Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Irish family historian MUST have a copy of this genealogy bible
I feel very strongly about John Grenham's Tracing Your Irish ancestors, 4th Edition. In the chapter "The Internet," Grenham states on page 68: "The rule is simple: if you don't know what you've searched, you don't know what you've found."
My response: AMEN!
I think this one sentence sums up why this book belongs on the bookshelf of every Irish family...
Published on 13 May 2012 by Deborah Large

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars no page numbers
In my opinion the book itself is five star but the Kindle version and its listing on Amazon are not. There are no page numbers in this Kindle book. This was not clear to me from the listing. I had to return the book as it was of no use to me without page numbers. Very disappointing.
Published 2 months ago by Junette Stronge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Irish family historian MUST have a copy of this genealogy bible, 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I feel very strongly about John Grenham's Tracing Your Irish ancestors, 4th Edition. In the chapter "The Internet," Grenham states on page 68: "The rule is simple: if you don't know what you've searched, you don't know what you've found."
My response: AMEN!
I think this one sentence sums up why this book belongs on the bookshelf of every Irish family historian.
I wish I could afford to send copies to the creators of every "cut and paste" family tree posted on a popular Internet genealogy site. The genealogy world has become full of armchair genealogists who have no idea what records they are searching and whether the ancestors they find in those records are actually theirs. The value of Tracing Your Irish Ancestors is not simply in the wealth of information concerning what records exist and where. His explanations of the types of records and of genealogical methods should be required reading for anyone venturing into Irish genealogy. I have found his bibliographies indispensible for research into local histories.
Grenham's guide is essential to both the novice and the experienced researcher. No other Irish genealogy guide is as complete and up to date as his 4th Edition. There are a few other books I also recommend for every Irish researchers genealogical library, such as Mitchell's Genealogical Atlas of Ireland, but Tracing Your Irish Ancestors should be the first book on any Irish genealogist's shelf.
In this edition, Grenham has paid additional attention to Internet sources and research, and rightly so because the Internet has taken over genealogy. However, the Internet is more of a fluid entity than is a print book, and I wonder how long it will be until some of the Internet information becomes outdated. But such is the nature of the tension between print vs Internet today. I believe that a print guide is still necessary, since too many family historians simply jump around the Internet in ignorance. At least this one volume provides a resource that brings most of the necessary records information together in one place.
When I have traveled to Ireland for genealogical research, the earlier editions of this book went with me. Luggage weight restrictions might make this difficult for this hefty tome. So, I must ask, will it be available in a digital version?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irish genealogy, 8 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is excellent. Not only does it tell you how to research your Irish Family Tree but it also provides an extremely comprehensive listing of sources. The new section on Internet research is also excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irish Genealogy Bible - a must have, 8 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Tracing Your Irish Ancestors: Irish Genealogy (Kindle Edition)
John Grenham, a professional Irish genealogist since 1981, is very knowledgeable. He writes clearly and has sound views. This is a great book for both beginners and more experienced genealogists interested in finding family in Ireland. He places national & local resources in context, explains their significance and where to find them. In Irish genealogy it is not enough to look at National records and resources - local records are more important than in many other countries. Local resources vary and so it is important to know which county you are researching and what is available for that county. John covers this information in depth on a county by county basis for all 32 counties -north and south.

Although I already had an earlier edition of this book, I went out and bought this latest edition as it has been comprehensively updated and has a great index.

So if you are only going to get one book on Irish genealogy this is THE ONE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very well written and structured book, particularly for those just starting to research their Irish ancestry. It is so comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exceptional, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tracing Your Irish Ancestors: Irish Genealogy (Kindle Edition)
This is an exceptional reference book. I was tasked with assembling a family tree and I found 'Tracing Your Irish Ancestors' to be an invaluable resource. Every possible required reference source is included. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book by Ireland's TOP genealogist, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
John Grenham is an expert in the field of genealogy. This book is a must have for any Irish genealogist, whether amateur or professional! Considered by many as Ireland's Genealogy Bible....buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tracing your Irish ancestorsk, 8 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tracing Your Irish Ancestors: Irish Genealogy (Kindle Edition)
An excellent reference book. Full of great tips and advice. Gives you guidance every step of the way. Would recommend this book to all who are interested in Irish ancestry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars no page numbers, 29 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Tracing Your Irish Ancestors: Irish Genealogy (Kindle Edition)
In my opinion the book itself is five star but the Kindle version and its listing on Amazon are not. There are no page numbers in this Kindle book. This was not clear to me from the listing. I had to return the book as it was of no use to me without page numbers. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genealogy research, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did a night class to help me with my family tree research. This book is well layed out. Book has all the references I need for my Irish research. Recommended by class teacher and all I need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars the Good and Bad, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bulked out with site and index references would need to have some understanding for genealogy, not particularly reader friendly , useful sites listed .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews