Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars22
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£16.49+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 July 2012
Convince yourself and go buy it.
The combination Muddy Waters - The Rolling Stones is excellent.
Excellent quality of sound and image.
What a big surprise if you compare it with that ugly bootleg
that was circling for years now.
Just wonderful.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
I bought this DVD purely because the Rolling Stones were performing and I am so glad I did. This is an awesome show from Buddy Guy's Club. To see the great Muddy Waters and Buddy Guy perform their music was wonderful. I am now a fan of the blues and will be looking for music of this genre to add to my vast musical collection. A real "must see" show. Buy it.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
A great variety of musicians and the fact that the gig was clearly pre-arranged doesn't diminish the authenticity of the chemistry on stage. Ronnie's concentration clearly shows that there hadn't been much, if any, rehearsal: but not a wrong note struck. Jagger doesn't play a significant part in the DVD and that is as it should be: but his performance is also excellent.

Reviewers who complain that this was not a spontaneous jam session should consider how a fan of the blues, introduced to the genre by the Brian Jones inspired Stones would feel seeing such a performance. I was lucky enough to see the Stones with Brian but a dream come true would be to attend an event such as this: small venues is what the greatest rock and blues band do best and the environment the blues belongs in. An added bonus is the involvement of the 6th original Stone on the piano. Ian Stewart was the glue that held these wayward troubadours together and his playing is, as always, flawless.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2012
If you a Muddy Waters / Rolling Stones / pure blues fan....then this is it ! was worth the wait !To see so many blues greats on the same small stage jamming is pure musical bliss !
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
Good quality, exciting content. A strange, amazing night in a foggy bluesy club, that shows children playing with their father. Keith & Ron swimm in well known waters, anyway what else we're supposed to do..? Watch & Listen. Great..!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
apart from the whole thing being set up it is a damn good session and introduced me to some new guitarists who were backing it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2012
Everything I expected. Good sound and picture quality. The line-up absolutely great. The atmosphere of the gig was really caught on camera. Muddy at his best with his proteges The Rolling Stones doing the backing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
Would that I could go down to my local blues club and see a stageful of legends jamming away to themselves and the audience. Other than the playing, and we'll come to that in a minute, this is hardly spontaneous stuff: cameras, the Stones bringing their own guitars, and none of that "what the hell key is this one in???" that usually accompanies blues jams ... The Rolling Stones, in their Brian Jones, pre-fame days, would have signed their souls away for a session like this ... and who knows, the fact that this DVD exists might well indicate they did. But was it worth it???

Well, maybe for them in that they played onstage with Muddy Waters it was worth it ... maybe for the lucky bods in the audience it was worth it ... but for us now??? I can't help but think it was one of those occasions that you really had to be there ... Like a lot of these things, and I've taken part in many rambling blues jams over the years, what sounded fantastic when you did it doesn't sound so great the next day ... or 30 or so years on. It's pretty mediocre stuff rendered stellar only by who it is. Sure most of the musicianship is good, Keith plays some lovely solos and Honest Ron Wood performs his usual collection of bum notes, but if this was Rambling Orange Peel And the Crusty Blues Guys from down the road, you wouldn't give it a second listen.

Given all the names involved, this is definitely a case of its being less than the sum of its parts.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2012
Muddy Waters and the Rolling Stones performing live and now in great quality of picture and sound. You would either have to have a pathological dislike of the blues or just not understand both these legendary acts at all to not love this!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
Great one that was recorded in Bluesman Buddy Guy's joint , Muddy Waters with The Rolling Stones
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)