Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC VALUE COLLECTION OF FOUR CLASSIC ALBUMS
This wonderful value box contains the 2009 remasters of Neil Young's first four classic studio albums. There is no elaborate packaging or retrospective book here, just the standard CDs housed in a simple slipcase. The remasters are a quantum leap from the original tinny CD issues Young so despised: wonderfully rich and detailed throughout, with limiting and compression...
Published on 11 Jun 2012 by Chankos

versus
58 of 90 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars just a problem, though...
Don't get me wrong, the four albums are among the best ones in music history, but this bundle doesn't have any booklet!! just one leaflet per album, with the cover on the front and the credits on the back, while the same CDs, if you buy them individually, have artwork and lyrics.
I understand all the rave reviews, but I'm reviewing the package here, not the music. I...
Published on 28 Jun 2012 by David Algranti


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC VALUE COLLECTION OF FOUR CLASSIC ALBUMS, 11 Jun 2012
This review is from: Official Release Series Discs 1-4 (Audio CD)
This wonderful value box contains the 2009 remasters of Neil Young's first four classic studio albums. There is no elaborate packaging or retrospective book here, just the standard CDs housed in a simple slipcase. The remasters are a quantum leap from the original tinny CD issues Young so despised: wonderfully rich and detailed throughout, with limiting and compression kept to a relative minimum.

This is an indispensible introduction to Neil Young's early work for any newcomers. Older fans who have somehow avoided picking up these CDs separately will find them a revelation. Best of all, this collection does exactly what it says on the tin: four great albums which have never sounded better, collected together at a ridiculously low price. What are you waiting for?!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes the originals sound dull and muffled, 13 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Release Series Discs 1-4 (Audio CD)
I've been comparing these 4 discs with the originals all evening, and it's pretty much a night and day difference. I was expecting an improvement because of the reviews I'd read here, but I wasn't expecting it to be so noticeable. The vocals no longer sound as if they're behind the instruments; they've been brought forward which makes the music sound much livelier as if Neil's playing a private concert for you.

There's much more depth to the remasters and instrument separation is much easier to pick out now. I listened on my main home system and also on headphones and I deleted the originals after a lengthy listening session! There's no way I could go back to them now. Right now I'm listening to 'I Believe in You' from 'After the Goldrush' and it's much fuller and warmer. It's like listening to a whole new Neil. The vocals are stunning. 'Down by the River' sounds amazing on headphones.

Very very happy with the sound quality and even happier with the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gold digging, 11 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Release Series Discs 1-4 (Audio CD)
So you can buy this box set for £9 and still people moan about missing booklets and words ?

Look - you get the first four albums as sounding as good as they're gonna get - you can't go very wrong can you ? The first two sound really improved, whilst I'm not noticing that much significant upgrade in Goldrush or Harvest, just sounding a little louder and bassy. Still can't hear Stills vocals on ATG tracks though.

The real jewel is his first solo album. Remember the first LP cuts of this ? How the vocals were non existent ?
This is really fabulous now - still my favourite album of his...

Here's to Box 2 - can we dare to hope for Time Fades Away and Journey through the Past ? Yes please Neil ...

Enjoy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Other established bands please note!, 13 Aug 2013
By 
VAB (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Release Series Discs 1-4 (Audio CD)
Neil's first four CDs for less than £10.00 (or a tad more) remastered by the man himself; what a bargain.

It puts bands like King Crimson (and I have to say, my all time favourites, Pink Floyd) to shame. Okay, so you bought a King Crimson vinyl LP (or a few more) many years ago. You then bought the first CD versions. Then guess what, you could then purchase an "original master edition", followed by a 30th anniversary edition, then the 40th! No doubt there will be 50th anniversary editions in due course (hope I'm still alive then!).

Pink Floyd, and many others, have done much the same. It's not as if they need the money!

It wouldn't be so bad if the band (and/or their record companies) followed Neil Young's lead and issued these reissues at "bargain basement prices". But no; if you wanted these when first issued you had to pay the "full price", unless you wait a few years for the price to fall slightly.

Then, for those who appear to have more money than sense, there are the "original boxed sets". Larks Tongues in Aspic, by King Crimson; 14 CDs for around £100.00 or more. What??!! With apologies to those who bought a copy. Perhaps I'm missing something?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LONG MAY YOUNG RUN .....A GOLD RUSH FOR FANS, 19 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Release Series Discs 1-4 (Audio CD)
For those of you whose knowledge of Youngs early work is a little bit hazy ,here you have an excellent to gain an insight to one of the great recording artists of all time.
NEIL YOUNG
"The emperor of Wyoming" starts of the album,an instrumental that sounds so good it could be on any of youngs more country style albums.
"The loner"is a slow rocker which sounds like Young in the "Buffalo Springfield "days.
"If i could have her tonight"another plaintive paen to long lost love,aalthough obviously early in Youngs carreer this shows great promise,strangely subdued performance.
"I've beeen waiting for you" reminds me of Cinnamon Girl" of which more later.
"The old laughing lady"is the first five minute plus track ,with Young in fine form.
"String quartet from Whiskey Boot Hill"is a very short instrumental track.
"Here we are in the years"is a quiet plaintive track.,a song about the worries of life.
"What did you do to my life?"a really lovely song full of Youngs trademark harmonic traits.
"I've loved her so long"is another short ssong,which wouldn@t have sounded out of place on "After the goldrush" the female singers sound out of place though.
"The last trip to Tulsa"is the epic of the album,nine minutes of pure magic,with young telling a long story of life.
A fairly good debut album that needs a couple of classics,like
EVERYBODY KNOWS THIS IS NOWHERE,Youngs second album
"Cinnamon girl" the first real classic,only bettered by the version on "Four way street"by Crosby,Stills,Nash and Young,still sounds good today,
"Everybody knows this is nowhere"is the title track and is one of the strongest tracks on the album ,it reflects an interest in country music that has run through his carreer.
"Round and round(it won't be so long)"a five minute song that all the musicians handle so well,this is a slow and mournful song.
"Down by the river" is another classic that should not be missed,a great way of spending nine minutes.
"The losing end(When you're on)"is a pure country and western song ,as only Young could perform.
"running dry(Requiem for the rockets)"again featuring a mournful,atmosphere,the tune seems familiar,but i can;t put a finger on it.
"Cowgirl in the sand" utterly brilliant.
This album has a number of songs on it,that would become maunstays of his repetoire,as did his next album,
AFTER THE GOLDRUSH
"Tell me why" a beautiful way to start this album.
"Only love can break your heart"sad and plaintive and wonderful
"Southern man"Lynryd Skynryds favourite track!
"Til the morning comes"another great song.
"Oh lonesome me"the only non original on the album.
"Don't let it bring you down" a truly great song.
"Birds" perhaps the best song on the album.
"When you dance i can really love"well worth listening to,for the beatle influence.
"I believe in you"another classic song.
"Cripple creek ferry"a short song to end a magnificent album which was followed by
HARVEST
"Out on the weekend",yet another top class song.
"Harvest" a classic in very sense of the word.
"A man needs a made" briliant,also have a listen to Rumers version on her new album.a shiver goes down my spine when i hear both versions,spellbinding.
"Heart of gold" Youngs biggest ever single.
"Are you ready for the country"is a country rocker
"Old Man" is just perfect,for lazy summer days.
"Theres a world" is another of this albums highly orchestrated tracks,wonderfully arranged and produced.

"Alabama"this albums "Southern Man"
"The needle and the damage done" the greatest anti drug song ever written.
"Words(between the lines of age)" at six minutes another class performance.
Well there you have it,a very good value for money package by one of the greatest n=musicians in the world

NEIL YOUNG
CRAZY HORSE

CD ONE.....36.25
CD TWO.....40.47
CD THREE....35.03
CD FOUR......37.47

RELEASED IN 2012

REPRISE RECORDS

"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for Neil Young fans!, 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Release Series Discs 1-4 (Audio CD)
Excellent value which I would thoroughly recommend to any Neil Young fan. Previously had the series on vinyl and was glad to be able to buy as a set at such a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't think, just buy, 30 Aug 2012
By 
Sean Murdock (Bergenfield NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Release Series Discs 1-4 (Audio CD)
Four classic albums, remastered beautifully - even though it's a format (CD) that Neil hates - for a stoopid-low price. The money you save on these albums can go towards the first Archives box set, which is a lot more expensive and doesn't include ALL the songs on these LPs. Just do it - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Show You The Way To Go..." - Official Release Series Discs 1-4 by NEIL YOUNG (2012 Reissue Box Set - 4 x 2009 HDCD), 27 Oct 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Official Release Series Discs 1-4 (Audio CD)
What we have here is a reissue. This June 2012 4CD set on Reprise 9362-49497-5 (Barcode 093624949756) bundles together the four August 2009 individual releases into a simple card slipcase - and as such represents seriously great value for money - both musically and on the old lugs. So what's on offer and what's the muss?

Over the last two decades in particular - Neil Young fans have had their reissue patience sorely tested by their moody overlord. He has famously resisted the remastered reissue of his huge catalogue on CD because of what he feels is the format's less than stellar representation of analogue tapes' 'original sound'. But you have to say right from the audio start of these August 2009 CD reissues/remasters - the wait for these first quartet of solo albums - "Neil Young", "Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere", "After The Gold Rush" and "Harvest" - has absolutely been worth the endless delays and press hissy fits. What a magnificent job his transfer teams have done here... JOHN NOWLAND carried out the Audio Tape Restoration and Analog-To-HDCD Digital Transfer of the Original Master Tapes (24-Bit 176 KHZ) with TIM MULLIGAN taking care of the Editing and Mastering. These remasters are not bombastically loud - trebled up to the nines for the sake of it - they're subtle - the music is just there in your speakers to a point where everything seems new and up for grabs again. Fans will love it and feel like they're revisited long cherished old friends - while newcomers will now understand what all the 5-star fuss is about. Now to the details - here are the Loners, Trips to Tulsa and Cinnamon Maids in need of a Man...

Disc 1 "Neil Young" (36:25 minutes):
1. The Emperor Of Wyoming
2. The Loner
3. If I Could Have Her Tonight
4. I've Been Waiting For You
5. The Old Laughing Lady
6. String Quartet From Whiskey Boot Hill
7. Here We Are In The Years
8. What Did You Do To My Life?
9. I've Loved Her So Long
10. The Last Trip To Tulsa

Written at the tender age of 23 - his debut has been eclipsed by the more illustrious "Gold Rush" and "Harvest" - but real fans will want to start here. While I can live without the countrified "Emperor Of Wyoming" - I still find "The Loner" astonishing in the way that the first Zeppelin album is - powerful, punchy and still rocking today. It's kind of shocking that even though Reprise coupled it with "Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere" as it's B-side - it failed as a UK 7" single on Reprise RS 23045 in September 1969. I love the Jack Nitzsche arrangements on the magical "The Old Laughing Lady" with Ry Cooder on Guitar and the wonderful singer Merry Clayton on Backing Vocals. The channel separation is harsh (the way it was recorded) but the clarity is fabulous. "What Did You Do To My Life" sounds like a top Buffalo Springfield outtake from their patchy 3rd album while the acoustic guitars on the epic "The Last Trip To Tulsa" are so clear - as is his warbling treated vocals - frail and aching. What I love about this remaster is that its somehow brought the album alive - and now begs rediscovery...

Disc 2 "Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere" (40:47 minutes):
1. Cinnamon Girl
2. Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere
3. Round & Round (It Won't Be Long)
4. Down By The River
5. The Losing End (When You're On) [Side 2]
6. Running Dry (Requiem For The Rockets)
7. Cowgirl In The Sand

His 2nd solo album after Buffalo Springfield - "Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere" was released in May 1969 on Reprise Records RS 6349 in the USA and July 1969 in the UK on Reprise RSLP 6349. This 2009 `Neil Young Archives - Original Release Series' CD Remaster on Reprise 9362-49790-3 (Barcode 093624979036) is Disc 2 of 4 and carries the HDCD code on the label and rear inlay (High Density Compact Disc). The inlay reproduces photos of Danny Whitten (Guitar), Billy Talbot (Bass) with Ralph Molina (on Drums) and David Briggs (Engineer and Producer) - but there are no lyrics.

Niggles - the big disappointment is the complete lack of musical extras or even any new info in the booklet - and in the case of this album in particular the omissions are going to be a sore point for fans who've waited decades for these releases. While some rarities have turned up on the 2009 mega box set "The Archives Vol.1 1963-1972" - some tracks are still missing. "Down By The River" was edited for single release in the UK in August 1970 on RS 23462 with an alternate take of "Cinnamon Girl" on the B-side. To my knowledge neither is available in remastered sound anywhere. Also - "Oh Lonesome Me" was extended for the US 7" and it's B-side - an alternate mix of "I've Been Waiting For You" is again a no-show. All of them would have made for ideal extras material and it's infuriating that they're not on here. Still - at mid price - this remaster of "Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere" is great value for money and with this hugely upgraded sound - makes you focus on the music as is and not anything else.

The sound is especially good on the big rocking tracks like "Down By The River" and the near 10-minute "Cowgirl In The Sand" - while the clarity is just beautiful on Richie Furay's "Round And Round (It Won't Be Long)" - Robin Lane's duet vocals being particularly lovely. Bobby Notkoff's violin on "Running Dry" is very clear - and as the band loosely ramshackles its way into the song - it sounds like they're in your living room - miked up and live - fabulous stuff. On to album three...

Disc 3 "After The Gold Rush" (35:03 minutes):
1. Tell Me Why
2. After The Gold Rush
3. Only Love Can Break Your Heart
4. Southern Man
5. Till The Morning Comes
6. Oh Lonesome Me
7. Don't Let It Bring You Down
8. Birds
9. When You Dance, I Can Really Love
10. I Believe In You
11. Cripple Creek

"After The Gold Rush" was released in September 1970 on Reprise Records MS 6383 in the USA and Reprise RSLP 6383 in the UK (it went to Number 8 in the USA and Number 7 in the UK). This 2009 `Neil Young Archives - Original Release Series' remaster on Reprise 9362-49790-1 (Barcode 093624979012) is Disc 3 of 4 (HDCD details as above).

Again so many audio highlights - the meaty guitars of "Southern Man" and the harmonica and rhythm section on the slyly lovely cover of Don Gibson's "Oh Lonesome Me". But then there's a triple whammy of audio brilliance on "Don't Let It Bring You Down", the beautiful "Birds" (lyrics above) and the rocking "When You Dance, I Can Really Love". Each is so beautifully done but in different ways. There's now a lovely intimacy on "Tell Me Why" and "Only Love Can Break Your Heart" too. Sweet as...and leading up to...

Disc 4 "Harvest" (37:47 minutes):
1. Out On The Weekend
2. Harvest
3. A Man Needs A Maid
4. A Heart Of Gold
5. Are You Ready For The Country?
6. Old Man
7. There's A World
8. Alabama
9. The Needle And The Damage Done
10. Words (Between The Lines Of Age)

His 4th solo (and some feel his best) "Harvest" was released in February 1972 on Reprise Records MS 2032 in the USA and K 54005 in the UK (it went to Number 1 in both countries and many others around the world). This 2009 `Neil Young Archives - Original Release Series' on Reprise 9362-49789-9 (Barcode 093624978992) is Disc 4 of 4 (HDCD details as above).

From the second that the drums, acoustic guitar and low harmonica kick in with the opener "Out On The Weekend" - the audio can only be described as beautiful. The shuffle of "Harvest" now boats the same clarity - but things really go into the fidelity stratosphere with the strings on "A Man Needs A Maid" (The London Symphony Orchestra arranged by Jack Nitzsche) - wow! David Crosby and Graham Nash puts in harmony vocals on "Are You Ready For The Country" while James Taylor and Linda Ronstadt do backing vocals on the gorgeous "Old Man". The muscle from Stephen Stills' guitar on "Alabama" grunges and rocks with Neil's superb lead while Nash and Stills add layers to the finisher "Words (Between The Lines Of Age)" (lyrics from it title this review).

Relistening to these four albums in a row is a revelatory experience. "Gold Rush" and "Harvest" have always received the plaudits - but now the first two have been given a new lease of life by these transfers - and I'm returning to them more - which is surely what a good remaster should make you do...and all of it is available for under a ten spot from most retailers...

The gold sticker on the jewel case of each of these issues says "Because Sound Matters" - and I think Rock's great curmudgeon was right to wait until he got it right...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best sounding versions of Neil's first four albums., 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The gold HDCD releases of Neil Young, Everybody knows , After the Goldrush & Harvest are much better than the previous editions (CD) that I already owned with much more bottom end and warmth in the vocals. If you are a fan you need to hear these releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neil Young Official Release Series Discs 1-4, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Release Series Discs 1-4 (Audio CD)
Brilliant. get in touch with real music even if it is from the past, crystal clear different versions of great songs.
Neil Young gets more emotion in one guitar note and his song then any one current
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Official Release Series Discs 1-4
Official Release Series Discs 1-4 by Neil Young (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews