Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars33
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 August 2012
Derek Trucks is the best slide guitarist there is, he's had a fabulous band for some years now,in fact since his teens.Then he married Susan Tedeschi, one great female blues artist who also happens to play some pretty meab guitar.A couple of years ago they joined forces, produced 'Revelator' a studio album that won countless awards, now we get a double album recorded on their first tour.Tracks were chosen by the fans, and we have an absolute winner here. Some songs from the album but their takes on things like Ramsey Lewis's'wade I The Water', blues classic 'Rollin' and Tumblin' and John sebastion's 'Darling Be Hme Soon' really lift this album to new heights.From their oen album 'Midnight In Harlem'(best song in 2011 for my money) and 'Bound For Glory' just tear the tiles off in their absolute brilliance.Most of the songs are quite long, but how they develop them Susan Tedeschi's voice along with co vocalist Mike Matheson , the amazing horn section.This is not a small band but it's so tight,so full of some of the best musicians around today mark this album as utterly unmissable.Derek Trucks toured a few years ago with Eric Clapton's band and folk were asking 'Who is he', raving about his guitar playing,he also tours with The Allman Brothers Band, which is one of the world's greatest gigging and jam bands. So all that can be said here is this is an album that must nbe heard by a band if there are any rights should be filling arenas and stadiums around the world,who knows they soon could be.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2012
Put simply, whether you love or hate this double "live" album will be determined by your appetite for elongated, deconstructed versions of treasured songs, the majority of them over ten minutes in length with a rendition of Stevie Wonder's "Uptight" clocking in at a whopping sixteen minutes.

Last year's Grammy-winning debut album "Revelator" was an ultra-tight, carefully choreographed affair that brilliantly blended together blues, rock, jazz, funk and world music into a sharply-focused whole. This one is its polar opposite, with the band taking every available opportunity to stretch out and show its instrumental prowess.

There's enough previously-unrecorded material here to head off any complaint about the band merely cashing in quickly with a live version of their one and only studio album so far, and in that respect there are certainly some surprising song choices.

The title track, made famous by Harry Nilsson in 1969, kicks things off in sprightly fashion, whilst there are also notable versions of Elmore James' "Rollin' and Tumblin" and John Sebastian's "Darling Be Home Soon", the latter illuminated by a truly statuesque Derek Trucks guitar solo.

"Learn How To Love You" is a heavier and more muscular version of the song that appeared on "Revelator", whilst "Bound For Glory" - another song off the studio album - boasts Trucks' scorchiest solo on the record.

Taking into account both "Revelator" and the more recent DTB albums, Kofi Burbridge's flute has been employed far too sparingly for this reviewer's liking but it is finally unleashed here in a joyously jazzy rendition of "Nobody's Free".

Susan Tedeschi is in fine voice throughout, her most soulful delivery reserved for Pearl Woods' "That Did It", whilst the set ends with an absolutely stunning ensemble treatment of the gospel standard "Wade In The Water" that showcases the band's versatility to ever greater effect.

Quibbles? Just a couple of minor ones. Trucks' solos sometimes seem too deliberately set up and signposted, instead of just flowing naturally within the song, an example being the pregnant pause of hushed anticipation before he dives in on "Midnight In Harlem". As a result, despite the impressive pyrotechnics, it lacks the sublime ebb and flow of the studio version that was played with absolute economy, every note contributing towards an intense and spectacular crescendo. This time, there's more in the way of fireworks, but at the expense of the raw emotion of the original.

And as for that 16-minute version of "Uptight" - I'm just not sure that the scat singing section in mid-song truly does it justice, whilst I honestly believed that extended drum solos had finally and thankfully had their day way back in the 1970s. Despite some admirable interplay it isn't TTB's finest moment, but let's keep things in perspective. We're talking about probably the most accomplished live band anywhere out there at the moment, and there won't be many better live releases, this or any other year.
22 comments|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2012
I have just bought this album on audiophile vinyl and I have to say it is brilliant. The musicianship is superb. Maybe the other reviewers only heard it on a car sterio or MP3 player but I cannot fault the production. I like Revelator a lot but this is definitely better. ST really lets loose and the other musicians have the opportunity to enjoy themselves. Yes it is a bit of a jam session at times but to me that is what live music is about. BtW its nothing like Electric Ladyland (which is one of my all time favourites) more like a disciplined Allman Brothers (not surprising I suppose). It will probably only appeal to those serious about their music though.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
I never write reviews, but this album really warrants one. Derek made it clear from the outset that this was meant to be a family band, influenced by bands like Sly and the Family Stone, where everyone is musically equal. So because of this, there are lots of solos on this album - bass solos, drum solos, guitar solos from man and wife, trumpet solos - you name it.
In short, this album is amazing. The band rises and falls as a whole and creates energy that is utterly unrivalled in music today. The music is a real force that really moves you and the organic feel of this record shines through from the recording - from the tender 'Darling I'll Be Home Soon' to the jiving cover of 'Uptight'. There's so much to this album and I really can't praise it enough!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2012
about this magnificent band and this album. Been a fan of Susan Tedeschi for a long time and was lucky to see Derek Trucks in his days with Clapton.

If your streching the songs out you better be (a) highly musical and (b) do the covers justice

The title track is absolutely 10 star reconstruction of the song and Ms Tedeschi could be mistaken for early Bonnie Raitt, that's how good her vocal is. Darlin' be home soon is one of my all time favouirite Lovin Spoonful songs and a 10 minute version worried me but hey a very soulful vocal and some beautiful guitar work makes it one of the best covers I've heard.

End of the day you'll love it or hate it I suppose but this is one hell of a band and a truly great singer on top form
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
I bought this album having previously had the studio version. The live performance of Tedeschi Trucks is as good as many bands achieve in the studio. These are top grade musicians, the Derek Trucks band have been around long enough to establish an enviable reputation & the addition of Derek's wife, Susan Tedschi with her powerful flawless voice raises the bar considerably.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
This is a band which has got under my skin. I have not yet had the pleasure of seeing them live and whilst I understand the economics of touring such a large ensemble of superb musicians I would remind promoters that appreciative audiences exist in the UK outside London. On the strength of this offerring I know that I and like minded people here in the North of England would not be disappointed. I particularly love the version of "Everybody's Talking" and whilst I feel that "Uptight" doesn't work as well as it should everything else is on the money. A righteous noise and an uplifting experience.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I gave the band's debut album "Revelator" a 5-star review and when I saw them in concert soon after I was impressed by the really tight show that they put on - I expected lots of long solos but everything was much as on the record. One year on and this new live CD includes 4 songs from that album but also other songs including versions of Stevie Wonder's "Uptight" and the title song Harry Nilsson's "Everybody's Talkin'". All the songs have long extended solos, including not only Derek's wonderful slide guitar but also flute, keyboards, drums etc. and I've got to say that I much preferred the tighter album versions - although I'm sure these extended versions were fine if you were actually there. This is in line with the jamming that the DTB used to do and looking at the Tedeschi Trucks Band's tracks on YouTube most of them have variations of anything between 4 and 10 minutes. However, the live sound on this record is excellent and Susan's voice is superb throughout, the attack she can generate is amazing but she can also be very subtle.

The remaining songs are a strange collection of old-style commercial R&B including Bill Withers' "Kissin' My Love", Joe Cocker's "Darlin' Be Home Soon" and Bobby Bland's "That Did It". The only actual straight blues "Rollin' and Tumblin'" was quite restrained and is the shortest track on the record. My favourite track is probably the great old gospel song "Wade in the Water" which features Susan with back up vocals from the guys. Roll on the next studio record...
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
The Tedeschi Trucks Band was one of those groups I'd read about but always suspected might be a bit conservative in comparison to the kind of guitar heroes in my collection which includes the likes of John Scofield, Bill Frisell, John Abercormbie and Mary Halvorson. Throw in jazz anti-hero Jeff Parker in to the mix and you would seem to have all bases covered for creative guitar playing. Well, having caught the TTB play live at this year's Vienne Jazz Festival my casual dismissal of their music was a huge miscalculation as they proved to be one of this year's highlights. Billed as part of the blues night alongside Buddy Guy, the music proved to be hugely polished and professional. Delivered by an eleven piece band, the concert seemed to feature one quality song on top of the other. Tight as an ensemble as well as allowing the musicians to stretch out in their solos, I was reminded of a number of excellent big bands that I have caught over the years. Granted that the band is dominated by Truck's wonderful slide guitar and Susan Tedeschi's smoky voice, the band seems to have it's own style which captures blues, funk and country yet this is all captured with a jazz sensibility which is important to me. If you are coming from a jazz background, there is enough real music on this double Cd to keep you more than satisfied - if the terrific grooves and energy hasn't already grabbed you.

Having snapped up some of their recordings, this one really captures what the band sound likes whereas the studios sessions are more produced. There are moments where things are overlong ("Uptight" is allowed to ramble on, for example) but their is an energy about this music which is sometimes missing from live sets. The tune selection is very good with "Midnight in Harlem" being my favourite. I was pretty surprised by the funky treatment of "Everybody's talking" which re-invented this song from it's maudlin origins. Most importantly, this album captures for me exactly why this band was so exciting when I heard them play at Vienne. This is a really terrific record.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
Long stetched out solos and excellent musicians make this band pick up where the old Allman Bros. Band lost its 2 original members.
Higly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.56
£9.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)