Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First Aid Kit - Sisters are doing it for themselves
Once upon a time two sisters walked into a Swedish forest, one with a guitar the other looking painfully young at the age of 16 and they both sang a song. The tune in question was a spine tingling cover of Fleet Foxes "Tiger mountain peasant song" and the sisters posted a video of it on the internet. It turned into a quiet and persistent sensation having been viewed well...
Published on 23 Jan 2012 by Red on Black

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lions roar
this was a bit disappointing - the first 2 tracks are good but the rest is a bit indifferent. I am always on the look out for any kind of new country/Americana type music and having heard one track from this CD thought i was onto a winner. But to me, it didnt have anything much that would move you or stay with you.
Published on 17 May 2012 by Ms. Janet Cooper


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First Aid Kit - Sisters are doing it for themselves, 23 Jan 2012
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
Once upon a time two sisters walked into a Swedish forest, one with a guitar the other looking painfully young at the age of 16 and they both sang a song. The tune in question was a spine tingling cover of Fleet Foxes "Tiger mountain peasant song" and the sisters posted a video of it on the internet. It turned into a quiet and persistent sensation having been viewed well over 2 million times. The sisters in question were Johanna Söderberg and Klara Söderberg and their band is First Aid Kit. Happily suspending the fact that they are from Sweden they produce the type of Americana which is heartfelt and passionate, Their debut album 2010s "Big Black & The Blue" was a showcase for their brilliant voices although it was if truth be told a tad downbeat, lacking in variety in some parts and the echoes of Robin Pecknold's Seattle wonders were everywhere.

On their latest album "The Lions Roar" there is a clear and determined attempt made to rock things up and give a bigger sound. The bittersweet harmonies remain firmly in place but better songs with fuller production are everywhere plus growing signs that the sisters can write a fine set of lyrics. They recently reduced Patti Smith to a tearful wreck with a stirring version of her "Dancing Barefoot", yet it is to that other female giant of music that this albums finest song is dedicated. "Emmylou" name checks the romance of Harris with her true love Gram Parsons, plus June Carter with the Man in Black. It could easily be clichéd and trite but instead it is a splendid country concoction and possibly the finest thing the sisters have done. There must be composers in Nashville thinking that a monster has been created in Stockholm that can out countrify them in every respect. The opening title track equally sees the sisters drawing from Dylan and Cash with considerable aplomb, harmonies to die for and a melody drawn from the ages in a powerful alt country ballad. Indeed the opening three songs which conclude with the "In the hearts of men" a song Neko Case would have mortgaged her house to write sees First Aid Kit barely putting a foot wrong. Further musical peaks arrive in the form of the beautiful ringing gentle ballad "Blue" (not a Joni Mitchell cover) and the wonders of the rolling "To a poet" which certainly has a Fleet Foxes tinge and is frankly all the better for it. A step change comes when the sisters truly cut loose on the last track with a rollicking hoedown entitled "King of the world". This reviewer was idly speculating that the Felice brothers who have sadly lost their mojo of late should produce a song of this quality when by happy accident some of them turn up with Conor Oberst to sing backing vocals. This serendipity is actually rather obvious when you hear this joyous song jam packed with handclaps, violins, accordions and horns (one can only hope that Ian Felice has exercised his demons since the troubling "Celebration Florida"). Finally a doff of the cap to the gorgeous strummed lament "New Years Eve" which is solid proof that First Aid Kit are maturing into an act as classy as a pair of Jimmy Choo's. Please seek this song out you will adore it.

"The Lion's Roar" is the sound of a band rapidly maturing at light speed with a talent well beyond their years. Listen to their first EP "Drunken Trees" and chart the scale of the journey to this new LP and the size of the musical leap. It's all quite remarkable and in the context of the evolving story of the Söderberg's we should warmly welcome the fact that "sisters are doing it for themselves".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful songwriting maturity from such young immensely talented artists, 25 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. Steven R. Harrison (wigan uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
just been to Manchester to watch a First Aid Kit gig and was blown away just how good these girls are. Absolutely wonderful songwriting ability and maturity way beyond there young age. Both sisters possess great voices with great range and projection.The vocals are as good live as any studio produced cd

There is not one bad track or filler on this album the quality remains constantly high throughout each track.

Its easy to forget these girls are Swedish such is the rich Americana folk sound and vocals.

I will stick my head on the line and say this is the 2012 album of the year and a must for anyone with an ounce of musical nouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding album!, 26 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
This is a truly outstanding album. Superb composition, vocals, balance - a lovely overall sound that cannot really be classified. Very talented band with a great future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, brilliant, brilliant, 17 May 2012
By 
Ian Samuels "Anfield5" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
This a superb album, indie folk / pop at its best. 10 great tracks, no fillers, amazing voacls, and fantastic music. Since playing the album for the first time, the CD hasnt left my CD player, and I was hooked on the first listen. Certain albums are growers and take time to win you over, not this one, its brilliant from track 1 - track 10. So glad I came across this album and have now booked my ticket for November 22nd in Manchester. Dear Klara / Johanna, please follow this great album with another. Ian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real surprise, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
Bought this on the recommendation of a friend after hearing Emmylou track on the radio. This is an excellent cd and was pleasantly surprised by the depth of some of the songs. You can hear the influence of the fleet foxes on some of the tracks which isn't a bad thing. They also seem to be friends with the Felice bros and Conor Oberst so keeping good company. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swedish Smorgasbord of Musical Excellence, 17 Mar 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
This is the second glorious album from Swedish sisters Klara and Johana Soderberg (and Benkt plus Mattias Bercqvist great names by the way) and a `difficult second album' this most certainly aint. It kicks off with the title track with a song that has one foot in country and the other infolk with pedal steel and mandolin to boot. `Emylou' is just beautiful with pared back simplicity and harmonious vocals to die for.
`In the hearts of men' slows down the pace but is hauntingly languid and just washes over you like sunshine on a winter's day (God I am getting real gushy here sorry). Track 4 `Blue' gets the tempo up a beat with a lovely song of missed chances.

`This old routine' is probably my favourite, although it is hard to choose from so many gems, with a rich lilting vocal on a tale of love worn through with beautiful mandolin and an underscored percussion that Tindersticks would be proud of (probably!) Track 8 `I found a way' is another tale of dark and flawed love that the beautiful harmonies hide like a gossamer veil.

Penultimate track `New Years Eve' is an effortless blending of simple arrangements with a crystal clear vocal that flows like a tributary to a great river. This leads us into `King of the World' which is a lovely slice of country life and we have guest instruments of violin, trumpet and accordion, almost a ho-down, and a great way to finish a truly beautiful album. I can't wait to see them later this year and for album number three, this though is an absolute triumph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic CD beautifully sung!, 14 Mar 2012
By 
J. C. J. Mols "Jack" (Alkmaar, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
When I saw the video of The Lion's roar on MTV-Brandnew I was hooked! Fantastic haunting sound on this track. All tracks on the album are great! The second track they chose for a video makes you smile. What a happy sound! Together with the crystal clear voices this Cd is an experience!! About to order all previous cd's of this band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ohhh, 28 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
hello Sweden. What a beautiful album. These two swedish girls can be as big as they want, just keep on making more albums like this. After I first heard this I read that they had been playing with Fleet Foxes as a warm up- band. They must be some of Fleet Foxes`favourites now. The music can take you to a new dimension of happiness and harmony. Hello Sweeden and thank you thank you thank you for theese fantastic girls
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Folk Americana, 27 Aug 2012
By 
Katrina-UK (Stockport, Cheshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
Have had this album on re-play throughout the summer! This sublime Folk Americana Album is actually written by 2 Swedish sisters. There voices work in perfect harmony together. Personal favourites are Emmylou, King Of The World, The Lion's Roar, Wolf, I Found A Way, Blue and To A Poet. One great track leads on to another and the whole album is a pure delight to listen to whatever mood you are in. Honestly, If you like folk music, then definitely add this one to your playlist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute CLASSIC!, 26 Aug 2012
By 
Duncan Rose "Dunk" (Billingborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
If you've heard one or two FAK tunes and are wondering if the album is worth buying - think no more - this album is crammed FULL of amazingly repeatable tunes. I can't get enough of them. The only downside is the tunes somewhat eerily keep repeating in my head all day long. Fantastic CD for a second album. Will become a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lion's Roar
The Lion's Roar by First Aid Kit
Buy MP3 Album£4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews