Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime!, 31 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Recorded a few weeks after the release of the seminal Fillmore East this performance compliments it wonderfully.It has the added bonus of being shorn of Whipping Post but has some fantastic versions of 'Statesboro Blues', 'Trouble No More', Don't Keep Me Wonderin', 'Done Somebody Wrong', 'Stormy Monday', 'One Way Out'. Duane Allman's slide is sublime - the phrasing,the energy and above all else his ability to construct soaring solos. The one extended track is 'You Don't Love Me' very similar to the Fillmore East version but subdivided on the packaging into 'You Don't Love Me - Soul Serenade - You Don't Love Me - Soul Serenade'.
Sound quality is excellent throughout although the packaging is minimalist - not a major issue as the performances are so good particularly the first seven tracks made up of the shorter songs.Buy with confidence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Keep Me Wonderin', 26 Mar 2012
By 
Fletch-a-sketch "Fletch" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow a prime slice of southern rock/blues with the original Allman Brothers band Line up, what could go wrong ?
Well absolutely nothing this sounds great , Originally professionally recorded for WPLJ FM radio broadcast this must be from the original tapes rather than an off air broadcast as its just plain wonderful, though the release Is not authorised by the band according to their website notice boards, it should be so that you to Left field media for getting this out, by what ever means.
The Allman brothers band have always been a band at their best on the Road, so these 'live recordings make an excellent accompaniment to the official Duane era band CDs 'Fillmore East', 'Atlanta Pop' and 'Ludlow Garage' (also available on Amazon), as well as the bands own bootleg albums. The performance shows just how good the first line up was this show highlighting the tighter side of the band though Elizabeth reed is still 12 minutes long. While the set lists did not change much each night the arrangements and order of songs changed considerably each night.
As a side note the 'You don't Love me /Soul serenade' medley which appears on here is the same as that which originally appeared on the 'Dreams' box set.
Grey market release this may be but for Allman Brothers fans I would recommend snapping this up quickly as I doubt it will be in print for very long and if its starts attracting prices that the 'Fillmore East Feb 70' set issued by the 'Grateful Deads' in house label in the 90s is getting now then you may regret not getting this especially at the bargain price that this is on Amazon today(March 2012)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars more archive heaven, 31 Mar 2012
By 
freewheeling frankie (north London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not quite sure how LFM get away with putting this stuff out, suffice to say that no US-based suppliers carry it. There clearly is some sort of loophole in EU or UK law regarding US recordings made specifically for radio broadcasts; it's interesting however that no one else appears to be taking such bold advantage of it. One can only speculate as to what legendary bootlegs of radio shows might get semi-legit release in the future.

Unlike some of LFM's releases (the Patti Smith one, for instance) this one sounds like it's been mastered from the original tapes and the sound is very bright and clear. They run through their standard set of the time, give or take Whipping Post, and interpolate Soul Serenade into the version of You Don't Love Me - rather pointlessly divided up into 4 tracks here. Duane Allman gives a very heartfelt spoken tribute to King Curtis before this track - Curtis had been murdered less than a fortnight before and Duane had played on at least one of his albums and attended his funeral, hence the inclusion of his signature tune Soul Serenade.

It's interesting to compare this set with the SUNY set from 24 days later. This one is of far superior sound quality but I would say quite a lot of SUNY, especially the shorter blues songs, shades it by virtue of a fiercer performance, as well as adding to the set list here with killer versions of Dreams and Blue Sky (but lacking Hot 'Lanta). However I prefer the version of You Don't Love Me here - it benefits from the inclusion of Soul Serenade and is less self indulgent. The two instrumentals (a relatively short In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed and a scorching Hot 'Lanta) are both extremely fine as well.

So in general, while some of the performances are merely very good, quite a lot of it's fabulous and at this price it's far too good to ignore. 4.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Fillmore?, 29 May 2012
By 
Kevin Weatherly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even if you have the double CD of the Fillmore concerts it's worthwhile adding this to your collection. The sound quality is great and the playing is superb, think of it as Fillmore condensed into one disk. Good value, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good music matures like wine, where the older, the better., 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How many years have passed, and this left us no mercifully brilliant guitarist Duane Allman? As I listen to his guitar solos, like I was floating on a magic carpet ride through the sky.
Everything is here described, so I can only encourage everyone to know this fantastic concert.
Good sound.
2012 Leftfield LFMCD522 / IFPI LD02 / 5J03
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the greatest dual guitarists of all time..!!!!, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a clean clear..great session...
if you love the allmans..you will love this,,,
in the history of music as for dual guitarists..yes there was Fleetwood Mac..Wishbone Ash..Gratedul Dead and even Lynyrd Skynyrd..and even Quicksilver Messenger Service..
but the very best and tightest were Dickie Betts and Duane Allman..No more need to be said..!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Driving at 80mph (or more) music, 29 Nov 2012
By 
Miss S. P. Wells "Penrose" (reigate surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hello. This is a scorcher from the Allmans and
I am a person who already has Live at the Fillmore.

The first few tracks are similar and I thought
I had made a boob in buying it but then the
music really takes off from track 5 One Way Out.
There is a version of Soul
Serenade which really should have become a proper
track for the group it has such a groove.
You Dont Love Me is the best track for guitar fiends.
Put this on and put your foot down. Bliss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music from a Great Band, 12 Sep 2013
By 
I. Macqueen "Iain Macqueen" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To hear the beautiful lead and slide guitar work from Duane Allman is truly a wonder and to listen to a great Allman Brothers band.
Equally the exceptional basswork of Berry Oakley - These musicians are sadly missed but thanfully we have some evidence of their talents.

I have long been a fan of the Allman Brothers band And Gregg Allman, Derek Trucks and all so to hear the Original band in full flow is wonderful indeed. Every track is alesson to be learned = Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Takes you with them every time!, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A & R Studios (MP3 Download)
All been said before I know but this is one of those albums which somehow had to be the way it is for us to measure others by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their finest moment?, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the perfect record that has the polish of the studio version and the spontaneity of the live recording. As a rule i prefer studio albums to live recordings. the studio is the sound the band tries to get to... the concert is the place to get the full atmosphere of a live set. However, there is a certain polish to this recording that reminds me of Thin Lizzy's Live & Dangerous. Having said all that, i prefer the Fillmore version of Liz Reed... that opening slide guitar and the lead breaks are better. The A&R album is tighter, no 20-odd minutes digressions... great live, on CD, hmmm?
If you are intrigued by the Allman Brothers and maybe purchasing a CD, i say they were the best blues-rock outfit of that 1969-71 period... outdoing, Led Zep; Purple; Steamhammer etc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae1169c8)

This product

A & R Studios
A & R Studios by The Allman Brothers Band
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews