Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some compensation
I have never been able to go to Lugano to hear this festival. It would cost a lot of money and time. However through this inexpensive box we can at least hear the performances as they were given. There is some terrific musicmaking here by Argerich and her friends. The great lady herself Performs one of her party pieces, the Ravel concerto, with great aplomb. There is also...
Published 23 months ago by Mr Swallow

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor ensemble, under-rehearsed
While I'm sure it's wonderful being at the this festival 'live' - where to watch and listen to these musicians play will work very well indeed. However, the problem comes with repeated listening to many of these performances which simply do not stand up. many places sound under-rehearsed (unsurprising), and there is some sloppy ensemble at times(something you will not...
Published 22 months ago by 109110111


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some compensation, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have never been able to go to Lugano to hear this festival. It would cost a lot of money and time. However through this inexpensive box we can at least hear the performances as they were given. There is some terrific musicmaking here by Argerich and her friends. The great lady herself Performs one of her party pieces, the Ravel concerto, with great aplomb. There is also a wonderful performance of the Beethoven violin sonata number eight. Standard classics and more offbeat numbers come together here to make a very enjoyable time of life musicmaking. It's as if the performers are playing for their own enjoyment and asking people to join them in listening. At their very reasonable price people should not hesitate in investing in these discs even if some of the music is a bit offbeat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent set, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Live recordings - unless laboriously patched later are always likely to contain mistakes . Unless they are obvious and egregious then most listeners will be able to cope with them on repeated listening. I note that the reviewer who marks these recordings down , however, gives no examples of serious mistakes .

As for his suggestion that the performances are under rehearsed he puts forward no evidence in support of that assertion and to say that they do not compare with the finest out there shows no analysis of the actual performances .

After getting that all off my chest - this is yet another wonderful set . The particular highlights for me are the Zarebski Piano Quintet which is apparently largely unknown outside Poland and which is a terrific addition to the catalogue and played with a glorious romantic sweep ,Mozart's sonata in F - Argerich is a wonderful player of just about everything but surely nobody has ever matched her in two piano or four hand repertoire and her collaborations with the Capucon brothers in Beethoven and Schumann.

The 2012 set is even better !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor ensemble, under-rehearsed, 4 Feb 2013
While I'm sure it's wonderful being at the this festival 'live' - where to watch and listen to these musicians play will work very well indeed. However, the problem comes with repeated listening to many of these performances which simply do not stand up. many places sound under-rehearsed (unsurprising), and there is some sloppy ensemble at times(something you will not really notice or be bothered by live) and most importantly, as 'interpretations' - these simply do not compare to the finest out there..

I could not recommend these as a general purchase - if you specifically want these works then look elsewhere - if you are a fan, then fair enough..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Festival, 27 Nov 2012
By 
Ben Basing (Roughly London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This might be a formal sounding series of classical (implied highbrow!) concerts, but the actual sound and feel of muisic on the discs is that of real musicians, skillful people who know what they are doing, having fun, even exploring possibilities as the music happens. Maybe not the ideal recording of any particular piece if you were to study it for an exam, nor even necessarily the idiom of the composer, but that is not the point (you're not studying for an exam, are you?) these are enjoyable performances that are worth listening too... though I suppose you could leave them on in the background if you wanted too.
I'll probably buy the other Lugano boxes some day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magical listening, 20 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful listening - brilliant recording. I bought this for my father and scored a definite hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent concert set, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For the 99% of us who cannot afford to go to these concerts the annual sets are required listening. Marta is her usual explosive and urresistible self in this well chosen package. All the artists play their best and the enjoyment is infectious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews