Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better...
This is volume 5 of the adventures of Ballista (or Dernhelm), the son of an Angle warlord in Germania who grew up as a hostage of the Romans, was brought up at the imperial court and became a Roman general specialized in siege warfare. In this volume, after having been sent on a dangerous mission in the Caucasus, he is now sent with his "familia" on another dangerous...
Published on 11 July 2012 by JPS

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wolves of the North
Not as good as Harry Sidebottm's previous Warrior of Rome books I found it drawn out and repetitive in places. However still a good read and very authentic in discribing tribes of the stepps during that period, with a twist of "who done it".
Published 20 months ago by GMAC


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better..., 11 July 2012
By 
JPS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is volume 5 of the adventures of Ballista (or Dernhelm), the son of an Angle warlord in Germania who grew up as a hostage of the Romans, was brought up at the imperial court and became a Roman general specialized in siege warfare. In this volume, after having been sent on a dangerous mission in the Caucasus, he is now sent with his "familia" on another dangerous mission to the Goths and Heruls living North of the Black Sea.

Apart from Harry Sidebottom's usual research, description of characters and writing style - all excellent - this book has quite a few other things going for it. The other strong point, of course, is that, as in his four previous books, and as another reviewer has mentioned already, the author makes you learn a lot in a rather entertaining way. However, none of these points are specific to this book. There are generic and can apply just as well to any of his four previous books.

The same reviewer thought it useful to warn readers against potential criticism that this book might seem slow paced at time. It does seem slow, at one point, but, far from being a criticism, this is perfectly suitable and it even seems to be deliberate since it conveys very well the impression of an endless trek as the embassy crosses the steppe and seeks to reach the Heruls' camp.

Another point is Sidebottom's choice of the Heruls, of which we know very little, and what we know mainly comes from Procopius writing almost 300 years after the time when the book's story is supposed to take place. This, of course, allows the author more room for invention. To my limited knowledge at last, there is nothing in the sources stating the Heruls practiced cranial deformation (unlike the Burgonds, who did, at least for their nobles) and Heruls were Germanic and not Huns, although their description seems to match the latter in some aspects, but then there is nothing that explicitly excludes it, so why not?

Other bits are fascinating since they offer a glimpse of steppe politics: how Rome (and then Byzantium) strived to keep the various tribes fighting each other and tried to avoid having any confederation becoming too powerful through bribes and alliances. It also gives a rather vivid description of what a steppe cavalry battle could have looked like and felt. Then there is another interesting twist in the story: among the embassy, there happens to be a psychopath that would nowadays qualify as a serial killer so that this book, in addition to being a historical novel, will also have you trying to guess "who dune it" (by the way, there are plenty of "red herrings" and I got it wrong!).

There is one thing, however, that makes this book worth a strong four stars rather than five: it does not stand alone very well. Although, to be fair, there is quite a few explanations as to who the main characters are and what has happened in previous episodes, it is definitely preferable to read the five books one after the other.

Anyway, I much preferred this one (I found Caspian Gates a bit "tepid"). It also seems that Harry Sidebottom has decided to treat us to a tour of the Roman Empire's neighbors and borders in the 3rd century AD since book 6 will be called the Amber Road, coming after the Persians, the Caucasus, the Goths and the nomads North of the Black Sea. Another treat in preparation...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The fifth in the series Wolves of the north finds Ballista and his familia sent on a diplomatic mission to the Heruli (an east Germanic tribe living around the Black sea. Mission to turn the Heruli against there neighbours which will forestall an invasion of the Imperium. After a slow start the author gets into his stride and then the action really picks up. All in all Harry Sidebottom has penned an exciting narrative with historical fact and fiction expertly interwoven, gritty action, three dimensional Characters, Highly recommended.
The perfect companion to this excellent series is the ROMA VICTRIX wine beaker.Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

For those who would like further information on this epoch I highly recommend the OSPREY Campaign, Warrior, and men at arms booklets, with great overviews, excellent illustrations, and highly detailed maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars liking the story - based on a roman theme - ..., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
liking the story - based on a roman theme - I am eagerly awaiting the arrival of the next book !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband loved this book & all the others in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read: very enjoyable, 19 May 2014
By 
Michael Hermin (Co. Armagh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warrior of Rome: The Wolves of the North (Warrior of Rome 5) (Kindle Edition)
Very well paced booked with plenty of intrigue. Would recommend if your seeking an alternative author to the Roman historical fiction publications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brutal, but good read., 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warrior of Rome: The Wolves of the North (Warrior of Rome 5) (Kindle Edition)
Well up to the standard of the other books within the series. Knowledge of warfare of the Roman period very impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most complex and intricate story so far and the best., 4 July 2012
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Review:
As with all of Harry's books I expect that some will call the book slow, over detailed etc. But that's just not the case.

Harry's books and this one in particular are wonderfully written, he has an eloquent way of weaving the descriptive with the action. Like the history teacher everyone wants, you learn while you are entertained.

There are I'm sure a couple of readers out there who will once again claim to know more than the author about history but because there are always times that a fictional author must bend the facts and timeframe to fit the plot and its pace they need to get over that. Any changes are well explained as usual and all done with the very best of intentions to keep the latest story on plot and pace.

As usual our hero Ballista isn't just a 2D character, I always found him to be well rounded and by book five he is a living breathing hero, the good the bad, the imperfect, the stress and strain of position and command, all witten to give you fully rounded REAL person, with a supporting cast just as well written. I personally found even more realism with book five because of the chaotic swirl of the barbarian world clashing with the civilised order that was Rome.
Add a large dose of intrigue that usually accompanies the corrupt world of Rome and all its dealings, both from a family level through to movers and shakers in power. Ballista a Roman by accident / circumstance and deep down a barbarian at heart. This really does make for the most complex and intricate story so far and the best.

Highly recommended
(Parm)

Product Description
In the fifth novel in Harry Sidebottom's acclaimed and bestselling Warrior of Rome historical fiction series, Ballista returns in Warrior of Rome: The Wolves of the North to undertake yet another epic mission - while the Roman Empire reels in chaos around him.
AD 263 - the Roman Empire is close to turmoil, violent uprising threatening to shatter the fragile balance of power.
In the north, the tribes are increasingly bold in their raids on the Imperium - their savagery unlike anything Rome has known before. Ballista must undertake his most treacherous journey yet - a covert attempt to turn the barbarians against each other. He must face the Heruli - the Eaters of Flesh, the Wolves of the North - the most brutal tribe of them all. As Ballista and his retinue make their journey, someone - or something - is hunting them, picking them off one by one, and leaving a trail of mutilated corpses and terror.
Ballista is in a strange land, among strange people, but is it possible that the greatest threat may come from within his own familia?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read as with the rest of the series, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warrior of Rome: The Wolves of the North (Warrior of Rome 5) (Kindle Edition)
As a standalone book it would not get four stars but having read the previous books I found this one just as enthralling.For me, it was a little less educational than earlier books and there was a greater concentration on the human side of the characters Sidebottom has created. Hopefully the next installment will arrive sooner than this one did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Author, top notch title, 11 July 2012
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Harry is one of those authors that I really love to spend time with. He takes me far away from our own world and throws me back to the ancient days of Rome as his principle hero seeks to help keep order in the Empire. Its creative, its wonderfully written and with great prose alongside high octane action sequences, he's an author that really does deliver.

Add to this great research and an ability to keep you informed without the use of an info dump and all in this book was a pure joy to read. Magical writing and of course an author who sets standards for readers to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The long wait was worth it., 17 July 2012
By 
A. K. Gibbens - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wait a year to read the latest installment of Ballista's triumphs and problems and the pleasure was all mine. I had finished it in 4 evenings or so as it was hard to put down. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews