Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A second good romantic thriller from Leigh!
This is the second romantic thriller from Melinda Leigh, (author of She can Run reaching sales of over 100,000). This novel She can tell" is of our designate heroine Rachel Parker who leaves fame fortune and finance behind with her role as famous rider with inordinate skills and previously employed as trainer by her wealthy finance. She returns to rebuild the family farm...
Published 4 months ago by rhosymynydd

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Romance combined with whodunnit
This is the second Montlake Romance I have read and both were pretty similar in style and content. Basically we have a romance between the two central characters while in the background we have an unknown killer on the prowl. We have Mills and Boon combined with a Whodunnit. The characters are stereotypes; we have the big brawny (but oh so gentle) policeman falling for...
Published 12 months ago by June Doll


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A second good romantic thriller from Leigh!, 20 Nov 2013
By 
rhosymynydd "liz" (west wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the second romantic thriller from Melinda Leigh, (author of She can Run reaching sales of over 100,000). This novel She can tell" is of our designate heroine Rachel Parker who leaves fame fortune and finance behind with her role as famous rider with inordinate skills and previously employed as trainer by her wealthy finance. She returns to rebuild the family farm with what little finances she has left. Unfortunately, her return is not regarded by all as welcome and she is greeted with petty vandalism. However, she is also there to prevent her sister and her daughter from abuse from her husband and encourages her to leave him and seek advice on divorce. He obviously becomes the suspect of her troubling continued problems.

Fortunately for her our romantic hero, Police Chief Mile McConnell is attracted to our heroine and against her better wishes, camps outside her property to keep a wary eye on her. The vandalism escalates and the plot thickens. her finances dwindle and Rachel is forced to seek help from her old friends. The conclusion catches the reader unaware and draws to a great ending.

Well done Melinda for providing us with an enjoyable milder thriller for those seeking a good but fairly quick read. Waiting eagerly for the next She Can..... in the series!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 31 Oct 2013
By 
Beanie Luck Spud (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The story centres around Rachel Parker, who returns to her home town in Pennsylvania, after a terrible accident ends her riding career.

She starts to rebuild her family`s horse farm but it seems someone has other plans for her.

Rachel is being watched, her stalker is vandalising her property, trying to shut her up and frighten her for some connection to her past.

Rachel is feisty, independant and knows she has a battle on her hands, not made any easier because she also has her sister Sarah and her 2 children staying with her, after Sarah was beaten up by her husband Troy.

Along comes Police Chief Mike O`Connell, the attraction is instant, but Rachel is a closed book and not about to allow anyone in, for fear of the past repeating itself.

Rachel hadn`t banked on the persistance of Mike doing his job of protecting her , even though this puts him in the firing line of loosing his job because of personal involvement.

The townsfolk aren`t happy either as Mike`s time is taken up alot with Rachel and not on the important matter of protecting a new development waiting in the wings.

So who is watching Rachel?, and will she reveal the secret long hidden in her past, read on,.....................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just good - exceptionally good!, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs C "Chris in Hampshire" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
"She Can Tell" is a brilliant exciting and romantic thriller, which grabs your attention from the very first page.

Rachel Parker is the target of a stalker, of a vandal who damages her property and who, as times goes on is hell bent on killing her.

Rachel is very independent and very protective of her sister Sarah and her 2 children, Emma and Alex. Sarah is a battered wife, who after being hospitalised because of it, then takes her daughters to live with Rachel. Police Chief Mike O'Connel and uniformed officer,Ethan were the 911 respondants when Sarah was badly hurt by Troy, her husband. As the story unfolds, Mike is taking it on himself to protect Rachel and her sister and children, so much so that certain townspeople are unhappy about the situation. As each days passes, more and more serious and nasty events occur at Rachel's farm.

The book moves on at a fast pace and there are plenty of locals who could be put in the frame as wanting to hurt or get rid of Rachel. Just as you think you have an inkling into who the perpetrator is, things take a twist and you have to think again.

To tell you more of the story will certainly spoil your read. Suffice to say there is a lot of suspense coupled with a lot of passion in this page turner. Will Rachel give her heart? Will her stalker and tormentor succeed in breaking Rachel's spirit, will she live or die?

This excellent book is a must read and one that would maked a good movie or a small screen mini drama series. A book that is too good to miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She can tell, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She Can Tell (She Can Series) (Kindle Edition)
She can tell
A well written absorbing story, all characters work well and you really want everything to work out for them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Romance combined with whodunnit, 13 April 2013
By 
June Doll "June" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the second Montlake Romance I have read and both were pretty similar in style and content. Basically we have a romance between the two central characters while in the background we have an unknown killer on the prowl. We have Mills and Boon combined with a Whodunnit. The characters are stereotypes; we have the big brawny (but oh so gentle) policeman falling for the petite, fragile (but feisty) female. We also have a few other stereotypes - the alcoholic wife-beater and the corrupt politician who is taking money from a rich businessman. The good characters are very, very good and the bad characters are irredeemably bad! All is black and white - there is no gray.

As with most romantic novels, the hero and heroine feel this instant, overwhelming attraction as soon as they meet but both fight it for most of the novel until eventually being overcome with passion!!!

There is no real suspense to the story and when we learn who the killer is there is no real surprise. However, I don't wish to be too harsh. If you are looking for a lightweight romance with a bit of a crime story thrown in, this is still quite an enjoyable read. I read it to the end and on the whole I enjoyed it (in spite of its flaws). Accept it for what it is and its a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars mistook the genre but writng still doesn't cut it, 8 Feb 2013
By 
gerryg - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Essentially this is a romantic novel, which I didn't realise when I chose it. So I can't offer much on the plot. It's not my taste.

However the writing is excreable.

From the blurb:

"Police Chief Mike O'Connell can't keep his mind off of (sic) beautiful, high-spirited Rachel Parker"

From the book:

"An invisible frequency, like a Bluetooth link, hovered in the air between them"

"Anticipation kindled at the thought of an eternal solution to his current problem, of acting instead of only watching"

I just can't read this stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don,t know how. She does it., 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She Can Tell (She Can Series) (Kindle Edition)
Another great story. Don't know how Melinda does it . She comes up with these incredible plots time after time. I thoroughly enjoyed this one also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She Can Tell (She Can Series) (Kindle Edition)
great book... great series... will definitely be looking out for more by this author... great story.. can not wait to read more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She Can Tell (She Can Series) (Kindle Edition)
That's all so far I have read, everyone is great, lots of excitement and interesting plots, good strong characters well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great books, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She Can Tell (She Can Series) (Kindle Edition)
Love this author great books each one is excellent you just can't get enough can't wait for the next book waiting for it to download a ny time now have to be patient
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9efb06c)

This product

She Can Tell (She Can Series)
3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews