Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for planning before you go
I was looking for an easy to navigate book on things to see on a short (4 night) stay in Reykjavic. This book has lots of colour photos and the essential info in an easy to read format. You can find the top attractions instantly to make planning your stay easy and fun. The book is a handy size and has clear maps of Iceland, Reykjavic and even a map of the bus routes for...
Published on 26 July 2012 by mumsbinthere

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware of Kindle version
The format of the Kindle version of these guides do not in my opinion work. I bought a number of Top 10 DK guides, including this one, in the Kindle Daily Deal at a knockdown price to read in colour on an iPad/iPhone. Even at that price the way that they are presented was so bad in my opinion that I returned them for a refund.
Published 16 months ago by Mister G


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for planning before you go, 26 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was looking for an easy to navigate book on things to see on a short (4 night) stay in Reykjavic. This book has lots of colour photos and the essential info in an easy to read format. You can find the top attractions instantly to make planning your stay easy and fun. The book is a handy size and has clear maps of Iceland, Reykjavic and even a map of the bus routes for planning your own tours. Includes a pull-out, laminated map too. Info included on websites for further planning and booking tours before you go. Brilliant value little book; I'll look out for others in the series for future trips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iceland - A perfect little guide, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect little book. Enough information to help us thoroughly enjoy our first trip to Iceland. Just wish we'd had more time to explore more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As usual a DK book full of information I require, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always buy DK travel books, as they are full of the useful information I need when going on holiday. I must have over 30 books in my collection. I let my friends borrow them when they go on holiday. I also take it with me on holiday to refer to it,for addresses of restaurants etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great little book just the size and amount of detail needed for a short trip to Iceland. Maps handy too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware of Kindle version, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Mister G (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Iceland: Iceland (Kindle Edition)
The format of the Kindle version of these guides do not in my opinion work. I bought a number of Top 10 DK guides, including this one, in the Kindle Daily Deal at a knockdown price to read in colour on an iPad/iPhone. Even at that price the way that they are presented was so bad in my opinion that I returned them for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DK travel book for Iceland, 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like a concise book with some useful maps and all of the essential information for a short trip then this is the book for you - excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iceland Top 10, 22 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always the Eye Witness guides are easy to read and include everything you need to know. Useful maps as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good to get an overview, not good for detailed planning, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To plan a roadtrip on Iceland (August 2014) I bought two small guidebooks:

- Marco Polo "Iceland" - http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/3829707150

- DK "Top 10 Iceland" - http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/1405369922

In a way they are complementary - you can use the DK book to decide roughly which things you want to go and do or see, but when it comes down to planning your road trip you'll really want to use the Marco Polo guide. The latter has a map that is actually useful (the DK map is a joke) at 1:700,000 scale (I still plan to buy a more detailed map book once I'm on Iceland) and there are references to it throughout the book. Also, the descriptions of sights and places are more thorough in the Marco Polo guide than in the DK one.

I rate the Marco Polo guide 4 stars and the DK guide 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK book, does the job but not really good. Covers the obvious, decent pictures but could do with a little more text and descriptions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just about right, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just about right for a tourist trip to Iceland. cheap enough (don't buy stuff there - its expensive!). Good small maps and good photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews