Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heading out to Entrepreneur Country
The arrival of "Entrepreneur Country" is very timely: outrage against the banks, which will only end with a definitive realignment of business metrics (a process likely to take several years), is in danger of washing away the baby that will provide our society with its future source of income with the bathwater of a depraved banking elite.
Meyer has superb...
Published on 24 Sep 2012 by Mike Scialom

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I didn't find this book useful in anyway
I didn't find this book useful in anyway, every page is filled with information about how awesome the author is and how she has made all the right decision. She mentioned no less than 20 times throughout the short book about how she has worked with some of the most successful internet start ups. I also was appalled that she has hijacked the word 'ecosystem' and even...
Published 22 hours ago by Karin Eckhard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heading out to Entrepreneur Country, 24 Sep 2012
The arrival of "Entrepreneur Country" is very timely: outrage against the banks, which will only end with a definitive realignment of business metrics (a process likely to take several years), is in danger of washing away the baby that will provide our society with its future source of income with the bathwater of a depraved banking elite.
Meyer has superb entrepreneurial credentials, having used her vehicle, Ariadne Capital, to engage with start-ups including Skype, lastminute.com, WGSN and Monitise. She's also a good 'un when it comes to conjuring up a bit of imagery as she exhorts us to board the metaphorical train which leads to Entrepreneur Country - indeed, she says we're already on it, whether we know it or not.
How do we steer our train to this wonderful place?
Meyer points out that "it took 78 years for the television to be adopted by 150 million users, 54 years for the fixed-line telephone to reach the same number, 34 years for the fax, 17 years for the mobile phone and only five years for Facebook - you don't initially connect the dots. Until you do. The dots become a line the line becomes a track. The train flies past. Eventually you see that how society organises itself is changing. This is more than just a job. Your whole psyche is engaged. It feels like an act of faith getting on that train... it's far from certain what will happen next... I know which side of history I want to be on. Do you?"
Meyer's got her own on-board train engine, which means that "I don't get a second wind each day, I get fifteen". Crikey, stand back folks! There's the whiff of inspiration around Julie and it's heady stuff. The effectual use of David and Goliath analogies - "David defeated Goliath because he believed it was possible FULL STOP" - add a sprig of joie de vivre to Entrepreneur Country.
Putting start-ups into historical context, starting with the Medicis (no fules they) and the courts of Europe in the Middle Ages, adds clout and illuminates the story of how innovators have always been headhunted, sometimes literally of course!
The backdrop to Meyer's treatise is that choosing entrepreneurial activity is not just a nice option for people with time on their hands: it's absolutely, totally and entirely fundamental to our continued survival. "The social contract that was erected after the Second World War has already collapsed," she says. We've got to get on with it, is the message. If we're not innovating, we've got to pass laws that allow innovation to flourish, devise educational strategies that empower the next generation to embrace entrepreneurial activity and espouse values that allow people to appreciate why Entrepreneur Country is a good place to head for. And if Meyer's book sometimes harangues more than clarifies, and occasionally resembles a runaway train, well that's refreshing too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Primer for the Entrepreneur..., 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome to Entrepreneur Country (Kindle Edition)
This book is a great read and filled with the authors experiences. It provides a useful insight into what makes an entrepreneur and why we need more of them in the UK. Some of the sections covering how the world is transitioning from a post industrial society into one based on knowledge, are particularly interesting and for my money, (based on my own experience) pretty accurate.

If you are looking for a primer as to what it takes to build a company, this is the book. It's not too heavy (or too long), but does an excellent job describing the landscape (or countryside) you will encounter. Written by someone who lives there, works there and can explain it clearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I didn't find this book useful in anyway, 22 Oct 2014
I didn't find this book useful in anyway, every page is filled with information about how awesome the author is and how she has made all the right decision. She mentioned no less than 20 times throughout the short book about how she has worked with some of the most successful internet start ups. I also was appalled that she has hijacked the word 'ecosystem' and even trademarked ecosystem economics. It is almost an oxymoron. This is whay ecosystem economics he her view: Ecosystem Economics™ is the framework which underpins entrepreneurcountry Global and Ariadne Capital’s investment business. At a high level, the companies who organise the business model for their ecosystem win big......
A company organizing their ecosystem????? An ecosystem has nothing to do with business, it inter-connectedness of living organisms in the NATURAL world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure-trove of wise advice and guidance, 24 July 2012
By 
J. Piatkus (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Julie Meyer is a successful self-made entrepreneur. She sold her first company for a substantial amount of money and has now gone on to successfully found and grow another company, Ariadne Capital, which specialises in working with a wide range of entrepreneurs at every stage of their company's growth.

Julie's book is an overview of the business-world at the present time and is also based on her own entrepreneurial story and the stories of many of the founders and leaders of companies of all sizes and at all stages who she has worked with over the years. It is therefore a treasure-trove of wise advice and guidance which all entrepreneurs can learn from.

Julie reveals the highs and the lows which have contributed to her reaching the position she has achieved so far. She shows what the turning points were which enabled her to grow as a person and also thereby to understand the most important characteristics to look for when deciding which entrepreneurs to back financially in order to achieve success. Along the way many remarkable people have impacted on Julie and she shares some of their insights and experiences.

Julie has achieved the position she holds today, an acknowledged authority on every aspect of business growth and exit, through a combination of hard work, perseverance, and a great gift for understanding the zeitgeist of the time which she is always happy to share. She has also achieved success in areas which are frequently dominated by men and her book includes an insightful chapter on the experiences of being a woman in the businessworld, a chapter which should be required reading for all fathers who want to support their daughters in their own careers.

Every business is having to cope with the relatively recent fast changes caused by technology. Julie Meyer supplies a roadmap for the journey, showing how society is reorganising itself and what each business needs to think about in order to achieve maximum success in today's increasingly digital world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How to deal with todays electronic marketing, 25 Jun 2013
By 
Peter Wenban (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent guide from first hand creative experience of how to build a business in today's electronic and social networking environment. Inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air (in a crowded market)!, 1 Oct 2012
Julie Meyer's book 'Welcome to Entrepreneur Country' has the subtitle
'What it is... How to find it... Why you should go there'

So does it work? Does it do what it says on the tin?

Well, I think the answer is 'yes'. I hesitate slightly but that is a good thing.

I was expecting it to be another 'how to... ' or '10 steps to...' or 'I am a business celebrity look at me..' or 'my life/struggle written by a ghost writer'-type book or some combination but that is not what this book is.

What it is is part-'my story...' and part-manifesto. Written by the author.

And to be honest it is a relief to just read an honest explanation of a point of view and how Julie M arrived at it. It is quite a philosophical book in places and yet its message is very affirming and inspiring. I am probably fed up of all the other testosterone/caffeine-fuelled fantasies that claim to be business books.

Julie M presents her view of why entrepreneurship is so important right now and how it is more accessible than ever before. It is short at 180 short/small pages and is a good read. It is not all preaching.

So, does she deliver on the strapline 'What it is... How to find it... Why you should go there?' The answer is 'yes'.

It is not a life-changing book but it does get you nodding and agreeing. It presents the argument for Entrepreneur Country and why you should go there. For me it affirmed by belief that entrepreneurship is a power for good (for the individual and for society).

A breath of fresh air (in a crowded market)!

Robert Craven
Author, Keynote Speaker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, passionate and optimistic!, 27 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'Welcome to entrepreneur country' is an extremely inspirational book written with the true passion, insight, understanding and optimism of a true entrepreneur, which after reading over a hundred books on business I realise is extremely rare.

When the book was delivered from Amazon I was surprised at its size, it's probably one of the smallest books I've bought. But don't let that fool you it's concise and to the point no chapter, paragraph or sentence is wasted, which allowed me to read the entire book in one sitting.

The honesty and clarity in which it describes the entrepreneurs journey to success is both exhilarating and terrifying in equal measure, and I can relate to every word. Julie Meyer paints the picture of entrepreneur country as a new social eco-system where the power rests with individuals and entrepreneurs i.e. davids. People who are prepared to challenge inefficient and antiquated companies and political systems i.e. Goliaths, in what she refers to as 'Individual Capitalism'.

A thoroughly thought provoking book that you won't regret buying or reading!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Defining Yourself and Your Destiny, 29 Aug 2012
This review is from: Welcome to Entrepreneur Country (Kindle Edition)
Julie is a genius at succinctly defining what it means to be an entrepreneur and the specific mindset required. She teaches that it is in all of us and is really about defining ourselves and utilising those values to live our own unique destiny whilst contributing to society and making a living. And in my opinion, this book is as applicable to the social entrepreneur, as it is to the business entrepreneur. I also think that by way of writing 'Welcome to Entrepreneur Country' and along with her extensive work in the entrepreneurial sector across the board, we are only 1 step away from declaring the UK as both a fully fledged 'Entrepreneur Country' and 'Social Entrepreneur Country' - the result of which I am certain will provide a permanent cure for most of society's problems and blaze a trail for personal independence and peace across the world. I recommend you buy this book now and be part of the change!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent business read - my first purchase this year, 13 Jun 2012
I've just received my copy and found this an intriguing insight into Julie's early liaisions with the world's greatest technology entrepreneurs, as well as a variety of personal insights which I particularly enjoyed. An easy to read text that is predictive of the future climate and a reiteration that digital is the only way for the next generation of entrepreneurs.

After hearing Julie speak at a few events I am glad that she is now taking her David and Goliath manifesto, as well as that of Entrepreneur Country, and spreading the message. Entrepreneurs need to listen up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great both for being a good read as well as specialist knowledge, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book in 2012 but refer to it frequently. Very good read indeed and useful for anyone interested in tech or entrepreneurial scene more generally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Welcome to Entrepreneur Country
£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews