Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely honest, but slightly irritating
As a sufferer of anorexia myself, I love reading about recovery stories and ways I can improve and finally get on the road to recovery. I picked this book thinking it was a recovery story, but it is very clear from the beginning that Emma is still suffering from anorexia quite badly. Also, at times, I felt like she was almost 'showing off' how severe her anorexia was in...
Published 19 months ago by Sammy J

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring
Couldn't read this after the middle of the first chapter...an exceptionally depressing read for a recovering anorexic and also monotonous and boring. Like many of the other reviews pointed out, Emma is not recovered and her references to food and weight are dangerous and unhelpful to those still fighting anorexia. I wish Emma all the best and hope she gets the help she...
Published 3 months ago by Lucie Owen


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely honest, but slightly irritating, 3 Aug. 2013
As a sufferer of anorexia myself, I love reading about recovery stories and ways I can improve and finally get on the road to recovery. I picked this book thinking it was a recovery story, but it is very clear from the beginning that Emma is still suffering from anorexia quite badly. Also, at times, I felt like she was almost 'showing off' how severe her anorexia was in her darker days as she keeps repeating her extremely low weight and how she's suffered for 'over a decade'.
On the positive side, I did find the book very insightful and could relate to her thoughts and anxieties very well. She is a wonderful writer and I wish her all the best on her road to recovery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, Honest and a MUST READ, 12 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Emma is the most brilliant writer. This is an incredibly moving book describing her battle with anorexia - a wretched disease which affects too many lives. As a former sufferer, I could identify with lots of what she has written. What stuck out the most for me was the constant anxiety and worry - the ongoing thoughts about food and cleanliness. This is all to real and was at times difficult to read because of the memories it bought back. Emma's account paints a very real picture of what it is like for a sufferer. Emma constantly demonstrates how determined she is to beat this illness - which is why I think its important that others read this wonderful book because you will be shown that the road to recovery is not at all easy. But it IS possible. Thank you, Emma, for being so brave and sharing your story with us. Make sure you also read her other book - The Ministry of Thin: How the Pursuit of Perfection Got Out of Control
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and compelling, 7 May 2012
In 'An Apple a Day' I discovered many real and identifiable emotions and struggles:control, autonomy, identity, addiction, fear ... and yet the book has an underlying sense of hope and strength which comes from the author's honesty and determination. From reading this book (in one emotional sitting!) I have found comfort in the fact that we are not alone in our struggles, no matter how extreme they may be. I am delighted to have found this an open, insightful and intelligent account of this complex illness. Emma Woolf's story will stay with me forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Apple A Day like the fruit - honest, healthy and refreshing!, 19 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interestingly within this book a Doctor tells Emma "It's time to give up anorexia Emma. It's time to grow up." This echoes the general consensus of what people think an eating disorder suffer is - immature and in the grip of a seemingly destructive lifestyle choice. However, Emma gives a voice to those intelligent, rational individuals who just happen to be caught in the grip of a wholly irrational illness. The road to recovery from such a dis-ease is long, frustrating and a times rather funny.

If you wish to read a unique, honest and probably the best account of an eating disorder and recovery look no further. In fact if you wish to read writing of excellence and eloquence look no further than Emma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Positive Look At Anorexia, 16 Feb. 2014
By 
B. Turnbull (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've read a number of books on anorexia, and found Emma Woolf's account to be one of the most hopeful tomes on the subject. Her prose style is well rendered and easy to relate to, while the content is shamefully honest. She doesn't hide the fact that she often felt like a fraud in the presence of so called 'real anorexics' (those undergoing hospital treatment). Though I enjoyed this a lot, it doesn't stack up next to Marya Hornbacher's shockingly grim "Wasted". It's a little heavy on the romance at times, but overall essential reading for those suffering from an ED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Couldn't read this after the middle of the first chapter...an exceptionally depressing read for a recovering anorexic and also monotonous and boring. Like many of the other reviews pointed out, Emma is not recovered and her references to food and weight are dangerous and unhelpful to those still fighting anorexia. I wish Emma all the best and hope she gets the help she needs in order to live and recover fully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings a gentle, lasting sense of hope., 1 Feb. 2013
This book was different from other recovery memoirs I've read. The author developed anorexia when she was 19 and didn't recover until she was 30.

She doesn't go into gory detail of her illness or glamorize it. And she doesn't glamorize recovery either. Her recovery is a struggle and she doesn't end up all fine about food and able to just eat like anyone else. Nonetheless, she does find unexpected comfort and happiness and relief in finally managing to become weight restored .

I was left feeling optimistic rather than feeling that unreal, overblown hope that some books tend to foster. She isn't all sorted. And things are not how she imagined. But they are better, and they are improving, and she has put one foot in the water of being a real person instead of completely numbed to anything but emotions related to eating.

I didn't get that extreme reaction I do to some books, like Oh I LOVED it, or whatever. It gave me a gentler, but more real and enduring, sense of satisfaction and real hope.

It's not gonna change your life or blow your mind, but it might sneak into the crevices and instil some seeds of hope and insight that take root slowly and quietly.

It's not 'anorexic porn'. It's more like REAL real life rather than reality-show real life or fictionalized, tidied-up, edited life.

I would certainly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's made me stop and think- amazing, 12 May 2013
This book is amazingly written and makes someone stop and think about anorexia in a completely different light.

I've personally lost three stone and I regularly run (training for my first marathon in October) so I can understand how a diet can spiral out of control and in to something so much deeper and dangerous. Emma's words makes me stop and think about restricting my food and to not be scared about putting weight back on. I keep reminding myself that if I have something 'bad' I won't gain three stone again.

It also made me recognise that I should exercise to get stronger and fit rather than simply burning the calories. Consequently it's also okay to take a rest day, even two and if I don't do anything all that day but just walk briskly I'm not going to get unfit or put on weight. It's made me recognise that weighing myself before breakfast, after breakfast, after lunch and after dinner is not right.

Such an inspiring read and loving her column. There are a lot of women and men who don't have eating disorders per say but they are on a dangerous path and on a middle ground. This has woken me up and if I only run 4 miles instead of 6 that day I don't beat myself up. Thank you :) I have every faith in you that you are going to get better. Take care :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW - opinion of fellow anorexic struggler, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a 17 yr old girl who has recently entered recovery for anorexia.
I bought this book with, admittedly, low expectations; I've never been one for self-help books or autobiographies.

But oh. Wow.
Only on page 7 and I felt that someone had written down exactly what was going on in my head. I cannot even begin to describe how amazed I was to be able to read about someone I could relate to on this condition that dominates my life. It is written both truthfully and thoughtfully. Emma Woolf is very considerate of how she portrays what went on in her head during her journey.

For any fellow anorexic nervosa sufferer/recoverer (or someone who knows a sufferer and wants to understand what is going on inside that head) I would recommend you to pick up this book straight away. It will not patronise you in the slightest, it will offer support instead as I am sure you can relate to it as well as I can.

It is an incredible book and I am so grateful that Emma was brave enough to make this public. It has been a great comfort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Written, Frankly Honest and Truly Inspirational, 26 Jan. 2013
After enjoying Emma's weekly appearances on 'Supersize vs Superskinny' I was intrigued to read her book.

'An Apple a Day' is beautifully written and frankly honest as Emma describes her journey recovering from anorexia. Having suffered with an eating disorder for 18 months I was amazed at how much I could relate to (I too have a fat phobia!) I have some incredible friends who have supported me, but they often find it hard to understand why I find it so hard to eat. This book made me feel comforted that I'm not alone in my battles.

While Emma doesn't claim to have the 'secret' to getting rid of anorexia (if only it were that simple), she does offer a number of useful tips of which have helped her get to the point she is now. And, for me, reading about her journey to recovery gave me the boost I needed to progress with mine.

This book is essential reading for anyone affected by an eating disorder, and anyone who wants to understand more.

Thank you Emma, I know I'll be reading this book again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews