Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good
Mitchell and Webb have always had a seriously good on screen chemistry together, since they both attended Cambridge University. Peep Show is just one of those shows that takes a genuinely believable friendship and throws in all the trials and tribulations of modern day life as well as the problems they not only create for themselves, through their lack of social skills...
Published 4 months ago by Amazon customer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The end of an era
Such a crying shame that Peep Show has gone from brilliant to terrible in the space of one series. I've waited quite a while to post this review as I wanted to give series 8 another chance, thinking that maybe it was my high expectations that caused my first, extremely disappointed reaction. It wasn't. This really is a poor series. Everything I've read in other negative...
Published 6 months ago by Edwin Page


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The end of an era, 25 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Such a crying shame that Peep Show has gone from brilliant to terrible in the space of one series. I've waited quite a while to post this review as I wanted to give series 8 another chance, thinking that maybe it was my high expectations that caused my first, extremely disappointed reaction. It wasn't. This really is a poor series. Everything I've read in other negative reviews is spot on and there's little I can add.

None of the plot threads are convincing, the characters are actually out of character and there's lots of things that don't make sense or just strike me as lazy writing (the employment of Andy by Mark is complete tosh). What did we all love about Hans? His edgy, drug taking, self-deluded musical genius character, and here it's all been stripped away. What did we like about Dobby? Her sweet, quirky and nerdy persona, which again has been shredded. We liked Sophie and Jeff's inclusion, along with Johnson's appearances - well, it's almost as if they've been deleted from existence.

For me, Peep Show ended with the New Years Eve episode of series 7. That's it. I would have to hear some amazing feedback if they ever made series 9 to even think of watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 28 Feb. 2015
By 
Amazon customer (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Mitchell and Webb have always had a seriously good on screen chemistry together, since they both attended Cambridge University. Peep Show is just one of those shows that takes a genuinely believable friendship and throws in all the trials and tribulations of modern day life as well as the problems they not only create for themselves, through their lack of social skills but for one another too. The comedy can be bold, brazen and offensive while the point of view camera used really helps hammer home not only the emotion of some scenes but the driving reality which was the fuel for this show. The characters are well devised without being too over the top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good, 20 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched every other season of Peep show , obviously I wanted to watch this one but I've got to say it really wasn't as good as previous seasons , maybe the format is getting tired or maybe it's come to a natural end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but starting to run out of steam, 10 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a huge fan of the Peep Show but even I'm starting to think that it might be time to call quits. What was once unique about the show has now been done to death. Still some laugh out loud moments but fewer and far between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, 30 Aug. 2014
By 
The Wanderer (Far below the soil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Peep show was long in the tooth even by season 5, but this season really is a bridge too far. Save your money and go the the pub instead, at least the stories will be believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starting to wain, 6 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
As much as we Peep Show, I think we'll all agree that the show is feeling a little tired now it's in its 8th series. Mark is trying to encourage Dobby to move in, while Jeremy's become obsessed with her; thats basically the overall story arc and it doesn't really go anywhere. In series 7 Mark became a Dad, and you'd expect his new found fatherhood would have become a focus of the programme, but apart from a brief appearance in the first episode, Mark's baby isn't seen or mentioned again for the rest of the series. It feels as though the writers have got lazy and are trying to avoid sleeping in the bed they've shat. Laughs aren't as thick and fast as they were in series 7 and this generally feels like the weakest series to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 73 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Easily the weakest series of Peep Show., 26 Dec. 2012
By 
Zeke Pliskin (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Would I recommend ordering this latest season of Peep Show? No, I would not. For a long and detailed explanation of why not (which DOES CONTAIN VERY LARGE SPOILERS), read on. For a medium-sized version, skip to the conclusion.

Although Becky Martin and her crew does their usual fantastic job of directing and editing the episodes (I saw these at 1080i on 4HD via Freesat and they are incredibly well shot) there are some severe problems with the writing and acting here. Let's explore.

Plot threads are picked up and dropped seemingly at random. In previous series almost everything would be resolved by the end of the episode/series, or in some cases previous series plot points would come back to haunt the main characters in a later series to great effect. But here there isn't really any cohesion or logic to the writing. At the conclusion of all but the first generally excellent episode where Gerrard pops his clogs I found myself thinking things like "where did that character end up?", "why was he/she behaving so out-of-character", "did they ever solve that problem?" or "what an unsatisfying conclusion to the episode!" This was because the highly focused quality I'd come to expect from Peep Show was spread so thin as to be missing entirely. And it gets worse.

Previous characters are brought back as before, but other than in the case of Gerrard these reappearances were not handled well. These returning old faces struck me as cheap ways for the writers to pad out the episodes with meaningless subplots which a) didn't intertwine neatly with the main plots and/or b) weren't strong enough to stand on their own. I'll break them down for you:

* Johnson appeared once and was too mean and out-of-character even for him. What a waste of Paterson Joseph's formidable acting skills and the derailment of a previously pivotal character.
* Super Hans was supposed to be a rehabilitated bathroom fittings salesman but in a later episode Jez contradicted that by saying he was still on drugs to create an unfunny throwaway joke. In removing the more extreme side of Hans' personality they have removed all the fun of the character - he's basically just a weak mix of Jez and Mark now.
* Andy the carpenter who was hired by Jez to fix the bathroom door Super Hans had broken in the series three episode "Shrooming" was suddenly hired by Mark to repaint the flat. (Why would he hire Andy, who made a complete mess of things last time? Jeremy might be that stupid, but Mark isn't supposed to be.) His appearances this time turn him from a slightly troubled bloke doing a job into a one-dimensional borderline psycho.
* Mark's charming and slightly devious ex-wife Sophie doesn't appear at all which is a shame as this series could really have used Olivia Colman's warmth and acting chops.
* Other characters you might have expected to appear such as Big Suze, Nancy and Elena never do, although Gail is brought back in a very brief appearance that misses a golden comedic opportunity: having her tell a room full of people that she fired Mark for urinating into the soup at her restaurant when he worked there.
* Most galling of all, the "Mark and Sophie's baby" subplot is disposed of entirely with the all-too-brief appearance of Jeff Heaney, who picks little Ian up from Mark's flat during the first episode. In a classic case of sloppy writing, after this happens neither are seen, heard from or mentioned again. I was looking forward to seeing how Mark's baby fit into his new cohabiting relationship with Dobby, as were many people I expect, but I suppose now we'll never know.

And it gets worse still.

Although Dobby gets a lot of screen time her character has gone from sweet, sensible and fun to whiny, flat and uninteresting. There's no chemistry between Dobby and Mark and their scenes together are painful to watch, but not in the brilliant black comedy way we've come to expect from Peep Show - it's all cringe, no laughs. In fact even the lynchpin of the series, the usually fascinating co-dependent and pseudo-homoerotic Mark and Jeremy relationship which has been both hilarious and charming in the past is almost completely absent in series eight. They've both been unpleasant and disloyal before, sure, but here it's impossible to root for either of them: neither cares even a little about the other and they shamelessly and constantly stab each other in the back during their internal monologues. Internal monologues which are tedious and uninspired rather than enlightening and absurdly humorous like they used to be, to the point where I didn't buy the "Jez loves Dobby" subplot at all as it was just shoehorned in as a lazy way to create tension between Mark and Jez when there were far better ways of doing that already!

Even after all these wasted opportunities, the writers could have tried taking a huge leap forward with the dynamic between Mark and Jez by using the "Jez moves out" arc well, but in reality all Jez does is slum around and temporarily move in with Mark's sister Sarah, Andy the carpenter (him again, really?!) and Super Hans in long, drawn-out and laugh free ways before falling back on Mark again. In parallel to that the once-decisive Dobby chooses to dither and hesitate during the course of the "Dobby moves in" arc in ways that are just as tedious to watch as any of the new Jez stories, presumably because the writers didn't know what to do with her this time around. And although the "Jez becomes a life coach" arc was moderately entertaining at first it quickly became a reoccurring dead end that even the writers seemed to ignore in the last two episodes because there were so few opportunities for good jokes and subplots. Maybe they should have played it safe and not had Super Hans and Jez give up their ill-fated dreams of being world-famous electronic music artists after all. The fact that "playing it safe" is something Peep Show has never done but sounds like a better option than what they actually did is a very bad sign indeed.

-
CONCLUSION
-

Although series seven was quite different from the earlier seasons it was tightly written and performed and stands as one of the best. But the big time gap between seven and eight really shows up in terms of a serious drop in quality - it's as if the actors have forgotten how to film the show almost as much as the writers have forgotten how to tie it all together. Revisiting old plot points like Mark's almost-finished-but-not-quite book Business Secrets Of The Pharaohs and the Quantocking marriage proposal moment could have been brilliant but instead just highlight the lack of creativity and go absolutely nowhere.

At heart, I think Channel 4 know that their golden goose is dying - they showed the last two episodes on two consecutive days in a last minute schedule change that reminded me of how they handled cult classic Nathan Barley, which had the last two episodes shown back-to-back on the same day because of poor viewing figures. Even though it has never been huge in terms of audience share it must have been doing poorly even for Peep Show, and casts doubt on whether Channel 4 will be picking it up for two more series as promised.

Other than the odd amusing moment - nothing up to the wry, dryly quotable hilarity of previous series though - this is a flat and uninteresting release. Don't trust the five-star reviews from those too in love with the show to see the cracks appearing; this isn't worthy of more than three stars from anyone. I've had to give it only one star because I hold it to such high standards based on past successes.

Disappointing, but after the many solid gold episodes of previous series even loyal fans have no reason to complain. It couldn't stay brilliant forever and barring series nine going ahead and being a stunning return to form I think we've seen the last of the greatness of Peep Show.

Go back and see series 1-7 again, it's a better use of your TV watching time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What happened?, 28 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
I am a huge Peep Show fan but this season the show finally lost it, (Spoilers).. the main plot of Jeremy falling in love with Dobby was poorly executed and not the least bit convincing, just like the moment Jez realises his feelings in the one episode that was reasonably funny it came from out of nowhere. The only way they made it even remotely convincing was to change Dobby's character completely so she now appears as a hipster who is into smoking joints and clubbing, when she came into it she was a geeky IT girl with a quirky personality into role playing games, a real match for Mark but now she is apparently perfect for Jez. She also became really boring as a character and did not add anything to the series other than a reason for Mark and Jez to fight. She is nothing like the previous women Jez has fallen for and it didn't work at all.

There was a huge lack of jokes as well, the writing was nowhere near to the standard of previous seasons. Super Hans added some light relief but aside from this and all too short cameos from other characters there was nowhere near the amount of humour as before.

The episode stories were also poor, who cares about Mad Andy? Not a very funny character the first time, we really didn't need to see him again. Then there was Mark acting so out of character with his book publishing deal, no way would he fall for this.

The season ended with the two characters being completely nasty to each other in a painfully unfunny picnic scene, it's sad to see such a great show reduced to something so bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Huge Let-down, 28 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Peep show season 1-7 had me frequently laughing out loud. I love them so much that I watched them all again on holiday recently, in preperation for season 8.

Little did I realise what a let down lay in store. Season 8 was rarely funny and I hope this does not signal the end for the series.

- Why ruin Superhans by making him normal. I can see that him being a bigger success than Mark has comedy merit, but it shouldn't happen at the expense of one of the shows most brilliant characters - "This crack is really more-ish"

- No Big Suze, Sophie, Mark's Kid, Johnson, Nancy, Jeff or parents - characters that brought the show to life and gave Mark and Jez situations to bounce off of. Without them it felt very empty. Dobbie works now and then but isn't strong, funny or interesting enough for a whole season.

- Gerrard dying wasn't particularly funny. If anything it was a bit of a downer. Peep show audiences love crass and beyond the pail, way beyond, but a character dying had me feeling bad, which is an emotion that doesn't mix well with comedy.

- Throughout I had the sad feeling that Mark and Jez didn't care about each other on any level, meaning they have no option but to go seperate ways. Yes, I think Jez would fancy Dobbie and it is a bit funny watching Jez sleep in a bin bag in the corner of a nutters room, but as prolonged themes they became a bit depressing, like watching the death throes of a lovely beached dolphin that used to frollick gaily amomgst the waves. It now lies dying, dying and bleeding because it's dorsal fin got badly cut by a sealink ferry propeller, forcing the poor creature onto the rocks where its right flank got badly shredded. Now it lies bleeding and hopeless. But fear not - a man with a dolphin bandage is running down the beach - will he get here in time. We can only hope as we watch the golden sand turn red.

All in all there was little of merit in this season, which appeared as though it was written by someone who has no idea what the soul of this great series is about. Perhaps the best material was saved for Fresh Meat - which is a great show, equalling previous Peep Show's exceedingly high standards on every level.

I hope the writers do pen series 9. But seriously guys, take 3 years if you need to, get the old cast back on board and make it great. Peep Show can't go out of this bum note.

-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another hit and miss year in the life of Peep Show, 25 Dec. 2012
By 
Philoctetes (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Eight years of Peep Show. That's a lot of years for a sitcom, and we all So want it to be great. This year certainly starts brightly, with a great opening episode, so there was hope that the pattern of alternating years - Series 5 (iffy), Series 6 (great), Series 7(iffy), Series 8 (?) - would continue. Unfortunately, the two central performances are now hopelessly mannered, and the need to be both funny and edgy results in jokes that provoke a sigh instead of a laugh.

No Sophie this year, only a bit of Gerard, and a lot of Dobbie. Jeremy decides that he is in love with her. Do you buy that? No, me neither. Further competition for her affection is provided by ex-boyfriend Simon, notably in a paintballing-themed episode (would they really do that without masks?) which is one of the two properly enjoyable ones. The other four are a bit, meh.

One problem: there just is NO sexual frisson about Mark & Dobbie. The body language is non-existent. Zero affection.

I've said it before. If the characters don't develop, audience sympathy goes into decline. Need to check just how many years Men Behaving Badly ran for, the show that Peep Show most obviously imitates. I seem to recall Gary & Tony & Deb & Dorothy were full of life and warmth and humanity, qualities Peep Show now desperately needs if the writers really intend to carry on scraping.

Men Behaving Badly: The Complete Collection [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD]
Peep Show - Series 8 [DVD] by David Mitchell (DVD - 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews