await the sequel. Writer does not give the false impression that it is easy to move to Provence. A good and true tale of a time spent making a new life in France
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The house building theme has been done before., 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Trees and a Truffle Dog: Sniffing Out the Perfect Plot in Provence (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed Rose en Marche (yes, I know there are accents missing!) but this next in the series was a bit more pedestrian and I couldn't help thinking that Peter Mayle had already done the "building in Provence" theme though his was renovation rather than a new house if my memory serves me correctly. Interesting comments re the French health service but I found the truffle hunting theme less than riveting. Still worth a read, however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book and did not want it to end. I have read all Jamie Ivey's books and this is the best one, in my opinion. The reason I like this book better is the true life descriptions of Provencal people and the area from a British point of view. Jamie's escapades and the tales of his family life are told with a very dry sense of humour combined with an exceptional writing talent.

I hope we will one day soon be able to read the next instalment of the family saga!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Trees and a Truffle Dog: Sniffing Out the Perfect Plot in Provence (Kindle Edition)
Excellent reading, had to keep reading on to find out what was going to happen next. Certainly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa89d768)

This product

Only search this product's reviews