Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Balzac at his best: oeuvres cpmpletes
What is not to like? Read in this massive collection the view of the human condition given by a master of his language, with description of a huge variety of characters from the strange to the endearingly ordinary, in a range of situations from the provincial to the national, small town to capital city, private life to military. Make sure you have a good dictionary to...
Published on 3 Nov 2012 by The Snucist

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Balzac would spin in his grave!
I am still only part reading this but I have already noticed many spelling errors (verb endings in particular) which would have sent poor Balzac mad!
Published 9 months ago by Mrs L.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Balzac at his best: oeuvres cpmpletes, 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Honoré de Balzac : Oeuvres complètes - 101 titres La Comédie humaine (Nouvelle édition enrichie) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
What is not to like? Read in this massive collection the view of the human condition given by a master of his language, with description of a huge variety of characters from the strange to the endearingly ordinary, in a range of situations from the provincial to the national, small town to capital city, private life to military. Make sure you have a good dictionary to hand for the more specialist vocabulary used in provincial or work description!
Where we do not read the novels of manners, for which Balzac is so celebrated, we find more philosophical items. Yet the most interesting personally is the introduction by the author himself, well worth the time reading before beginning his work.
At the end of this great collection of work there can be found useful commentary and a bibliography.
In all, a useful and interesting collection of a celebrated author's work, for language appreciation and enjoyment of good stories full of character,dipping into and more concentrated study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it!, 4 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Honoré de Balzac : Oeuvres complètes - 101 titres La Comédie humaine (Nouvelle édition enrichie) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
This is so ludicrously cheap for such a large collection of novels that if you read French and have any interest whatsoever in Balzac you should just get it. I was prompted to put up a review because I have just received an updated Kindle version with the typos corrected. As with many Kindle titles there were significant numbers of typos; they are always irritating but seem to be par for the course and I have just learned to ignore them. I don't know how comprehensive the proofreading has been yet but I am encouraged that they have done it at all.

For anyone who is learning French and is wondering whether nineteenth century novels might be too hard I would suggest you give it a go. In many ways I find classic French novels, including those by Zola, Hugo etc. easier to read than contemporary fiction as the grammar is very correct and you don't get the idiom and modern cultural references that many English speakers find difficult. In any case Balzac is a wonderful writer, less given to enormous diversions from the plot than Hugo, and less depressing than Zola. Start off with something like Eugenie Grandet. Give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 8 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Honoré de Balzac : Oeuvres complètes - 101 titres La Comédie humaine (Nouvelle édition enrichie) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
So far read only the preface and the first, fairly short, work, so still less than 1% through this massive compilation. The digital transcription is pretty accurate with only the odd tiny glitch. An ideal way of (re-)acquainting oneself with the works of this seminal 19th century French author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honore de Balzac: Oeuvres completes-101titres La Comedie humaine, 10 April 2014
By 
stephen Walsh (BRADFORD, West Yorkshire, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Honoré de Balzac : Oeuvres complètes - 101 titres La Comédie humaine (Nouvelle édition enrichie) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Balzac was a prolific author whom few have read all of his Comedie Humaine. His choice of language was erudite and complex.
When I have a free week-end I will have time to re-acquaint myself with his output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Balzac would spin in his grave!, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Honoré de Balzac : Oeuvres complètes - 101 titres La Comédie humaine (Nouvelle édition enrichie) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I am still only part reading this but I have already noticed many spelling errors (verb endings in particular) which would have sent poor Balzac mad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An unbeatable bargain from Amazon., 7 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Honoré de Balzac : Oeuvres complètes - 101 titres La Comédie humaine (Nouvelle édition enrichie) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic in every respect. It's wonderful to be able to download the complete works for such an incredibly low price.

Ken B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must for students of French literature., 9 July 2013
By 
W. Coward (Angleterre) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Honoré de Balzac : Oeuvres complètes - 101 titres La Comédie humaine (Nouvelle édition enrichie) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Honoré de Balzac and Emile Zola are the doyens of French literature. This volume is worth downloading onto your Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews