Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining!
Based years before the events of Fable 2, gives an interesting insightful history on Reaver on his life as a pirate and how he became the pirate king in Bloodstone. Couldn't put the book
down and read it in a day. Good short story.
Published 16 months ago by Peter ODonnell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fable reader by Peter david
I had been kinder in my review of Jack of blades as their less lore on that but the fact Peter allows the story to run away with him that he overlooks the fundamentals of Reavers character, the time honoured lore of fable and goes so far as to ignore concepts even an amateur of the game could understand.

I will not dispute that Peter knows something of fable...
Published 1 month ago by Cameron H.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Fable reader by Peter david, 24 May 2014
This review is from: Fable: Reaver (Kindle Edition)
I had been kinder in my review of Jack of blades as their less lore on that but the fact Peter allows the story to run away with him that he overlooks the fundamentals of Reavers character, the time honoured lore of fable and goes so far as to ignore concepts even an amateur of the game could understand.

I will not dispute that Peter knows something of fable lore but '' reaver picks up a cannonball' any one whose played the game knows that their are four classes of hero will, skill, strength and the archons line. Reaver is skill he cannot lift up and expertly toss a cannonball. Equally the fable add-on of captain dread makes it clear he was no pretty boy that Reaver killed nor did he kill the dread crew the storm did that. The portrayals Peter gives would be better then the one reaver provides in the game so he would have used it. Peter insults every fan of fable and rips off a character that already had a clear character.

Additionally Peter ignores fable lore when he has the characters refer to skorm and avos at this time in the game with the appearance of oakfield the God of light and shadows should have replaced skorm and avos. As well as this the ship of captain dread is destroyed in the book which simply does not match it's appearance in the game.

Peter had plenty of lore to call upon least of all British wit for Reaver expertly portrayed by lionhead studios in their stories. This feels like a feeble tale that detracts from the character. I have not read Peter's comic works but you cannot apply such a genre to works by a game studio that excels in irony reavers a rogue he cannot wield a sword there a clever ways to use him in the novel.

So if you like Peter's work and have never played folklore I recommend this book for you as its written for you.

On the other hand, if you have been drawn here from a love of the game then avoid this book it's a false depiction that has a poorly written context. Instead the recommend Christine's edge of the world which has been written by someone who researched the game.

I will say those Peter does well in creating the scene, he just needs to play the games and take note before he writes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An awesome read!, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fable: Reaver (Kindle Edition)
great book, I just wish it was longer. definitely recommended to any fans of the fable franchise and anyone up for a light hearted read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loads of fun, 5 Jan 2014
This review is from: Fable: Reaver (Kindle Edition)
An exciting little swashbuckling adventure for fans of Fable to enjoy. Great action and snappy dialogue, a fun diversion bound to please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining!, 27 Feb 2013
This review is from: Fable: Reaver (Kindle Edition)
Based years before the events of Fable 2, gives an interesting insightful history on Reaver on his life as a pirate and how he became the pirate king in Bloodstone. Couldn't put the book
down and read it in a day. Good short story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for Fable and Reaver fans!, 3 Feb 2013
By 
M. sullivan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fable: Reaver (Kindle Edition)
I am a HUGE Reaver and Fable fan! This short was fantstic and gave you a little more insight into Reaver's past. It was exciting and thrilling. I couldn't put it down! I recommend this highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWSOME, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fable: Reaver (Kindle Edition)
If you have played the Fable series and you love Reaver, this is the book for you!!!!! :) FUNNY AND EXCITING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Reaver fans :), 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fable: Reaver (Kindle Edition)
Good little e book. Some of the language is a bit modern for the time but hey for 0.77 you can't go wrong. Not a literary epic but as I said in the title, its a must for all Reaver fans out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Fable Short, 13 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fable: Reaver (Kindle Edition)
If your a fan of the Xbox FABLE series,or like a fun and quirky well written story,then this e-book is perfect for you.From the start this short story grips your attention and I found pleasure in reading every page.Its follows 'REAVER',a character from the Xbox 360 game 'FABLE 3'.I won't tell you any more story wise than that as this tale twists and turns on such a speedy high,your have so much fun reading it not knowing what's round the next page.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fable: Reaver (Kindle Edition)
I particularly liked the part where I lost valuable minutes of my life that I will never ever get back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fable: Reaver
Fable: Reaver by Peter David
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews