Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent choice if you like something a little different
This CD is an excellent blend of Ancient Celtic, African and Modern music styles. The band capture something from all of the styles and mix it together in a way which has to been heard to be believed. It is both relaxing and invigorating, a superb album.
Published on 17 Dec 1999

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull, dull, dull, dull
I bought this album on the basis of the Amazon reviews but I could'nt disagree with them more!
There's vibrant African music around and vibrant Celtic music around, but neither on this album.
Completely tuneless, played with zero passion.
Probably OK as background music in a supermarket or a restaurant that wants to go out of business.
Published on 20 Jan 2011 by R. WILLIAMSON


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent choice if you like something a little different, 17 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Sound Magic (Audio CD)
This CD is an excellent blend of Ancient Celtic, African and Modern music styles. The band capture something from all of the styles and mix it together in a way which has to been heard to be believed. It is both relaxing and invigorating, a superb album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hybrid that works, 19 Oct 2003
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sound Magic (Audio CD)
As it happens, I saw the Afro Celts perform live before I heard them on CD. It was the right sequence too: live, the band's fusion of traditional styles (Irish, African and Asian) and instruments with dance music electronics melds together into a thrilling and spectacular melee.
On record, they are not quite so dynamic or exciting, but the breadth and variety of talents are on display in this shop window. This album runs deep, so take plenty of time to unpeel the layers and explore the sounds. You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic album, 14 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sound Magic (Audio CD)
This album has to be heard to be believed. A great relief fromthe boy-band's and girl-band's.... this is a total sense of musicalheaven away from the popular music industry. The blend of global instruments is a masterpiece, with Larla O Lionard's vocal's making this a fantastic album. If u are sick of the popular music scene, and are looking for something alternative, buy this, it's incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 23 Aug 2005
By 
S. H. Trusler "sufisoul" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sound Magic (Audio CD)
In my opinion the best album from this dynamic squad. Heart warming music that hits the mark and takes you on a real journey beyond physical reality.
I do enjoy the more club orientated sounds but its the honesty of some of the earlier tracks that really move me. Although, I would recommend any of the albums.
But without question live is the best way to hear this group. Without doubt they have put on the best live shows I have ever seen, truly exhilerating, sheer brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where to from here?, 16 July 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound Magic (Audio CD)
Afro Celt Sound System's first album is, as their name says, a clever and in parts quite stunning mix of Celtic & world music that garnered huge praise and success on its release. But despite its ingenuity it's an odd record, veering often incongruously between "dance" music and much slower and occasionally quite turgid world/folk. Truth is that it's the more upbeat club/dance tracks, in particular the outstanding "Sure-As-Not/Sure-As-Knot", "Whirl-Y-Reel 1" & Whirl-Y-Reel 2", that make it come alive and which justify a great deal of the praise heaped on it.
So... if you want to discover similarly inspired, upbeat dance/world music where to? Well, Afro Celt's second album - "Release" - moves them much closer to the club area but, while good, loses a lot of the melodic intricacy & instrumental interplay that made "Sound Magic" such a success; better to go for their third outing - "Further in Time" - which more effectively combines the inspired enthusiasm of their early tracks with the driving club beats of "Release".
Better still, check-out their virtually unknown UK contemporaries, Elephant Talk, whose difficult to find albums follow a similarly infectious, more jazz tinged club/world "fusion" formula with more consistently upbeat and enjoyable results. Check out Amazon.co.uk for Elephant Talk's first two albums, "In a Big Sea" and the even better "Head", and the group's own web site at [...] for their quite brilliant last release "Leap". You won't be disappointed but you may be left wondering how such equally innovative and exciting music can remain so little known.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars why have I not heard of this before? Bought ..., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Volume 1: Sound Magic (Audio CD)
why have I not heard of this before? Bought after reading a magazine article loaned buy a friend who said I had a "pipe and slippers" audio system, this proves him wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT !!!!, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound Magic 1 (Audio CD)
I originally bought this CD a few years ago and still think it holds up to quite a good album,
A fusion of Afro/tribal beats and celtic lilting flutes and fiddley jigs. go on bring out the inner hippie , light a campfire smoke a roll up and have a mini eco festival!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesante mezcla de electrónica y wold music, 8 Jan 2011
This review is from: Sound Magic (Audio CD)
No aprecio especialmente ni la música electrónica ni la world music. Aún así, me ha parecido un disco divertido: interesante y disfrutable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Music that stirs your spirit, 15 Mar 2009
By 
Sue Armstrong (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sound Magic (Audio CD)
I first heard Afrocelt in a little cottage on the Hebriddean island of Tiree, and the drumming especially caught me in the guts -- I wanted to dance and sing. Having lived in Africa for many years and now based in Scotland, I found the fusion of two styles that I love intoxicating, and thought it worked brilliantly -- this is music that stirs vital memories and evoces images of both worlds. The album has many different moods, so one doesn't tire of listening right through. I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best of global fusion music, 30 Jan 2009
By 
Richard Lockyer (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sound Magic 1 (Audio CD)
I can remember hearing this for the first time and being blown away by its originality and the amazing musicianship. There are many bands out there that try playing this stuff but no one gets any where near ACCS.
A dramatic and atmospheric first album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Volume 1 - Sound Magic (Real World Gold)
Buy MP3 Album6.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews