Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hives are back in style, 3 July 2012
This review is from: Lex Hives (Audio CD)
A long awaited return from the Swedish madmen that are the Hives, and well worth the wait:

1 - come on! - repeat the title over and over with some clapping and typical deep thrumming base line, and it's a winner!
2 - go right ahead - sounds like some 80's disco tune, really fantastic. As with many Hives songs great backing vocals.
3 - 1000 answers - fast tempo'd with a nice chorus, a bit of a grower. Players of FIFA 12 will recognise.
4 - I want more - a slower song, with a neat base line.
5 - wait a minute - you will play this over and over, if only for the backing vocals throughout, so so good!!
6 - patrolling days - a nice bouncy start, with a darker chorus than most Hives tracks, a nice change in direction.
7 - take back the toys - a really deep song, low tones and very good chorus, once again cracking base line.
8 - without the money - prob my least favourite, but not terrible. Really slow paced, with little guitar etc.
9 - these spectacles reveal the nostalgic - a signature super fast paced Hives tune, kind of generic, but catchy
10 - my time is coming - tells a bit of a story, not overly impressive, bit of a filler
11 - if I had a cent - quite a quiet verse, builds up to a fast chorus, not bad.
12 - midnight shifter - ends the album strongly, a bit of brass to assist, very catchy.

I use the word 'catchy' a lot, but that's just the Hives, they make songs that you will remember for being different. They stick to one method of creating music, and haven't really strayed from this in any of their albums. It's typical Hives, and therefore if you like any of their stuff, it's well worth spending some pennies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hives cd, 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lex Hives (Audio CD)
This is the perfect cheerfully aggressive music to lift your spirits when summer is pouring bucketfuls of rain on it. Buy it and dance away the rain! Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They are the Law!, 8 Jun. 2012
By 
Mr. M. RALPH "ralph_109" (U.K - KENT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lex Hives (Audio CD)
Its been 5 years in the waiting - but The Hives come back with a superb album!
Each song has something to like about it. The black and white album was such a lush album and I personally dont think they can top it.
However 'Lex Hives' will sit nicely next to it and the other classics, while getting a constant play on the ipod :)
Buy the deluxe edition as the the 2 extra tracks are decent!

I hope I dont have to wait another 5 years for more....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellant ablum, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lex Hives (Audio CD)
Having invested in Barely Legal and enjoyed it so much, we just had to try this album and were DEFINATELY not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best album, 20 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lex Hives (Audio CD)
Best album of 2012 I think. Bought this for both my newphews for xmas and they will definitely enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jumping, 3 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lex Hives (Audio CD)
Saw them on Jules Holland and bought this straight away.

No disappointments - an all round fabulous album.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lex Hives rules!, 18 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Lex Hives (Audio CD)
Excellent garage rock - does what it says on the tin. Good upbeat stuff without pretensions. Much underarted!
Buy it and be amazed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Oct. 2012
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lex Hives (MP3 Download)
I caught The Hives performing 'Go Right Ahead' on Jules Holland whilst channel hopping, and was blown away by the song. As it was the first Hives track I can remember ever hearing I had to come on here and browse. Listening to the samples of the other tracks on this album I just had to download the whole thing.

All the twelve tracks here are great, with admittedly a couple that really stuck out even more than the rest. I believe it has been about five years or so since this Swedish garage rock group have released an album, this one they produced by themselves, and listening to this it is something that has been well worth the wait. Every year goodness knows how many albums are released, but unlike so many others, this one is well worth getting. With great lyrics and music this is an album that your ears have been waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best album of the year, 28 Sept. 2012
By 
N. Thompson "Beaker" (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lex Hives (Audio CD)
I have always had a soft-spot for the Hives. Great showmen, entertaining when performing live and have produced some excellent songs over the years. However I was completely suprised at how good this album is. It is their best album, without a shadow of doubt, with killer track after killer track. If you thought you knew how good the Hives could be - listen to this album a couple of times and you will realise how much your were under-rating them.

Not only is this the best Hives album yet; but it is also the best album I have listened too this year (by any band). Outstanding album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lex Hives (Audio CD)
Enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lex Hives
Lex Hives by The Hives
Buy MP3 Album£5.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews