Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars26
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.09

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 July 2012
A long awaited return from the Swedish madmen that are the Hives, and well worth the wait:

1 - come on! - repeat the title over and over with some clapping and typical deep thrumming base line, and it's a winner!
2 - go right ahead - sounds like some 80's disco tune, really fantastic. As with many Hives songs great backing vocals.
3 - 1000 answers - fast tempo'd with a nice chorus, a bit of a grower. Players of FIFA 12 will recognise.
4 - I want more - a slower song, with a neat base line.
5 - wait a minute - you will play this over and over, if only for the backing vocals throughout, so so good!!
6 - patrolling days - a nice bouncy start, with a darker chorus than most Hives tracks, a nice change in direction.
7 - take back the toys - a really deep song, low tones and very good chorus, once again cracking base line.
8 - without the money - prob my least favourite, but not terrible. Really slow paced, with little guitar etc.
9 - these spectacles reveal the nostalgic - a signature super fast paced Hives tune, kind of generic, but catchy
10 - my time is coming - tells a bit of a story, not overly impressive, bit of a filler
11 - if I had a cent - quite a quiet verse, builds up to a fast chorus, not bad.
12 - midnight shifter - ends the album strongly, a bit of brass to assist, very catchy.

I use the word 'catchy' a lot, but that's just the Hives, they make songs that you will remember for being different. They stick to one method of creating music, and haven't really strayed from this in any of their albums. It's typical Hives, and therefore if you like any of their stuff, it's well worth spending some pennies.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
Its been 5 years in the waiting - but The Hives come back with a superb album!
Each song has something to like about it. The black and white album was such a lush album and I personally dont think they can top it.
However 'Lex Hives' will sit nicely next to it and the other classics, while getting a constant play on the ipod :)
Buy the deluxe edition as the the 2 extra tracks are decent!

I hope I dont have to wait another 5 years for more....
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
This is the perfect cheerfully aggressive music to lift your spirits when summer is pouring bucketfuls of rain on it. Buy it and dance away the rain! Brilliant.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I caught The Hives performing 'Go Right Ahead' on Jules Holland whilst channel hopping, and was blown away by the song. As it was the first Hives track I can remember ever hearing I had to come on here and browse. Listening to the samples of the other tracks on this album I just had to download the whole thing.

All the twelve tracks here are great, with admittedly a couple that really stuck out even more than the rest. I believe it has been about five years or so since this Swedish garage rock group have released an album, this one they produced by themselves, and listening to this it is something that has been well worth the wait. Every year goodness knows how many albums are released, but unlike so many others, this one is well worth getting. With great lyrics and music this is an album that your ears have been waiting for.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2012
I have always had a soft-spot for the Hives. Great showmen, entertaining when performing live and have produced some excellent songs over the years. However I was completely suprised at how good this album is. It is their best album, without a shadow of doubt, with killer track after killer track. If you thought you knew how good the Hives could be - listen to this album a couple of times and you will realise how much your were under-rating them.

Not only is this the best Hives album yet; but it is also the best album I have listened too this year (by any band). Outstanding album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2012
Saw them on Jules Holland and bought this straight away.

No disappointments - an all round fabulous album.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
Having invested in Barely Legal and enjoyed it so much, we just had to try this album and were DEFINATELY not disappointed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
Best album of 2012 I think. Bought this for both my newphews for xmas and they will definitely enjoy it
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
Excellent garage rock - does what it says on the tin. Good upbeat stuff without pretensions. Much underarted!
Buy it and be amazed!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
This is a great return album for the Hives with plenty of energy, great riffs and the usual shouted/sung lyrics. Their live show is fantastic so I'd recommend that you get the album and then catch the show as the Hives are really something different and special.Lex Hives
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.