Customer Reviews


253 Reviews
5 star:
 (153)
4 star:
 (85)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy, well made, basic tacking stapler
The Tacwise Z1-140 is a medium duty dedicated tacking stapler. It is most suited to tacking in place upholstery to softwood frames, and also light sheet materials such as Tyvek membrane to tanalised timbers.

Pros
. It is well made and feels good in the hand with a comfortable grip, especially on the palm of the hand which bears the brunt of our...
Published 14 months ago by R. F. Stevens

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potentially a Great Stapler
The Tacwise Z1-140 is a fairly lightweight unit, with a strong plastic handle and an aluminium alloy head section. It has a simple to operate loading staple magazine, and a very handy viewport at the top, so you can see when the staples are about to run out. It has a locking mechanism too, which is great if you have small children about, or if you need to pack it in a...
Published 13 months ago by Robert Groom


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy, well made, basic tacking stapler, 7 Feb. 2014
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker (Office Product)
The Tacwise Z1-140 is a medium duty dedicated tacking stapler. It is most suited to tacking in place upholstery to softwood frames, and also light sheet materials such as Tyvek membrane to tanalised timbers.

Pros
. It is well made and feels good in the hand with a comfortable grip, especially on the palm of the hand which bears the brunt of our efforts.
. It is not too heavy and yet is durable and likely to survive rough handling and being dropped.
. It has an easily applied Safety Lock for storage and transport.
. It is very easy to fill it with staples, and to later remove any surplus after completing a job (Safety!) before closing it to be locked.
. It has a secure steel loop for hanging it up.

Cons
. It does not have a removable shoe to allow the option of stapling thin sheet materials together, as one might expect to find with an office stapler, or on better featured staplers such as my Wickes heavy duty staple gun.
. It is not possible to adjust the strength of the impulse driving the staple into the base material. It is fine for a softwood backing such as Pine, but I found that 8mm staples only went halfway into Oak. The bigger Wickes stapler can be adjusted for a least-effort optimum drive into a variety of materials including the Oak and Pine.

Verdict
This is a useful addition to the toolbox, very suitable for a few specific jobs, much in the way different screwdrivers are appropriate for specific types and sizes of screw. I would not have bought one but I am pleased that Vine gave me this for the intention of evaluating the excellent Tacwise staples, and I will continue to use it, mainly on upholstery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tacwise Z1 staple gun, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker (Office Product)
Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun Tacker had been looking to a stapler to re- upholstery a wooden chair arm, but most had paper staples or were expensive. This tool is excellent and I recovered the wooden arms with no problems. Very good value and what the product details do not say is that you get a supply of staples with the gun!
If you need a lager staple size than 8mm go for the Z3. Also had next day delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun, 22 Aug. 2013
By 
M. E. Wood "robbiejay" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker (Office Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great item, the gun is well made and can tackle most stapling jobs. I have used it to do job both in the house and in the garden, it made light work of stapling rush matting to a fence, and the matting is secure and tidy. My better half has used the stapler to make a bird box and said it did a fine job, he has used electric staplers but found they jam to easily, he likes the simplicity of the Tacwise, no complicated things to go wrong, thumbs up from him. The stapler comes complete with staples to get you started, staple can then be purchased in most hardware shops or online. I'm very pleased with the stapler, for the money it cost it is well worth it, well made and does the job grand, 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potentially a Great Stapler, 5 Mar. 2014
By 
Robert Groom (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker (Office Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Tacwise Z1-140 is a fairly lightweight unit, with a strong plastic handle and an aluminium alloy head section. It has a simple to operate loading staple magazine, and a very handy viewport at the top, so you can see when the staples are about to run out. It has a locking mechanism too, which is great if you have small children about, or if you need to pack it in a small space. There's also a hook on the bottom which you can use to hang it up.

Stapling action is smooth and powerful. It can sink 140 x 8mm staples in softwood very well every time with no worries.

So why the 3 star score? The problem I have with this stapler is the handle. Its convex shape and smooth finish and lack of a guard at the top cause my hand to slide up the handle when I compress it to fire a staple. For me at least, it makes it very uncomfortable to use, as I constantly need to re-adjust my grip before I fire a staple, and there's the constant fear of getting the skin between thumb and finger caught in the handle hinge as it closes.

It could easily be cured by re-shaping the handle, adding a rubber grip strip or adding a thumb guard at the top.

It may just be because the skin on my hands tends to be dry and calloused, so I have less manual grip than most people, but I've used several staple guns, and this is the only one I've had trouble with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, straightforward and versatile, 17 Jun. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker (Office Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is one of those items I wouldn’t have imagined using very much but after taking it out for a specific need it has hung around looking generally useful. When I now look back I discover it has come into its own with a long list of tasks with very little ‘time off’.

It feels well thought out, is very comfortable to hold and I could use it extensively without feeling the strain. The handle (moulded from plastic) locks shut for safety so there’s little chance of accidentally firing a staple until you are ready to work. The firing end is metal and includes a helpful display indicating where the staple comes out so your work will be pretty accurate.

A small supply of staples are included with the tacker and these were perfect for a job I had been putting off in the garden: attaching some wire to fence panels to train some plants along. Much easier to do than I had anticipated (I do tend to overthink this kind of stuff) and the staples went into the wood with no trouble at all.

A very worthy and versatile addition to a burgeoning toolbox with applications across upholstery, in the garden, general DIY and for hobbies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy,powerful and very well-made; ideal for professionals and keen hobbyists., 24 May 2014
By 
A. I. McCulloch "Andrea" (Co Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker (Office Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This staple gun really does cut the mustard, it's very easy to use but also exceptionally powerful. It definitely is one for adult use only. It came supplied with fifty or so thick, sturdy staples which were easy to load into the base, easier in fact, than most desk staplers. Printed on the base is a reminder of the staple size suitable for this little machine, 140/ 6-8 mm, useful for when replacements are needed.
It's a very powerful little tool, suitable for heavyweight materials such as very thick card, wood and fabrics.
The staples are fired out with surprising force and care is needed that the the gun isn't fired accidentally.
There is a locking device to secure the trigger handle in the 'down' position so that it can be safely stored with staples in place, activated by sliding a button. I would recommend keeping this well out of reach of children, it's a serious little bit of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars light and fast, 13 May 2014
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker (Office Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a robustly built tacker that has a good quality feel about it. It is light weight and comfortable in the hand and is as easy to use and load as any other tacker.

The head is made from an aluminium alloy that is resistant to most knocks and scrapes. The body is made from an impact resistant plastic with a lockable handle. A clip on the side allows you to hang the tacker from a work belt so you don't keep misplacing it!

It is easy to load, just pull back on the rail and pop in a strip of staples. Then you are ready to go. The tacker works best on soft wood, I have tacked into hardwood, but the staples were left slightly proud. You can put some additional weight on the nose by pressing down and this can help if the material is a bit tough. So far I haven't had any jams or misfiring

Bottom line: a cheap, but well constructed tacker. It is easy to use and is reliable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice stapler for use around the home, 22 April 2014
By 
Skeadugenga (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker (Office Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I used this to recover some dining chair seats and it was excellent. Once you've broken into the sealed packaging and had a little lie down to recover you have everything you need to do the job as it comes with 200 staples.

I have rheumatism, so have to be careful with tools, but this was nice to use, the handle and grip are comfortable and firing the staples in didn't unduly stress my hand. Loading the staples was easy and there is a little window on the side so you can see how many are left.

The working bit is solid enough for you to feel confident about it and it really did work well. Any wasted staples were down to my incompetence, not the tool.

Nice attention to detail, the little hanger at the back means you can hang it up for storage. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A1 Excellent, 1 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker (Office Product)
Bought this to staple fabric to the back of wooden frames of acoustic wall panels for my recording studio. Worked very well. Excellent product!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable tool at bargain price, 12 Aug. 2013
By 
J.R.Hartley (NW England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker (Office Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
We've had our staple gun for a couple of weeks now and so far I've used it for some basic upholstery repairs, fastening down some roofing felt and a little bit of needless stapling just to see if it works. In short, it has done everything I have asked of it, it's easy to use, easy to reload and it comes at a bargain price. I suppose for specialist jobs you might need a more heavy duty machine, but this is just fine for day to day jobs. And for little more than a tenner, who can grumble?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tacwise Z1-140 Staple Gun. Staple Gun Tacker
£13.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews