Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
17
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2012
I'm still fairly new to the rhythm genre, but I'm enjoying Beat the Beat. There are 50 mini-games, and after four games there's a remix where the 4 games appear in random order. The game requires no more control than the a button or a and b button, and as long as you can keep with the rhythm then you'll have no trouble, but that's a tricky task to achieve! I found some games too tricky, but you can skip them if you're really struggling. I find the games very well thought out, and there's the old Nintendo magic in every one of them. One of the weirdest games I've played is where you have to rally a shuttlecock in an aeroplane with a cooking utensil, it gets tougher when clouds pass by and the speed of the shuttlecock varies. There are demos of how to play each game if you are having difficulty, so there is plenty of help available for newbies. Every so often you'll be given the chance to go for a perfect score in a game where you got awarded a medal. If you perfect the game you'll unlock bonus content, like a music track.

If you want to try the rhythm genre for the first time, I'd get this game. If you've played rhythm games before, then you should also get it without delay. Beat the Beat only made it to number 11 in the wii charts last week, lets get it in the top ten where it deserves to be, buy it today you'll have hours of fun!
66 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
great fun for all the family, but also brilliant therapy for my autistic teenager, who is musically gifted, but has quite poor coordination. This helps with the fine motor skills a lot, and his accuracy means that he can beat everyone else in the family for once. There is a great variety of games, 50 levels, and medals and "perfects" can be scored. This means that, even when all the levels have been cleared, there is the opportunity to go back and improve. Achieving a perfect then unlocks other games. We originally had this on DS, which was great too. Some of the games are similar, but lots of new ones on the Wii, plus the opportunity to challenge an opponent in two-player games.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
As fan of its predecessor Rhythm Paradise on the DS, I was so excited to play the next game. I have played a few instruments in my time and thought that my sense of rhythm would easily get me through. Don't be fooled! There are a few complex rhythms that had me stumped! This game will bring you truly into the world of rhythm, with quirky animations and as always really catchy songs. I loved the fact that you could play in Japanese or English too. The controls are simple, just press A or A & B together dependent on the game. If you find a particular stage difficult your little friend will give you the option to skip it and come back to it later. You can also have a demonstration of how it's done in the practice round if you're struggling to get the hang of it. There is a two-player option if you have a particularly gifted friend to play with or if you want to relax, there are rhythm toys and endless rhythm games to pass the time away. I highly recommend this game to everyone both seasoned player and new alike. I'm biased as I love music games, but I think this game will find a place in everyone's hearts!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
The Wii version is not nearly as good as the DS one. The songs doesn't have very obvious beats to follow and aren't very fun or catchy. The controls are fine and it's a rhythm game, but that's about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
To explain simply how this game is played would make it seem unworthy of high praise, but it is in its simplicity that Rhythm Paradise achieves such brilliance. The game is played by pressing a combination of 2 buttons in time with the beat, with a variety of original music and loony animated visuals as accompaniment. The idea is easy enough for anyone to understand and quickly grasp, though there is enough expansion on this idea that the game manages to keep things feeling fresh throughout the extensive list of mini-games.

Besides the simple yet surprisingly addictive mechanics, it is in the presentation that Rhythm Paradise really begins to shine. If you're into the idea of monkeys teaching you golf, wrestler interviews, and anthropomorphic bouncing dough--all in time with the music--then this game has got you covered, with so much more besides.

There's certainly some reliance on having a sense of rhythm here, and you may find yourself unable to see more of the game if you typically have trouble in that area, but even at the simpler end of games there's so much unbridled and unabashed joy in lunacy that there's still plenty to enjoy.

Let it be said that simple gameplay doesn't always lead to shallow experiences.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Brilliant game! 50 very fun and addictive mini games to play along with lots of other bonus games that will become available as you complete mini games to a superb standard. Some mini games will also become available in two player mode as you complete them in single player. There a wide variety of mini games to play with many different styles of music so every game sounds different. Very simple to play (just press the a, or the a and b buttons in time with the music) and very addictive. It will really test your sense of rhythm. Hours of fun, brilliant game! Delivery very quick as well. Very pleased with this purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2014
From the team that brought you the many Wario Ware titles comes a more musically attuned title, Beat the Beat: Rhythm Paradise.

Make no joke this game will test your ability to maintain a rhythm in many strange manners. From assisting a golfer with his hole in one training to slicing up spirits as a samurai, everything in this land has its own beat and rhythm and its your job to keep the flow going.

Bought this for my brother on his birthday. We both spend sessions just competing for the Perfect medals. Would make a great present to any Wii player with a taste for the off beat WarioWare style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2012
A crazy rhythm based mini-game collection that ranges from high-fiving monkeys in a giant monkey watch to pigs in a boardroom meeting( & those aren't even the craziest songs in the game). The game has very simple controls(you either press "A", "B", or "A+B") but can be very challenging if you aren't musically inclined. Luckily the game will allow you to move past games that you are struggling with so you will be able to see all the content(which is plentiful, they even give you a choice between the original Japanese & the English music).

The game also has some two player games included & as the single-player games are fun to watch(the game takes great delight in throwing as much crazy on screen as it possibly can) it makes a great game to play with a group of people.

All in all this game is a great swansong for the Wii & will probably provide enough entertainment to last you until the Wii U releases.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Beat the Beat: Rhythm Paradise is simply put an excellent game. It's pure gameplay and simple controls will keep you in your seat and it's extremely hard to stop playing this game. If you have a Wii and want to play a fun and unique game you have to buy this game. And don't worry if this game will be too easy since it's very challenging but in a good way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
This is a really nice game. At first the graphics look flat, but the variety is huge. It has about 50 games, all with really nice songs. The music is interesting enough to not bore you while playing it again and again. Even for musicians, this game is a splendid way to make your musical timing better. You'll get comments from your fellow tapdancers in the game, or you will cause frogs to sit on the head of a monkey that is kind enough to learn you phrases on the tamborine. The game is funny enough to create an urge to manage it, even tough it is often very difficult.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)