Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tacwise Z1 staple gun
Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun Tacker had been looking to a stapler to re- upholstery a wooden chair arm, but most had paper staples or were expensive. This tool is excellent and I recovered the wooden arms with no problems. Very good value and what the product details do not say is that you get a supply of staples with the gun!
If you need a lager staple size than 8mm go...
Published on 29 May 2013 by DR

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potentially a Great Stapler
The Tacwise Z1-140 is a fairly lightweight unit, with a strong plastic handle and an aluminium alloy head section. It has a simple to operate loading staple magazine, and a very handy viewport at the top, so you can see when the staples are about to run out. It has a locking mechanism too, which is great if you have small children about, or if you need to pack it in a...
Published 16 months ago by Robert Groom


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tacwise Z1 staple gun, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker (Office Product)
Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun Tacker had been looking to a stapler to re- upholstery a wooden chair arm, but most had paper staples or were expensive. This tool is excellent and I recovered the wooden arms with no problems. Very good value and what the product details do not say is that you get a supply of staples with the gun!
If you need a lager staple size than 8mm go for the Z3. Also had next day delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good For Light to Medium Use., 23 April 2014
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker (Office Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker is a light to medium tacker for simple jobs.

Ideally it is for simple upholstery repairs and renovations.
Chairs that have the softer wood are the best for this tool which should cover most chair and seating frames.

We have an uphostered chair that was my wife's Gran's.
It made the job of re tacking the arm in place really easy and quick.

That is where it makes buying this tacker worthwhile it will save time and effort and achive good professional looking results.

My fellow reviewers have said that it wil not drive staples fully in hard woods like oak but then that type of wood in upholstered furniture is rare. Oak more often is on show- softer wood were it is hidden is used in the majority of furniture these days.

I am a supply teacher too so I gave the gun a whirl to replace come loose border displays- it handed that task well- so if you are a teacher or TA and fed up with having to borrow other peoples staple guns this may be a good investment for you.
Just make sure the staples the school provides fir the stapler.
(AND WRITE YOUR NAME ON IT IN INDELIBLE INK- better still brand it because this type of useful tool does go walkies)
It does look smart and distinctive with it's grey and Orange finish.
Safety wise it is very good and is lockable.
Always remember to secure it in a safe inaccessible place.
I once found a 4 year old had picked up a dis-guarded stapler that the Teacher had left on the floor!

This is a very well made product, easy to load, it has a good guide and robust for light to medium use only.

Heavy duty use I would say not.
The 'kickback' is light so you don't need muscles in your spit to use it.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fasten-ating!, 15 Jan. 2014
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker (Office Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This stapler isn't one of the TacWise all-metal construction models which have impressed me in the past. However, the plastic part of this rugged and doesn't feel brittle or loose in any way. In fact, the plastic area makes for a very comfy hand grip and allows you to squeeze the stapler handle with increased comfort.

I haven't really had use for this as yet so I've simulated usage by adding additional staples to upholstery and putting staples into various materials - this hasn't let me down! I thought my Rapid R23 stapler was the ultimate but this works equally as well, and it's comfier to use!

To load, the magazine is unlocked and staples placed with no fuss. Once locked you can see the staples through a small viewing window to avoid having to re-open to check how staples you have left. The cut-away nose is surprisingly effective and means you can get the front of the stapler right up against a surface to get a staple into the farthest edge, the little arrows on the stapler are used to guide you in aiming your staple.

In a nutshell: This is a fantastic piece of kit which will last for years and be incredibly useful at times. It comes with some staples too - if you don't use it too often then they will probably last you a long time, when they need replenishing, as these are `standard' 8mm staples it is done quickly and cost efficiently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An efficient, well made staple gun, 13 Jan. 2014
By 
Bantam Dave (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker (Office Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the third staple gun that I have owned. The previous two were practically useless; one struggled to penetrate the even the softest of woods and the other broke irreparably after only a few uses. Because of these failures I haven't bothered with staple guns again up to trying the Tacwise, assuming that staple guns weren't up to much. After using the Tacwise though, I've revised my opinions, as I have found this particular staple gun to be an extremely useful tool. So far I have used it on three occasions - two upholstery jobs and once to attach a plastic sheet to my garage as a stop gap measure when the roof started to leak - and each time it has performed excellently.

I have found it be very efficient, driving in the staples easily and quickly with very few failures, i.e. staples that have not penetrated properly. It is simple to operate, easy to hold and it is light, meaning that it should cause no problems should you wish to use it at arm's length over a period of time. A further bonus is the price; as staple guns go the Tacwise isn't expensive, my previous staple guns weren't that much cheaper and they were nowhere near as good.

Overall it is a gadget definitely well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy and effective stapler, 28 July 2013
By 
Mr. T. Anderson "onlyconnect" - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker (Office Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Tacwise Z1-140 is a small stapler but packs a punch; we used it to fasten fabric blinds to a wooden mounting, for which it was most effective. Staples are easily loaded into a spring-loaded chamber. The handle locks closed for convenience and safety, though locking the handle is not as smooth as I would like; you pull the handle back before squeezing it down, so as not to fire a staple by mistake, but sliding the locking tab across is slightly fiddly.

This is a small nit though. Staples are easily obtained here on Amazon, for example Tacwise Heavy Duty 140 Type Staples 8mm (2000), Tacwise 140 Series 8mm Staples (Pack of 5000) or Tacwise 140 Series 6mm Staples (Pack of 5000), and the stapler itself comes with 4 x 6mm strips to get you started. 6mm, incidentally, measures the depth of the staple, which measures approximatly 1cm across.

The staples come out with considerable force and this tool is best suited to light upholstery and craft projects, such as blinds and covering dining chairs, rather than say wall displays for which the staples may too strong.

The device feels well-made and has a handy hook for storage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable tool at bargain price, 12 Aug. 2013
By 
J.R.Hartley (NW England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker (Office Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
We've had our staple gun for a couple of weeks now and so far I've used it for some basic upholstery repairs, fastening down some roofing felt and a little bit of needless stapling just to see if it works. In short, it has done everything I have asked of it, it's easy to use, easy to reload and it comes at a bargain price. I suppose for specialist jobs you might need a more heavy duty machine, but this is just fine for day to day jobs. And for little more than a tenner, who can grumble?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent staple gun for light duties, 17 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr. M. J. Lynch "Micky L" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker (Office Product)
Decent Staple Gun. The frame feels a bit light and as though it wouldn't take much abuse. That said the two sample staples I fired into wood penetrated with ease. This would be classed as the entry level form the Tacwise range. The Tacwise 0926 Z3 CT-60 is a much more robust beast but also twice the price. I bought this on a lighting deal with Amazon, like an impulse buy only to find that it was cheaper online elsewhere. However there is a lot to be said for customer service for the £1.20 difference so I cant quibble. I ordered the 6mm staples along with it from Toolbank (marketplace) and they loaded fine with no issues.
Today I tacked a poly liner to the edge of the fence before fitting gravel. It went though the almost the whole box of staples (bar 120 from a box of 2000) and never jammed or missed and reloaded with ease. That said it was a lot of reloads as it only holds circa 80 each refill. I removed the belt clip because it kept getting in the way or snagging on things but it was easy done. Decent little staple gun for basic light loads and for £8 couldn't really argue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little tool, 7 Aug. 2013
By 
Mrs. M. Stamp "Granma" (Bury St Edmunds UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker (Office Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My husband works in the building trade and already has a huge, heavy,industrial staple gun. Don't confuse this great little tool with one of those--this is a lightweight but good quality and well-designed TACKER, which is perfect for DIY. It will cope beautifully with material, plastic sheeting or light wood and has a cutaway nose so you can get right into small spaces with accuracy.
It feels comfortable in use and has a safety lock. The instructions are simple and very clear with a trouble shooting section. There is a one month refund guarantee if you realise you have mis-ordered or if it is faulty, and a 3 year warranty against defects. Contacts are given for after-sales service.
4 strips of 8mm staples are complimentary with this tacker (nice touch) and further supplies are available through Amazon. Tacwise advise that you stick to Tacwise staples.
I don't see how you can go wrong with this as long as you use it within its stated limitations.
Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This device will have you searching for things to staple!, 5 Aug. 2013
By 
Bryan (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker (Office Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was very impressed with the Tacwise staple gun. It was easy to load the staples, which came free with the gun, and simply pulling out the handle made the gun ready for use. I wanted to make a cover for my pond and so armed with a wooden frame I had made, a roll of wire mesh netting I had previously cut to size and the staple gun, I set about stapling the netting to the wood. The staples were fired into the wood with ease and securely held the netting in place. Within a very short while, I had the cover for the pond neatly in place while the sea gulls stared down from the roof in disapproval.
I have found other uses for the staple gun including stapling a laminated notice to a wooden post asking parcels to be left in my porch, and printout plant labels which I have stapled, as added security, to plant sticks positioned in the ground so that when perennials die down I will know where they come up next year.
Great stuff! Now, what else can I find to staple...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow weeeee, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
the lambanana "the lambanana" (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker (Office Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
QUALITY
=======
This is a staple gun that is suited for the Home/Expert level of quality.
It has the feel of being heavy-duty whilst reasonable easy to use.

STRONG
======
Uses 6 to 14 mm staples and is supplied with 125 x 8 mm. I found it more than adequate for re-upholstery.

GIFT
====
This is ideal for the professional tradesperson or the committed DIYer who wants a quality tool that does the job quickly and efficiently.

ARM ACHE
========
As it doesn't give the kickback that other staplers do, it doesn't give any hand ache or arm ache that you may find on other staple guns.

VALUE
=====
This offers good value for money and has a number of useful features to improve the performance of the gun. So overall I'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker
£12.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews