Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC VALUE COLLECTION OF FOUR CLASSIC ALBUMS
This wonderful value box contains the 2009 remasters of Neil Young's first four classic studio albums. There is no elaborate packaging or retrospective book here, just the standard CDs housed in a simple slipcase. The remasters are a quantum leap from the original tinny CD issues Young so despised: wonderfully rich and detailed throughout, with limiting and compression...
Published on 11 Jun 2012 by Chankos

versus
58 of 90 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars just a problem, though...
Don't get me wrong, the four albums are among the best ones in music history, but this bundle doesn't have any booklet!! just one leaflet per album, with the cover on the front and the credits on the back, while the same CDs, if you buy them individually, have artwork and lyrics.
I understand all the rave reviews, but I'm reviewing the package here, not the music. I...
Published on 28 Jun 2012 by David Algranti


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC VALUE COLLECTION OF FOUR CLASSIC ALBUMS, 11 Jun 2012
This review is from: Official Release Series Discs 1-4 (Audio CD)
This wonderful value box contains the 2009 remasters of Neil Young's first four classic studio albums. There is no elaborate packaging or retrospective book here, just the standard CDs housed in a simple slipcase. The remasters are a quantum leap from the original tinny CD issues Young so despised: wonderfully rich and detailed throughout, with limiting and compression kept to a relative minimum.

This is an indispensible introduction to Neil Young's early work for any newcomers. Older fans who have somehow avoided picking up these CDs separately will find them a revelation. Best of all, this collection does exactly what it says on the tin: four great albums which have never sounded better, collected together at a ridiculously low price. What are you waiting for?!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes the originals sound dull and muffled, 13 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Release Series Discs 1-4 (Audio CD)
I've been comparing these 4 discs with the originals all evening, and it's pretty much a night and day difference. I was expecting an improvement because of the reviews I'd read here, but I wasn't expecting it to be so noticeable. The vocals no longer sound as if they're behind the instruments; they've been brought forward which makes the music sound much livelier as if he's playing a private concert for you.

There's much more depth to the remasters and instrument separation is much easier to pick out now. I listened on my main home system and also on headphones and I deleted the originals after a lengthy listening session! There's no way I could go back to them now. Right now I'm listening to 'I Believe in You' from 'After the Goldrush' and it's much fuller and warmer. It's like listening to a whole new Neil. The vocals are stunning. 'Down by the River' sounds amazing on headphones.

Very very happy with the sound quality and even happier with the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gold digging, 11 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Release Series Discs 1-4 (Audio CD)
So you can buy this box set for £9 and still people moan about missing booklets and words ?

Look - you get the first four albums as sounding as good as they're gonna get - you can't go very wrong can you ? The first two sound really improved, whilst I'm not noticing that much significant upgrade in Goldrush or Harvest, just sounding a little louder and bassy. Still can't hear Stills vocals on ATG tracks though.

The real jewel is his first solo album. Remember the first LP cuts of this ? How the vocals were non existent ?
This is really fabulous now - still my favourite album of his...

Here's to Box 2 - can we dare to hope for Time Fades Away and Journey through the Past ? Yes please Neil ...

Enjoy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Other established bands please note!, 13 Aug 2013
By 
VAB (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Release Series Discs 1-4 (Audio CD)
Neil's first four CDs for less than £10.00 (or a tad more) remastered by the man himself; what a bargain.

It puts bands like King Crimson (and I have to say, my all time favourites, Pink Floyd) to shame. Okay, so you bought a King Crimson vinyl LP (or a few more) many years ago. You then bought the first CD versions. Then guess what, you could then purchase an "original master edition", followed by a 30th anniversary edition, then the 40th! No doubt there will be 50th anniversary editions in due course (hope I'm still alive then!).

Pink Floyd, and many others, have done much the same. It's not as if they need the money!

It wouldn't be so bad if the band (and/or their record companies) followed Neil Young's lead and issued these reissues at "bargain basement prices". But no; if you wanted these when first issued you had to pay the "full price", unless you wait a few years for the price to fall slightly.

Then, for those who appear to have more money than sense, there are the "original boxed sets". Larks Tongues in Aspic, by King Crimson; 14 CDs for around £100.00 or more. What??!! With apologies to those who bought a copy. Perhaps I'm missing something?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sound Quality 5/5, Packaging 3/5, 26 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Release Series Discs 1-4 (Audio CD)
Best sound I've ever heard from a CD and I've heard plenty....

even enjoyed the few songs I hadn't cared for earlier!

The CDs have the original "Reprise Records" label for the track listing and info... very nice.

Cd packaging is cheap (no lyrics/extras) The jewel cases are annoying (as always) and one arrived broken.

For this price though.. amazing deal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LONG MAY YOUNG RUN .....A GOLD RUSH FOR FANS, 19 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Release Series Discs 1-4 (Audio CD)
For those of you whose knowledge of Youngs early work is a little bit hazy ,here you have an excellent to gain an insight to one of the great recording artists of all time.
NEIL YOUNG
"The emperor of Wyoming" starts of the album,an instrumental that sounds so good it could be on any of youngs more country style albums.
"The loner"is a slow rocker which sounds like Young in the "Buffalo Springfield "days.
"If i could have her tonight"another plaintive paen to long lost love,aalthough obviously early in Youngs carreer this shows great promise,strangely subdued performance.
"I've beeen waiting for you" reminds me of Cinnamon Girl" of which more later.
"The old laughing lady"is the first five minute plus track ,with Young in fine form.
"String quartet from Whiskey Boot Hill"is a very short instrumental track.
"Here we are in the years"is a quiet plaintive track.,a song about the worries of life.
"What did you do to my life?"a really lovely song full of Youngs trademark harmonic traits.
"I've loved her so long"is another short ssong,which wouldn@t have sounded out of place on "After the goldrush" the female singers sound out of place though.
"The last trip to Tulsa"is the epic of the album,nine minutes of pure magic,with young telling a long story of life.
A fairly good debut album that needs a couple of classics,like
EVERYBODY KNOWS THIS IS NOWHERE,Youngs second album
"Cinnamon girl" the first real classic,only bettered by the version on "Four way street"by Crosby,Stills,Nash and Young,still sounds good today,
"Everybody knows this is nowhere"is the title track and is one of the strongest tracks on the album ,it reflects an interest in country music that has run through his carreer.
"Round and round(it won't be so long)"a five minute song that all the musicians handle so well,this is a slow and mournful song.
"Down by the river" is another classic that should not be missed,a great way of spending nine minutes.
"The losing end(When you're on)"is a pure country and western song ,as only Young could perform.
"running dry(Requiem for the rockets)"again featuring a mournful,atmosphere,the tune seems familiar,but i can;t put a finger on it.
"Cowgirl in the sand" utterly brilliant.
This album has a number of songs on it,that would become maunstays of his repetoire,as did his next album,
AFTER THE GOLDRUSH
"Tell me why" a beautiful way to start this album.
"Only love can break your heart"sad and plaintive and wonderful
"Southern man"Lynryd Skynryds favourite track!
"Til the morning comes"another great song.
"Oh lonesome me"the only non original on the album.
"Don't let it bring you down" a truly great song.
"Birds" perhaps the best song on the album.
"When you dance i can really love"well worth listening to,for the beatle influence.
"I believe in you"another classic song.
"Cripple creek ferry"a short song to end a magnificent album which was followed by
HARVEST
"Out on the weekend",yet another top class song.
"Harvest" a classic in very sense of the word.
"A man needs a made" briliant,also have a listen to Rumers version on her new album.a shiver goes down my spine when i hear both versions,spellbinding.
"Heart of gold" Youngs biggest ever single.
"Are you ready for the country"is a country rocker
"Old Man" is just perfect,for lazy summer days.
"Theres a world" is another of this albums highly orchestrated tracks,wonderfully arranged and produced.

"Alabama"this albums "Southern Man"
"The needle and the damage done" the greatest anti drug song ever written.
"Words(between the lines of age)" at six minutes another class performance.
Well there you have it,a very good value for money package by one of the greatest n=musicians in the world

NEIL YOUNG
CRAZY HORSE

CD ONE.....36.25
CD TWO.....40.47
CD THREE....35.03
CD FOUR......37.47

RELEASED IN 2012

REPRISE RECORDS

"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for Neil Young fans!, 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Release Series Discs 1-4 (Audio CD)
Excellent value which I would thoroughly recommend to any Neil Young fan. Previously had the series on vinyl and was glad to be able to buy as a set at such a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't think, just buy, 30 Aug 2012
By 
Sean Murdock (Bergenfield NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Release Series Discs 1-4 (Audio CD)
Four classic albums, remastered beautifully - even though it's a format (CD) that Neil hates - for a stoopid-low price. The money you save on these albums can go towards the first Archives box set, which is a lot more expensive and doesn't include ALL the songs on these LPs. Just do it - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best sounding versions of Neil's first four albums., 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The gold HDCD releases of Neil Young, Everybody knows , After the Goldrush & Harvest are much better than the previous editions (CD) that I already owned with much more bottom end and warmth in the vocals. If you are a fan you need to hear these releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neil Young Official Release Series Discs 1-4, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Release Series Discs 1-4 (Audio CD)
Brilliant. get in touch with real music even if it is from the past, crystal clear different versions of great songs.
Neil Young gets more emotion in one guitar note and his song then any one current
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Official Release Series Discs 1-4
Official Release Series Discs 1-4 by Neil Young (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews