Customer Reviews


144 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best f1 game yet
Having played every f1 game on the Ps3 so far, i can say that this is the best. The graphics are incredible and the gameplay is much improved.

The menus look really slick and the in game graphics show an amazing amount of detail, even down to the moving of the grass blades by the track. Even the track from Austin Texas is included and it is really good. If you...
Published on 23 Sept. 2012 by Alistair Murray

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but frustrating!!
This game is definitely a "step up" from the previous editions in the series, graphically it is great, and it is much more realistic in the sense that you cannot challenge the front runners in an inferior car as you could on the previous games, this is good, makes it much more real. However what frustrates me is how easily the "stewards" give penalties. It seems that if a...
Published 23 months ago by OJM


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best f1 game yet, 23 Sept. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: F1 2012 (PS3) (Video Game)
Having played every f1 game on the Ps3 so far, i can say that this is the best. The graphics are incredible and the gameplay is much improved.

The menus look really slick and the in game graphics show an amazing amount of detail, even down to the moving of the grass blades by the track. Even the track from Austin Texas is included and it is really good. If you are an F1 fan, you need this game.

Full marks to Codemasters and all who have been involved in this game. A good job !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Multiple improvements... at last!, 2 Oct. 2012
By 
S. J. Chamberlain "MBE" (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F1 2012 (PS3) (Video Game)
Having owned Formula 1: Championship mode and the Codemasters games (and not seeing much difference in quality apart from updated teams) i was far from excited like most of us when a new game comes out. Having now played F1 2012, I am so glad i made the plunge regardless.

First thing i enjoyed was the new Young Drivers Test. This gives you a detailed, but simplistic look at the science behind racing an F1 car. Gone are the days when you just raced with default aerodynamics, or default tyres, as this feature will show you what the little tweaks actually do.

Second major difference was the difficulty/realism. On past games I would start a career in a Torro Rosso (or similar guff team) and win or at least be in the points every race. Obviously this is ridiculous and makes for not much of a challenge (no way trying hard difficulty as i would get completely trashed = no fun). Playing this game on similar difficulties didn't seem much different at first (started in 24th, was 8th after the first corner) but as the first lap got going i realised that the cars in front were pulling away and the cars behind were being held up. The result of this was that i started to defend my position and by matter of working harder, i got faster and more aggressive in my driving. This made for 'sick to the power of rad' driving and i found myself eating away at the laps. Soon enough the 15 lap race (the minimum laps) was over and i had finished 12th, which on previous games would have been utterly terrible, but on this, i felt a great sense of achievement.

Pros: -

- Smoother Graphics
- Better AI - More challenging and better defending fellow racers
- Smoother gameplay

Cons: -

- Menu is quite weird to try and navigate as you seem to go all over the place, just to get where you want.
- Games Teams and Drivers will run out soon as it is this current season's cars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vast Improvement, 30 Sept. 2012
By 
Craig Taylor (Scuthorpe, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: F1 2012 (PS3) (Video Game)
F1 2012 is by far the best F1 game that Codemasters have made. They've taken the negative comments from last years release and turned them into positive improvements.

The game play is simply fantastic, the graphics are amazing, the AI are intelligent and the handling of the cars is much much better. But what really makes this game stand out compared to its predecessors are the game modes that are additional to the standard 20 race career mode.

Season Challenge Mode is an enjoyable condensed version of a season where you race at random tracks with the aim of beating a rival. Once successful you have the option to drive in their seat at their team making the season more interesting as you can hop up and down the grid, with a fresh rival to beat at every other race.

There's also Champions Mode where there are six scenarios where you are placed against each of the F1 World Champions where you have so many laps to overcome a special circumstance, such as a safety car period, rain or a pit stop to beat them. The seventh scenario puts you against all 6 world champions in a race where you must beat them all.

Another nice touch is the Young Drivers Test which is basically a tutorial which allows you to master the controls and progress on to you career. More teams are available to drive for at the start of a season depending on how well you do here.

TV style commentary has also made a brief return with commentary snippets used before scenarios in season and champions challenge modes. It eradicates any loneliness felt in the last few games.

Penalties have also been improved dramatically, if you accidentally completely cut across a chicane the game automatically slows you done so you can't be penalised for cheating. If you continuously take too much kerb and effectively cut across a corner you will punished which is fair enough. The best feature though is the fact that if you over take somebody by cutting a bend you are asked to surrender back the position to you rival with a set time limit, a really nice feature.

My only grumble is the fact that the changeable weather in the races can cause problems. One moment the track is dry and then the next minute it starts raining and the track is wet, fair enough, but even though the track is wet you can continue racing on dry tyres for laps and laps, and if you were to pit for intermediates or wets you'd have no grip whatsoever. It is so unpredictable whether or not your tyres will work. Your engineer isn't much help either, as in one race at Malaysia, he kept on informing me that rain was due in five minutes, even though it was already chucking it down. Likewise in practice sessions and qualifying you have no idea what the state of the track is like as there is no option to view the cameras out on track to determine whether it is raining or not. You can view the race director page which enlightens you to what tyres the other cars are on, but surely there could be a better way of doing this? Fortunately you can switch the weather mode off.

But generally speaking this is by far the best f1 game out on the PlayStation, it is a vast improvement on last years title. Maybe next years game will be even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but frustrating!!, 20 Jun. 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F1 2012 (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is definitely a "step up" from the previous editions in the series, graphically it is great, and it is much more realistic in the sense that you cannot challenge the front runners in an inferior car as you could on the previous games, this is good, makes it much more real. However what frustrates me is how easily the "stewards" give penalties. It seems that if a car spins off anywhere near you, you will get a drive through pen, even if you didn't touch them, this is frustrating, infuriating!!

Overall however a good game, and good fun!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars F1 2012 review, 16 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: F1 2012 (PS3) (Video Game)
I have enjoyed the F1 games very much and have seen improvements every year, from not spinning out hitting a kerb to better penalty systems. This year their are more notable changes.

Summary of the game:
- Obviously being 2012 you get all the 2012 cars and tracks.
- Graphics have improved even more, not as pixelated.
- The sound is incredible, have had to turn the volume down a few times!
- Physics are very good, definitely no arcade handling here. You will notice this the most when you lose your front wing!
- DRS and KERS are included and can make the racing much more exciting.
- Young driver test is very useful for getting back in the racing seat, especially if you haven't played an F1 game for a while!
- Proving ground is good fun, can kill a few hours if you've got no internet.
- Haven't played the career mode so can't comment on that. I don't have the urge to go and play the career as you can already play with all the cars online. The career would gain my attention more if you had to unlock the teams before you play them online. Just a thought...
- Online has been used the most. You can have a lot of great fun in the races with many options to choose, from no. of laps to driving assists. It can also be challenging with the tasks of matching a race result (for example have to get 2nd place from starting at 6th), but does give you that motivation to push harder.
- However, I have found when searching for online parties that they don't update as quick as the races.On a few occasions I have clicked on a party that says "in lobby", yet when I join the party they are on lap 2, grrr! Also found the penalty system to be right MOST OF the time. Sometimes I feel it has been a bit unfair, but that's my opinion...

Overall, a very enjoyable game to play for the F1 enthusiasts and people who enjoy a good race. This should keep them busy till lights out in Australia next year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes Improvements In Some Area's But At The Same Time Has Lost Some, 7 Nov. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: F1 2012 (PS3) (Video Game)
New Menu System: In the previous F1 games we saw the paddock being the menu system. In this game they have done away with this and instead made it more simple by displaying a random F1 car that looks fantastic when you are on the menu. Some may not like this and I agree the paddock in F1 2011 was very well done it seems a shame that they have done away with it. One thing I have noticed though is while loading up F1 2012 it's much quicker probably because the menu is more simple.

Race Mode: You can still pick any car, driver, track and weather etc and race it at any length you want. However for those who liked doing the full weekend will be sad to hear Friday practice 1 and 2 have been removed you now only do 1 practice session then qualifying and the race. I don't know why Codemasters bothered removing it because these practice sessions are part of the real sport, I know its nothing major but still.

New Weather System: F1 2011 didn't really improve the weather much from 2010 but I can happily say in F1 2012 it has improved a lot. It does rain heavy at different parts of the track when a shower passes over and I've even noticed when it's partly cloudy some parts of the track go shaded for a while then back to sun. This may not be anything big but those little real life things make the game feel so much better. The game did have some bugs with the weather making it rain at every race during a career mode and the rain turning on suddenly but these issues have been fixed now.

Car Handling: Controller users often complained that it was too difficult to drive with well good news for them F1 2012 has improvements for controller users, the car handles so much better, but when there is a gain there is a loss for those who like to race on a wheel will notice it is way too sensitive, you can change your settings on the wheel to improve the handling but I think no matter what the controllers will have the upper hand on this one.

Challenges: This is a new addition to the game where you take on the world champions who are currently in the sport. This great to see they are trying new things and will help teach anyone with little knowledge about the sport.

Young Driver Test: When you start your career mode you get taken to Abu Dhabi to do a young driver test program. It's basically a tutorial on how to play it, those who have played the previous games will find it maybe a bit boring. Another bad thing is you can't skip the videos they play. So good for those new to F1 games but nothing there for previous gamer's.

Online: Seems pretty much the same, the penalty system I think is more strict and the first corner pile ups still occur but that's not the games fault, usually just bad drivers. At the moment a lot of people are complaining that there is a lot of bugs online with connection issues and other things that ruin the online play experience for some.

Career Mode: After the young driver test you can choose the HRT, Marussia, Caterham, Force India or Williams. But if you didn't do well then you will be forced to pick a slower car like the HRT. The good changes I see is they have got rid of the interviews they were pretty useless as they just asked you the same stuff all the time. The teammate challenge is still there. The bad things I have noticed is the emails about the tyre wear it's just the same email after every race that your tyre wear is great or okay.

AI Changes: The cars on the grid seem different now and act more aggressive and defensive. They also make more mistakes and crashes happen more often this is good to see a bit more realism.

Improvements:
1. Graphics look better also the frame rate is much smoother.
2. Audio sounds seem more realisitc.
3. Less loading screens and seems to load faster.
4. Weather system is very real life.
5. Car handling improved for controller users.
6. Seems more realisic if the car goes to far over the kerbs or on the grass you spin out like in real life.
7. If you run off the track it slows down the car so this stops anyone trying to skip corners and cheat.
8. New championship mode.
9. Split screen still there for 2 players.
10. Some of the tracks have had changes to them to make them more realisitc.

Things They Need To Add Or Fix:
1. When doing a hot lap in qualifying one time the game made my car a ghost car so a faster car could just drive
through me.
2. When a AI car is not on a hot lap they should move out the way like in the real sport but they act like they are racing you by defending and chase you around.
3. I've driven on most tracks in the time trial and accidentally skipped a corner I expected my lap to not be allowed but it was. In F1 2011 it was very strict but now it's more laid back about what you do in time trial.
4. Only 1 practice session now.
5. Still a lot of bugs and glitches to be fixed this game currently has had more patches than any other F1 game ever. Yet there are still problems.
6. Wheel users may be unhappy with how the car handles for them.
7. Still no podium cut scenes and no race commentary. Cut scenes are the exact same from F1 2011.

Overall: F1 fans should get this game but if you are new to it don't expect it to be arcade like this isn't that type of game. Codemasters have made good changes to how the game loads up quicker and easier to find your way around. Controller users are happy with the changes but have left the wheel users to sort out the problems for themselves. The game still has many issues that are likely to be fixed with patches over time but it's shocking to see them release a game with a lot of issues. A okay third attempt here but they really need to test the game more next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars F1 2012 Aftershock, 3 Nov. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: F1 2012 (PS3) (Video Game)
Overall the game doesn't let you down. Quite the opposite!
The only downside of it is that steering-wheel playability has changed from last year (F1 2011), in my opinion to worse.

It requires a lot of tweaking on the steering wheel settings.

Now that we got the steering-wheel playability issue out of the way we can focus on the AI and the penalties given to real players and the ones not given to computers controlled cars. You clearly see an improvement from last year but it still lacks something e.g.; if you break sooner than expected when going into a corner the other computer controlled cars will have no respect for that and just trample you in the process with no penalty what so ever whilst if you do the same you will get one for sure!

Console and PC graphs have improved a lot since last time around, PC as usual takes the most credit here. The feeling of racing is overwhelming good.
Once you get by the two issues above it really puts behind the F1 driver seat!

A really good game, I am just too demanding!

Miguel Gonçalves (aka Choca)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best f1 game so far, 28 Sept. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F1 2012 (PS3) (Video Game)
i have f1 10,11 and now 12. the graphics for this game are much better than 2011 as the tyres look more polished up and real whereas in 11 the tyres didnt look very tyre like. in 2012 you can change the fuel load from a fast fuel flow giving the car more power to a lower one for saving fuel. drs (drag reduction system) and kers are more advanced. you can also choose what tyres you use for your next pit stop. the brake pressure is another thing you can change from the front brakes taking more pressure to the rear ones. the sounds are more realistic and even on the easiest level if you go your fastest you can be quicker than the rest from about 2 to 3 seconds in Q 1,2 and 3 and about five in practise. at this level next years game should be the best racing game ever but until then this is!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 27 Sept. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F1 2012 (PS3) (Video Game)
this is just a brilliant game, the graphics are superb, it is the first f1 game that i have owned and i doubt it will be my last... addictive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 21 Sept. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F1 2012 (PS3) (Video Game)
Their are multiple improvements to gameplay, graphics and even new modes, this outshines F1 2011 and F1 2010 in every way. For example:

-Tutorial-
The game starts with a much needed tutorial or "Young Driver Test", in which they explain the dynamics of a Formula One car, which the former games needed like Will Smith's kids need to stop being in films.
-New Modes-
Season Mode which offers a shorter, unorthodox version of Formula One in which you must beat rivals in order to receive contract offers from larger teams. Despite being unlike the normal Formula One season, this proved to be challenging and more fun than a pot of jam and a space hopper combined. There's also a mode called Champions Mode, which I am yet to try, another way to keep the game fresh, as season after season of the same races can get repetitive. It looks pretty good though.
-Difficulty Settings-
=Medium=
The difficulty settings on the previous game were too easy on 'Easy' or 'Medium' and too hard on 'Hard'. Even playing on medium on F1 2012 does require some practice, and unlike the previous games it's not so easy to get to the front and gain a massive lead in a bottom of the tables car. Whereas in the previous game you could win all of the races of the season in an HRT or Toro Rosso, this time round the AI are a little more competitive and a podium is a struggle in a less competitive car.
=Hard=
On the previous games, it was ridiculous trying to control the car and race on hard mode as the car appeared to have very little downforce, even at high speed, and it felt like the rear wing was open all the time, but the car seems to have a little more traction and makes the game more enjoyable. Seriously, in the last game, the cars had less traction than a greased up Rick Martin moonwalking on a non-stick frying pan. Also, the fact that you have to race using manual gears means you have to learn which gear you need to be in on each corner, however in 2012, they provide a handy little red or green dot to tell you which gear you're supposed to be in. This can be turned off, but is useful and a huge time saver.
-Online-
The online gameplay is much the same as the previous games, most other players thinking that it's a game of Destruction Derby, which can get a little frustrating and the game hands out race time penalties like the Child Catcher hands out sweets, even if you're not at fault by standard F1 rules. However, they have removed the trophies for having to win 35 games online, replacing it with a "play 'X' online" trophy, which, for those concerned with trophies, is a massive improvement on the grind of F1 2011.

The game also sees an introduction of a new track, Austin, Texas 'The track of the Americas', which is a pretty good track all in all.
More importantly, however it also sees the re-introduction of the Bahrain International Circuit, omitted from the last game thanks to the riots, which is one of my favourites. The track that it is, not the riots.

Brilliant game. Five stars. If you like your F1, buy this game. And a potato. I named mine Kimi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

F1 2012 (PS3)
F1 2012 (PS3) by Codemasters Limited (PlayStation 3)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews