Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Still as quirky, edgy, insightful and funny as ever!
While I admit to wondering how long it will be before this brilliant sitcom passes the point of no return and starts to wear a bit thin, particularly with regard to storylines, I really don't think we're there yet by any means, and as such I do not agree with the more critical reviews of this latest series.

You can analyse anything to death, especially a...
Published 19 months ago by Biggis

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starting to wain
As much as we Peep Show, I think we'll all agree that the show is feeling a little tired now it's in its 8th series. Mark is trying to encourage Dobby to move in, while Jeremy's become obsessed with her; thats basically the overall story arc and it doesn't really go anywhere. In series 7 Mark became a Dad, and you'd expect his new found fatherhood would have become a...
Published 4 months ago by John P. Galantini


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
As good as you would expect it to be. Added to the collection of the other seven. Would buy more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Doesn't get much better than this. Easily as strong as the other series. All Mitchell and Webb fans need to see this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mark and Jeremy at it again! Brilliant., 14 Mar 2013
By 
D. M. Lawrie (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Follow Mark, Jeremy, Dobbie and SuperHans for another great series of Peep Show. Lewd, crude and always hilarious!
You'll be quoting lines and watching it more than once for sure. Can't wait for them to do a Series 9!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peep Show - Series 8. Still going strong and still as funny as ever, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
How can a show still be this good after 8 series?

Mark is on the verge of taking his relationship with Dobbie a step further by getting her to move in and getting Jeremy his long time "best friend" and flatmate to move out. Along the way Jeremy decides to visit a therapist (there's a hilarious meeting in the therapist's office) and then becomes a life style coach with predictably disasterous results. Mark realises a dream by gettting his book; "Busines Secrets of the Pharoes" published, only to find that the publisher is a fly by night con man operating out of a lock up. He also goes to work as a bathroom salesman only to find that he's really not cut out for it and then has to suffer the ignomy of being passed over for a management job in favour of "Super Hans" - JLB is just a different memory.

As usual we get to hear the guys internal thoughs, which are as funny as always. The perfomances from Robert Webb and David Mitchell are excellent and well supported by the wonderful Isy Suttie as Dobbie and Matt King as Super Hans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back To Its Best, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm afraid I don't agree with some of the more sceptical views of the new series. It's not that I am completely biased in the show's favour because I thought Series 7 was a relatively weak Peep Show effort. It wasn't terrible but the plot was a little pedestrian. However, with an extra year to come up with the themes and ideas for Series 8, I think Peep Show is back to its scorching best.

Packed from start to finish with hilarious throw-away comments and internal musings, Peep Show has always been one of the only programmes which actually improves when watched a second time since it allows the viewer to focus on the script which can be hard when initially watching the show and trying to take in the winding plot lines. But this series has the best of both worlds; the story lines created are more believable and naturally amusing than the last season.

People argue that after 8 series, the Peep Show `premise' is becoming stale, but I think this is harsh. American sitcoms have at least a dozen episodes a season, and still run for longer than your average British equivalent. Peep Show would barely have completed three series in an American setting, and would be considered at the peak of its power.

While Jesse Armstrong and Sam Bain are still the main writers, in recent series they have allowed Simon Blackwell to write one episode (episode 4 this year), and this season Tom Basden wrote an episode too (episode 5). But the two best episodes are the first and last (1 + 6), which both have some wonderfully awkward twists which come to a climax exquisitely (especially in the season finale).

It is a shame that characters such as a Jeff and Johnson are reduced to cameos but increased roles for Dobbie and Super Hans are very welcome.

I feel people see that it is one of the longest running shows in the UK and then start looking for recurrences and sub-par material almost as if it is inevitable after 48 episodes. But the writing is as solid as ever, and the series ends in mayhem, leaving me personally gagging for Series 9.

Long live the El Dude Brothers. Ehhhh. Ehh. Ehhhhh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peep Show Series 8, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Two years is too long to wait... however in my opinion that two year wait has given time for better writing. The story line has somehow vastly better than any other series! Nothing much changes (which is good): Mark and Jeremy remain polar opposites; both of them still remain somewhat unlucky (which is the comedy of it) and Mark remains very dry and cynical. 5 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy gold!, 4 Feb 2013
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
An absolute British gem! Just a brilliant and funny as the pervious 7 seasons. Original and addictive, can't recommend Peep Show enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it . ., 16 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Grant Saunders (East Grinstead, West Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Have them all, had seen the series (and recorded it) on Sky, but just had to have it to keep the set at 100% level, i love this series, can watch it time and time again . . . . series 9 ???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recurring annoyances stripped to make the show almost faultless., 29 Dec 2012
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
The flaws of previous seasons have been removed, and people seem to think this makes the show worse.
It does not have the annoying minor characters such as Jeff, Johnson or Big Suze, and the boring theme of Jez and Super Hans as drugged up musicians has gone (which was funny for about 3 episodes and was as clichéd as hell).

Dobby was a bit of a bore though. Although I do thinks she's adorable, I feel that this should be her final appearance on the show, as she does not have many interesting lines, and doesn't really contribute much to the plot. This is noticeable quite early on, but there is enough going on elsewhere that it doesn't matter at all much, (but she should probably go soon).

Despite the few changes the show is still hilarious, sharply written, etc, etc. If you have seen Peep Sow before, you know what to expect. Still the best show on TV, and if anything it's improved with age. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still holds the magic, 25 Dec 2012
By 
Aaron J. Law "Aaron Law" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
We have been spoilt for 8 series and if this one was the first people would be raving about it.

It is another set of solid performances with lots of moments of comedy gold throughout!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD]
Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] by David Mitchell (DVD - 2012)
7.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews