Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars25
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£2.22
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 November 2012
I was greatly impressed by Sherlock's work and will find more of his stories to read. 'Hyena Dawn' is where 'Dogs of War' meets 'The Wild Geese', set in darkest Southern Africa at the end of the Seventies a group of mercenaries are sent to Mozambique to prevent a Soviet-backed invasion of Rhodesia from occurring. But it isn't as simple as that as we soon find out!!

Rayne Gallagher is a typical hero; strong, ruthless, resourceful yet ever so sensitive and vulnerable. He also has a past, a past which drives him to do what he does. Rayne along with his friends Lois Kruger, Sam Elliot, Deon de Wet and a host of other likable characters attempt to foil the pending invasion of Rhodesia. Battling powerful and utterly ruthless villains in the guise of devious mining magnates, Soviet military generals, stone cold CIA agents and treacherous Africans, their path to success is strewn with obstacles and unseen dangers.......

Sherlock paints a rich tapestry of African life which absorbs you from the start. His descriptions of rural Africa as well as that of urban South Africa are wonderful, and also provide a excellent backdrop to the action and they certainly open one's eyes to the life of the 1970s African mercenary. It does feel a little contrived in places but that certainly doesn't alter the fact that this is a cracking read and up there with other greats such as Forsyth, Clancy and Ludlum.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
Took me back to my time in Africa living through the Rhodesia/Zimbabwe transition. Action packed, great detail, excellent read, gives Wilbur Smith and Bryce Courtenay a run for their money!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
Would have been better if it had been two books. Hyena s Revenge anyone ?. Somewhat disjointed in the middle, very predictable at the end rooftop shootout, assassination of KGB agent at an airport. Regrettably unable to care what happened to main character's. Never really felt involved with them.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I rarely make comment on novels but this one gripped me from beginning to end. The plot was somewhat strained in places and the antagonists seem to be a cross between altruistic supermen and Bond villains. Its a good Sunday read with a grand dose of escapism, if that is your pleasure.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
Having spent some of my earlier years in Zambia and enjoy Wilbur Smith I found this book encompassed the Africa & the peoples I met out theire and how hard the land can be; thoroughly enjoyed the read
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
Some good plot ideas but overall it seemed to be like trying to cram 3 or 4 of Wilbur Smith's books into one without achieving any of the depth or flow. Doesn't make for easy reading.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2015
Pretty good, got halfway through and thought another book had inserted but made a decent read. Not sure I would read more of his books, but don't suppose he would read any of mine.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
I had this in hardback many years ago but wanted to read again as I was going on holiday, so downloaded it.
Still enjoyed it..somewhat similar to Wilbur Smith's earlier novels.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
This was fine for a light-hearted read, it strained the bounds of credulity after a while, as I am not au fait with the politics of the time that bit did not interest me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
Great book amazing price. A little yellow with age but a fine addition to my collection. Received well within promised delivery time. Many thanks.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.15
£2.98
£2.98

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.