Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid b-movie fare from Merton Park Studios
Between 1962 and 1967, thirteen short films were made in The Scales of Justice series. Destined for theatrical release as support features, they went on to garner a modest cult status when they were later screened on television.

Although The Scales of Justice has never had the status of other Merton Park productions of the time, such as the Edgar Wallace...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scales of Justice
I enjoyed the DVD it was a good reminder of when I was young and used to watch these late at night with my dad.Some very young tv stars of the future too.
Published 12 months ago by NEALE


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent vintage television drama, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scales of Justice - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
A good value package of excellent short crime dramas presented in a semi-documentary style. Great to see some famous names at the early stages of their careers. The theme tune by The Tornados is a gem as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Justice at last now these classics are available, 20 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scales of Justice - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Like many, I have been waiting for these 60s classics to be released and now we have them all together in one package. Each episode is truly great nostalgic entertainment for anyone who can remember them first time around.
However, I do have two small criticisms.
Firstly, the sound quality on a couple of the color episodes is a little dissappointing.
Secondly, why do STUDIO-CANAL have to put their 20 second advertising logo film at the start of every episode
rather than just once at the start of the DVD? I find it rather annoying continually seeing this so many times
throughout a single DVD. Obviously, STUDIO-CANAL are one of those awful new companies who want to keep reminding
people they own the material. Additionally, I find the STUDIO-CANAL advertising film rather unpleasant (the clouded sky with the strange and disconcerting sounds)anyone else agree with me?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Merton Park winner from Network, 12 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. P. Johnson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scales of Justice - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
"The Scales of Justice" had a shorter run than Edgar Lustgarten's "Scotland Yard", but for my money it's the better series. A stirring opening ("Wherever men live and work, one priceless possession makes civilised existence possible: the rule of law."), excellent stories with plenty of familiar British actors, and some lovely location views of early Sixties Britain. The crimes dealt with include adultery, fraud, kidnapping, libel, and in "Payment In Kind", an ahead of its time treatment of rape. Technical quality is superb - the final four episodes, made in colour, look a bit softer than the b&w episodes, but I think that was always the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
By 
Mr. W. C. Redman "PIKA POWER" (Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scales of Justice - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
this was an excellent series, i thoroughly enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars scales of justice, 17 Jun 2014
By 
R. Pearce "Bob Pearce" (Londinium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scales of Justice - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent series , presented by that master of criminology - Edgar Lustgarten. It is good to see faces from the past , who have been all but forgotten . My wife and I have a contest to see who can remember the names. Excellent service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good purchase, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scales of Justice - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Again another good set of an old series produced on DVD. It was good viewing years ago and
it will be to view them all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good value,!, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scales of Justice - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Watched all the films on the 2 DVDs. Enjoyed most of them, however the music was a little repetitive, and for each film you had to watch the same introduction prior to the start of each film. Having said that I am glad that I purchased this DVD set, as it recalled memories of my youth.
Overall quite pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD package, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scales of Justice - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Don't take any notice of the reviews that tell you the sound is bad. Both the sound and the picture is far better than some of the modern rubbish we are seeing to day. Me and my wife have just watched the first disc, so if the second one is anything to go by, then this will be one of the best buys we have had for a long time. I will do a second part to this once we have seen the next disc.

You have to understand than this was made for an audience over 50 years ago, I doubt that some of the the tripe we are seeing to day will stand the test of time like this has.

British-Crime at it's very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 5 Mar 2014
By 
Ga Noble - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scales of Justice - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Because in was really entertaining and great to watch the old ones are the best should be more programs like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scales of Justice- The Complete Series DVD, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scales of Justice - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This series is interesting, as it shows how life was in the early 60s, when it was made,interesting fashions too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scales of Justice - The Complete Series [DVD]
Scales of Justice - The Complete Series [DVD] by Norman Harrison (DVD - 2012)
7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews