Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2012
I don't normally write reviews but the one star review below prompted me to defend this excellent book. It's well written and exceptionally well referenced, Noakes lays out his case logically and methodically, with a body of evidence and data that really is hard to dispute.

As an endurance runner I've always believed in hydration, hydration, hydration. Since reading this book and further exploring the subject on the internet I've began taking less and less water and I've found now that on training runs around 2-3 hours I can go without really needing a sip, I still carry a small hand held water bottle for now. In competition in the past I have suffered very bad stomach problems that I put down to nerves, over eating, the sun... Many different reasons, but I never thought that it could have anything to do with the 2 litres of liquid sloshing around in my stomach...

I would seriously recommend this book to anyone who runs marathons or ultras and is looking to do this as healthily as possible.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
If, like me, you have been told to 'drink before you are thristy' so many times that you've internalised the message, then be prepared to be challenged. Noakes sets out an alternative approach - and provides plenty of evidence to justify his stance. Clearly written by an expert in his field, this book should be compulsory reading for coaches, race organisers and anyone serious about hydration strategies. And best of all, it's written in an accessible style, so you don't need a PhD in physiology to be able to understand it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2012
An amazing in-depth book about hydration, revealing the body's true need for hydration and the false information given to us by product companies.

I can exercise with confidence regarding hydration after reading this book. No more money wasting on sports drinks!

Listen to your body
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
Just buy "Challenging Beliefs" unless you are sports scientist. Challenging Beliefs has the summary information that athletes need on this topic and others. Or just buy Lore of Running which pretty much shadows what's in here, maybe excluding the advice on electrolytes.
33 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
I have Lore of Running which is an incredible book and a runners' must have. I knew then that Noakes leaves no stone unturned and analysis studies and reports in incredible detail.

As a keen marathon runner I thoroughly enjoyed this book and is a fantastic read and incredibly educational.

It is just a little long, chapters 8&9 could be reduced, and overall you could cut it by about 100 pages and it would still be a very detailed book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
If you really want to know the science behind how much you actually need to drink and why, there is no better book. The only downside to this book is well, it's a science book so it is a very dry read (no pun intended). The information is amazing and easy to understand but the book is best well read in small doses with a notebook and pen. Otherwise it's definitely a book that will stay in my collection to reference in the future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
Every coach and sport scientist MUST read this book.
If you believe yourself to be a free thinking, cutting edge professional, this is a must read.
It makes head turning statements which are impeccably argued with spot-on references.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
Loaded with important info for runners and ultrarunners. However, there seems to be quite a lot of repetition. It is sad to read how important scientific results are not published.

Must read for every serious runner.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
excellent book - would recommend any athlete to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)