Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music has no colour bar, 22 Mar 2013
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors: Where Country Meets Soul (Audio CD)
Virtually every star in black music has been touched by country right from the days when Hank Williamd was taught by a black street musician and even earlier when Jimmie Rodgers made records with Louis Armstrong.Its been an endless quest for the two strands of music which had much in common-hillbilly and the blues as both were the products of the poorer classes.By the time Ray Charles recorded his 2 Modern Sounds In..LPs the die was finally cast.
Those who claim to dislike country music can never be taken seriously and nowadays its simply a matter of taste
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Album, 16 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors: Where Country Meets Soul (Audio CD)
This is a fabulous album; I heard one of the songs on the radio one evening, and the presenter said it was a newly released album, and that it was excellent. I decided to purchase it and I was not disappointed. It's really easy to listen to, and it's a great collaboration of the similarities between Country and Soul music. This is an album for people of all ages, and I can't recommend it enough. Incidentally, I was only able to find it on Amazon- I wasn't able to buy it in HMV or other music store, so well done Amazon for showcasing music that isn't just the run of the mill mainstream stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul and Country Perfection, 1 May 2014
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors: Where Country Meets Soul (Audio CD)
If you are any sort of music fan buy it! Simply wonderful. My fave cut is The grand tour by Aaron Neville but every track is gold
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best compliation for years, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors: Where Country Meets Soul (Audio CD)
As a lifelong soul music fan, I tend to be a little blind to other genres, for no good reason, so I overlooked this CD when it was first released by Kent. This album is probably the best collection I have ever heard and I have just ordered vol 2 without even playing this through. The quality of the performances and production is superb, and the choice of tracks could have been done by Dave Godin, for the heartfelt soul that shines through by the artists. Just fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Genius, 16 July 2013
By 
Gerard Hennessy (Wilmington, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors: Where Country Meets Soul (Audio CD)
A wise man once said that 'true genius lies in simplicity'. He might have been speaking about Ace/Kent Records' excellent idea to compile this fabulous album, together with its sister volume "Sweet Dreams". In a recent radio interview I heard someone describe the idea as a 'no-brainer'. I do hope he meant it as a compliment, because great ideas like this always look easy in hindsight. Interestingly, however, the musical marketplace, isn't exactly awash with albums like this.
More's the pity.

I endorse every word written by the good people who have already submitted reviews. Their comments are right on the money. Suffice to add that there are too many highlights here to comment on each one individually. Indeed, if you buy this CD, I bet that, like me, you will always play it right through without skipping a single track. And if you need further encouragement, just look at a list of the contents. Twenty three glorious examples of the best in country soul, ranging from Esther Phillips to Solomon Burke, via the heartbreaking genius of Arthur Alexander, the gospel shadings of Percy Sledge and the yearning tones of Clarence Carter. Sprinkle on some ZZ Hill, Ann Peebles and Joe Simon, add a seasoning of Al Green and garnish with the late great James Carr - who, alone, is worth the price of admission.
How can you possibly go wrong?

My fervent wish is that this idea culminates in an on-going series of releases, licensing permitting. Possibly one that extends to a dozen volumes or more, like the great 'Golden Age of American Rock'n'Roll?'

Now there's a thought!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic compilation, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors: Where Country Meets Soul (Audio CD)
I'll leave it to others to rave about this wonderful record in more depth. Suffice it to say that this is a classic compilation full of truly memorable music. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 17 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors: Where Country Meets Soul (Audio CD)
Very pleased with this album, arrived without problem, fully recommend this CD, especially if, like myself, you love country music and soul music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors: Where Country Meets Soul (Audio CD)
Love this album and been playing it constantly. A great collection of standards performed by alternative top artists. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Behind Closed Doors: Where Country Meets Soul
Behind Closed Doors: Where Country Meets Soul by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews