Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dexys - The Empire strikes back
So it turns out that Homer Simpson was right when he predicted in a classic episode of that great show "you haven't heard the last of Dexys Midnight Runners". True its taken some 27 years for the band to return with this album and much water has passed under the bridge with the controversy of Kevin Rowland's solo output, a short reunion tour in 2003 and a growing feeling...
Published on 4 Jun. 2012 by Red on Black

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Good quality cd
Published 5 months ago by Gary Clark


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's been a long time coming, 6 Jan. 2013
This review is from: One Day I'm Going to Soar [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
A good albumn not the best sound recording but ok, a bit cheesey at times , positives r she got a wiggle, kr voice sounds great not change that much with age, all in all a worthy purchase & wil stay on my play list for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is it any Good?, 6 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Day I'm Going to Soar [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
In a word Yes - this is a stunning CD in everyway. There is no bad track here, every track has its place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it grows on you, 21 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this cd has a very indivual backing sound, the more you listen to it the more you like it,you think on listening
to the songs that they are traditionaly good then they suddenley surprise you, you cannot fail to like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very welcome back!!, 17 Jun. 2012
Stylish, moody, soulful......a masterpiece!

Kevin Rowland weaves his magic across every track, with each telling a story. He is an under rated musical genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album - but the drumming ??, 16 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whoa - from the first to the last there are some great melodies and heartfelt words contained in this album. Love it. then played a second time, then a third. What's the noise in the background ? Possibly some of the worst drumming on a recent album. It's pains me to say this. Very, very odd. I am most likely missing the point and it's all intentional. But, for me, it damages an otherwise great album. On the back of this, got out the vinyl and listened to 'Soul Rebels' and 'Stand me Down' - harmony was restored. So, my advice, try before you buy. If you're not sure, put the entire back catalogue in your basket !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The passion still burns as brightly as ever, 14 Jun. 2012
By 
I'm a longtime Dexys' fan and I've now played this album over ten times and I adore it. The music ebbs and flows - and in many ways reminds me of some of those classic Van Morrison albums of 70s/80s.

There are very few people who bare their souls in the way Kevin Rowland does. I can imagine that for some his outpourings might come across as naive or simplistic. I love them and I love his spoken word stuff.

This is a worthy addition to the already sublime Dexys cannon and is right up there with the other three albums. Almost certainly going to be my album of the year. Worth the wait. The passion still burns as brightly as ever - despite Kevin confronting the disappointments that inevitably accompany getting old. I'm stunned that 2012 has already yielded two really amazing albums by two of my all time heroes - John Lydon and Kevin Rowland. It's a strange and wonderful world and no mistake...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing 4th album from Dexys, 11 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First off i confess to being a Dexys fan for 30 something years and own the previous 3 albums and imo all are classics and now i believe a 4th classic as been added.

This album will not disappoint, its definately a close cousin to the third album Don't stand me down.

Kevin Rowland is a genius, he's up there with Bowie and Prince for me not as prolific but a talented singer song-writer and what a voice an octave lower sure but he's still got soul.

Do yourself a favour buy it, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A grown up record., 11 Jun. 2012
Proper songs with great musicians and singers.I was never really a Dexys fan. Growing up in the early 80`s I was lost to electronic and gothic & punk music.I ve read some glowing reviews for this album, saw Dexys recent excellent performance on Jools Holland and I was hooked. The music is soulful, wistful at times and at others upbeat.Its music only someone with talent and who has lived a full life could make.There have been mutterings of misogyny but come on. Its a man singing, a man being honest, one man , hes not speaking for all mankind just himself.Its about relationships in which men and women have 50-50 roles. If a woman had sung these songs would the criticisms have been the same? I think not, its just lazy to resort to the word. It also detracts from what is just a lovely album. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 7 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars music for lovers lovers of music just buy this album, 9 Jun. 2012
By 
Jp Sigley (stoke on trent staffs uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
cd came today dont need to write an essay just great words, great sound,great album music for lovers, lovers of music = dexys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews