Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST THING YOU EVER DID WAS ME!
This zombie film starts on international "Peace Day" when some undisclosed process will neutralize radiation and make nuclear weapons useless. While these sketchy details are televised in the background, Tom (Grant Bowler) and Tori (Evalena "cleavage" Marie) go to a bomb shelter to get it on at a Reno hotel casino. When they emerge I expected to see Burgess Meredith...
Published 13 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't be suckered by the great cover art
I bought this on the strength of the amazon reviews, but was very dissapointed. Unknown actors, medium acting (at best), shambolic plot - cookie cutter characters with terrible dialogue, over the top gore and zombie makeup. Just a mess. More akin to a 70's or 80's zombie movie than anything more recent (I think Romero fans would enjoy this). Without strong creative...
Published 24 months ago by S. Haddow


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't be suckered by the great cover art, 5 Aug 2012
By 
S. Haddow - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Remains [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this on the strength of the amazon reviews, but was very dissapointed. Unknown actors, medium acting (at best), shambolic plot - cookie cutter characters with terrible dialogue, over the top gore and zombie makeup. Just a mess. More akin to a 70's or 80's zombie movie than anything more recent (I think Romero fans would enjoy this). Without strong creative leadership, the micro budget becomes very apparent too. Hard core zombie buffs only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST THING YOU EVER DID WAS ME!, 11 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This zombie film starts on international "Peace Day" when some undisclosed process will neutralize radiation and make nuclear weapons useless. While these sketchy details are televised in the background, Tom (Grant Bowler) and Tori (Evalena "cleavage" Marie) go to a bomb shelter to get it on at a Reno hotel casino. When they emerge I expected to see Burgess Meredith looking for his glasses, but instead there is a full blown zombie food riot going on outside. Like "Dawn of the Dead" the first rule is to secure the perimeter and eliminate zombie hazards within the safe zone...which isn't that easy as this appears to be the only hotel casino that doesn't have a gun stashed anywhere.

Our non-zombie people group narrows down to four, with one openly gay character. (Guess who dies first because killing off the brother first has become too cliche?) The radioactive zombies require head shots and are a combination of fast moving and foot dragging zombies, whichever suits the mood of the director. They have the unusual characteristic of sleeping while standing up and unlike the standard zombie fare, they do feed off each other. Bites appear to cause infection. At one point they talk about going to Catalina, which made me think of this being a "Zombie Apocalypse" prequel...which it isn't...I think.

Tom and Tori are the main characters who have a rocky relationship. There are some CG fire effects that are rather poor, i.e. holding a match in front of a picture, but they don't last long. Good acting performances for a low budget zombie film. The script needed some tightening up. Worth a view for zombie fans.

PARENTAL GUIDE: No f-bombs that I recall, but it does have adult language (SOB etc.) sex, no nudity. Evalena Marie sports cleavage for much of the film in her red bra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 6 Nov 2012
By 
K. Tyrer "englishken" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Remains [DVD] (DVD)
Whoever gave this five stars seriously needs to get out more...really poor zombie movie awful acting and low budget sfx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Being totally faithful to the comic isn't always a good thing, 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remains [DVD] (DVD)
From what I remember of the comic, this 'remains' (no pun intended) pretty faithful.

However this may be unfortunately it's undoing as elements that you can pass off or are acceptable in print, in this come off as slightly pantomime and lame if not just a bit farcical (the plank across buildings scene and the jumping into the pool escape come to mind if you've seen it) .

Zombies sleeping or resting at night wasn't all that bad, but they would wake up to order. Music would blast out and they would all wake up at once, however gunfire would erupt and only one or two would seem to react at a time or when threatened with gunfire en-mass they would be kept at bay sometimes but not others.
It gave you the impression they were not mindless, with them being aware of danger (gunfire) and getting into rooms etc, but then they struggle to climb onto a flat bed truck (at waist height) to reach a group of people, which again was inconsistent.

The soldiers arrival scene was rushed, to the point where it may have been better to omit it altogether because you began to feel they were trying to cram too much into a short space of time (trying to illustrate cabin fever and boredom of being trapped in the same environment with the same people, as large as that environment is takes time and this is what eats up most of the movie but unfortunately it doesn't really do even that justice)

Don't get me wrong, as I did enjoy it and Evalena (apart from being hot....LOL) was great as the cow from hell to be trapped with (again very faithful both physically et al to the comic).

Some of the CGI was poor (the truck flipping over on it's return to the City is most memorable as is some of the fires etc), but on the whole if you have slightly lower expectations than perhaps say the Dawn Of The Dead remake (in both effects, acting and general story) and treat this more like a 'camp' zombie flick then you won't be disappointed.

Had some genuinely funny moments which I don't normally care for in a zombie film (don't hold Shaun Of The Dead in high regards because of this) but finding the only car they had keys for and then attempting to get out of the shuttered garage did make me laugh (as an example).

Worth a view if you can obtain it relatively cheaply but just don't expect an edge of your seat horror, treat it more like a made for TV zombie film and you'll enjoy it (although it's far better than Sci Fi channel stuff).

Better than much of the recent zombie garbage out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really Really Poor!, 11 Aug 2012
This review is from: Remains [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this in the supermarket, and saw it said 'by the makers of 30days of night', and fancied a Zombie flick. Do not associate the two!

This is one of the poorest movies I have ever seen, clearly had a minimal budget for both actors and effects.

So many flaws I dont know where to start. Next to nothing happens at all, the characters are awful and by the end I was hoping they would just all die to end the movie.

Some of the major flaws for me (some minor spoilers):

- Main guy has two fingers cut off, in the next scene he is using the same hand to pull someone up on a rope, does not flinch. Then he's punching a zombie in the face!!!

- Main girl (terrible actress) sets some C4 on a door about 5 metres away, bashes buttons and accidentaly sets it for 3 seconds (oh dear), so as you would expect it explodes and kills her......oh wait, no, no that doesnt happen, she just gets up unscathed!

- Zombies sleep!! standing up, and whimper like dogs! In fact, for the whole film they might as well be dogs for the way they act, i was fully expecting one to get a tickle on the belly for being a 'good little boy'. One is actually on a leash though!

I could keep going, but its all along the same lines. I understand that smaller movie companies have a smaller budget, but incosistencies like this are just unnacceptable! Churning out this kind of tosh is just wrong!!

If you are the biggest Zombie fan out there and feel like wasting 9 and 85 minutes of your life, then please carry on! For those with sense, dont!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay film, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remains [DVD] (DVD)
yeah the films ok but not as good as i though t it would be . .i thought , because it was from the creators of 30 days of night .. it would be a lot better to be honest . but i'm still taking it up to my sis' to watch this weekend . .. so still ok to watch again . ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars awesome movie, 2 Aug 2012
By 
Gail "Gail" (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Remains [DVD] (DVD)
much better than all those very average zombie flicks that are around ... this one is quality ... scary, fun, great actionand really well made. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cool little movie, 1 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: Remains [DVD] (DVD)
really liked this one .... great zombie movies are getting harder to find. reminds e of MTV's DEATH VALLEY. well worth picking up shame no features tho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gambling with life, 5 July 2012
By 
B. Edwards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Remains [DVD] (DVD)
a nice tight zombie horror story, well paced with plenty of blood and gore,and one or two laugh out loud moments.how would you deal with being stuck in a casino in reno with marauding zombies outside?well the four people here all have different ways of dealing with their predicament.they dont always make wise moves but as i say its a fun movie to watch.recommended to zombie fans everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remains [DVD] (DVD)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Remains [DVD]
Remains [DVD] by Steve Niles (DVD - 2012)
1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews