Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice memories but poorly edited
Having been in London for the Diamond Jubilee - watching the Monday 4th June Pop Concert on The Mall with friends, and again staking a spot early to watch the Carriage Procession on Tuesday 5th June and be amongst the first to walk down The Mall with thousands of others, to see the Appearance on the Buckingham Palace balcony. I wanted to own a little memory of the...
Published on 13 July 2012 by Paul Ratcliffe

versus
61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BBC Titanic
Much has been written about the debacle of the BBC's coverage of the Thames Pageant. I bought this DVD in the hope that the BBC might redeem themselves and produce a product that was worthy of the name and of the Jubilee itself, alas, this is not the case. In fact it's hard to remember any BBC production that has sunk so low.
The DVD is 59 minutes long, with no...
Published on 13 July 2012 by Steve Cantlow


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BBC Titanic, 13 July 2012
By 
Steve Cantlow (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diamond Jubilee HM Queen Elizabeth II - The Official BBC Highlights [DVD] (DVD)
Much has been written about the debacle of the BBC's coverage of the Thames Pageant. I bought this DVD in the hope that the BBC might redeem themselves and produce a product that was worthy of the name and of the Jubilee itself, alas, this is not the case. In fact it's hard to remember any BBC production that has sunk so low.
The DVD is 59 minutes long, with no extras. It provides highlights of four events. The Thames Pageant, The St Pauls Thanksgiving Service, the Royal Procession and the balcony gathering with the flypast. In my opinion 59 minutes is not really long enough to do these events justice. At the start of the DVD you get around 15 to 20 minutes of excruciatingly painful explanation regarding the background to putting on the Thames Pageant. This could have been done in one minute. Once we get into the infamous coverage of the Thames Pageant you realise they have kept the woeful original broadcast commentary by the sports commentator Paul Dickenson, it is truly abysmal. Now they have cut out all but two of the cutaway interviews. So we are left with some nice pictures and not much else. The coverage of the St Pauls Thanksgiving Service is reduced to the Queens arrival, David Cameron's reading, one hymn, the National Anthem and the Queens departure. I missed this on the day and was hoping to see much more. There is also no mention whatsoever of why Prince Phillip, Duke of Edinburgh was not present, so when my kids come to watch this 10 years from now they will have know idea the Prince was ill. Next comes the Royal Procession which is ok. The fly past is slightly disappointing too as you really do not get full impression of the amazing size and excitement of the crowds. Then without warning the screen fades to black and then the role of shame ensues. The full list of credits is over in a matter of seconds. None of the presenters are listed, but if you freeze frame you can identify the producers who are responsible for possibly the worst ever coverage of a national event. This DVD does nothing to repair the damage done to the BBC's reputation. On the cover of the DVD the Executive Producers are listed as Clair Popplewell, Katie Shiers and Ben Weston. On the rolling credits the Production Executive is named as Paul Williams and Producers are Clare Megahey, Catherine Stirk and Zoe Timmers. Those producers involved in the production of this DVD and the Thames Pageant need to hang their heads in shame. The only thing you may be good for is producing shows for Tiny Tots TV!!
What the BBC can't takeaway, although they do their best, is the wonderful spectacle of these events and for this I give 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice memories but poorly edited, 13 July 2012
By 
Paul Ratcliffe (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Diamond Jubilee HM Queen Elizabeth II - The Official BBC Highlights [DVD] (DVD)
Having been in London for the Diamond Jubilee - watching the Monday 4th June Pop Concert on The Mall with friends, and again staking a spot early to watch the Carriage Procession on Tuesday 5th June and be amongst the first to walk down The Mall with thousands of others, to see the Appearance on the Buckingham Palace balcony. I wanted to own a little memory of the day.

The BBC attracted a lot of criticism for their coverage, but sadly other networks havent released their coverage.

This BBC DVD covers the Thames River Pageant for half of the 59 mninutes playing time (though oddly it starts as a documentary feel for 10 minutes with Hugh Edwards interviewing people involved in the Pageant), that part of the DVD is nice and concise.

I did feel really disappointed with the Tuesday coverage of the St Pauls's Cathedral service and Carriage procession on the DVD. It seemed poorly edited, too quick and missed out a lot. In my opinion, the BBC would have been better adding an extra 30 minutes to the DVD. Most of thiose who buy this will have been either there on the day, or want a memento, so they missed an opportunity to show some ama coverage from those Jubilee events more fully.

Still, my own memories will always be with me - Its a nice DVD, but could have done with a little more added to it............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok... but..., 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diamond Jubilee HM Queen Elizabeth II - The Official BBC Highlights [DVD] (DVD)
Not entirely a wash-out, Huw Edwards is the commentator. But a lamentable edit job.
Too much of the woeful commentary of the pageant - there was scope to have edited it a bit more tightly. Where was the concert? More distressingly, where was the beautiful, specially commissioned anthem from the service? Instead we got Cwm Rhondda, beautiful hymn certainly, but the descant was so complex it disappeared up its own dome! And then the jump from the west door of St Paul's to the North door of Westminster Hall with no explanation. Also no explanation as to the absence of Prince Philip.
As a historic record 3 out of 5 is probably pushing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Diamond Jubilee HM Quuen Elizabeth, 27 Aug. 2012
By 
D. Ward "Blackrock" (Brighton. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diamond Jubilee HM Queen Elizabeth II - The Official BBC Highlights [DVD] (DVD)
What a disappointment, the River Thames pagent is as bad as when it was first televised - not many close up shots of the boats. The Thanksgiving Service - one reading, one hymn, the National Anthem - it was a longer service than that and I would have not called those the highlights. More time on the service would have been better, it is after all to celebrate 60 years of Her Majesty. The carriage ride was the best bit - at least you could see The Queen. Very disappointed in this DVD, from such an enjoyable occasion when it was live - this leaves you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but over-priced, 11 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diamond Jubilee HM Queen Elizabeth II - The Official BBC Highlights [DVD] (DVD)
The quality was excellent - as you'd expect from BBC footage - but after forking out £7.99 for what I'd hoped would be a good souvenir of the occasion, I felt a bit cheated to find it was only 59 minutes long. At least most of it was of the river pageant - I would've liked more, tho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Diamond jubilee, 16 Feb. 2013
By 
Barry Green (United Kingsdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diamond Jubilee HM Queen Elizabeth II - The Official BBC Highlights [DVD] (DVD)
The BBC editing of the service was poor and the lunch in Westminster Hall skated over. Not at all impressed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dumbed Down!, 10 July 2012
This review is from: The Diamond Jubilee HM Queen Elizabeth II - The Official BBC Highlights [DVD] (DVD)
Until the BBC can get its act together and promise to produce professional informative coverage of live events like the Jubilee they should be banned.
Without doubt one of the worst covered events ever seen on television (it even surpassed the dreadful coverage of the Jubilee Concert - and that took some doing)and is further evidence that the BBC is in fact DUMBING DOWN - looking for the lowest level of intelligence. Alas they succeeded in that for the presenters and commentators wouldn't have got a second audition for the Teletubbies!
Watch with half an eye and no ear, there are some good moments but they dont involve sound - and what did happen to all that wonderful orchestral music played through the pageant?
So only buy if you understand - it is going to be dreadful - but it is the only record, so far, of our Queen's special day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish presenters but historic footage, 18 Jun. 2012
This review is from: The Diamond Jubilee HM Queen Elizabeth II - The Official BBC Highlights [DVD] (DVD)
I hope to never again hear from the 3rd rate lightweight presenters of this Jubilee ever again,or at least until they reach some level of maturity in 20 years time and do some background research into what was going on e.g. what are the Queens Watermen and what were they doing there?

I will only be buying this for the uniqueness of the footage and will make up my own commentary-at least then I will only have myseld to blame and may be able to relax watching it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ummm...was hoping to buy to amend for awful TV coverage, 16 Jun. 2012
This review is from: The Diamond Jubilee HM Queen Elizabeth II - The Official BBC Highlights [DVD] (DVD)
I don't know why I have even contemplated buying this dvd because the entire coverage of the River Pagent was bad beyond belief. Maybe an independent producer will make a dvd with a new commentary ? I agree with every word on the first review. I was appalled at the coverage by the inappropriately chosen commentaters. Some girl called Cotton was a pathetic disgrace. The other blonde - Tess somebody , equally dire. Matt somebody on a sofa wearing a skin tight suit and completely out of his depth. Someone said " "the Queen has gone for a toilet break" - that sums up the BBC's efforts - a toilet break it was. We should have been given much older people with some gravitas , well, in fact, anyone of any age really who knew something or anything about history, archtecture, boats ( none of the presenters seemed to know a starboard side from a prow ! to them it was front, side ,back - they knew nothing of boats or rivers.) The only saving grace was Claire Balding - who as usual - had done her homework, and tried to give a decent commentary. Instead of showing the viewer the anchored Tall Ships all we got was the inside of a cabin with Sandi Toksvig and three very pissed-off people. The Producer of this coverage should be sacked - long after we have forgotten the rain all the entire nation will remember is the embarrassing and banale commentary. You say the Director thanked the presenters? You must be joking? Thanks BBC for spoilng the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great memories of a great weekend - but why not more coverage?, 16 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diamond Jubilee HM Queen Elizabeth II - The Official BBC Highlights [DVD] (DVD)
A great momento of the Jubilee weekend: but only covers some of the events. Why no coverage of the fantastic music concert at the Palace? What about coverage of the thousands of community events: the Big Lunch, the beacons etc? The coverage on the disks: of the river pageant and the service of thanksgiving etc is well done: but I'm disappointed that the Beeb didn't include more coverage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews