Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't get any better than this
The original line up's three studio albums are here (The Inner Mounting Flame, Birds of Fire & Lost Trident Sessions), remastered versions & all reviewed elsewhere on Amazon, not a lot needs to be said about them, pretty much seminal recordings from first to last song. I would point out that the Inner Mounting Flame has a bonus track, The Noonward Race, live from Mar Y...
Published on 12 Jun 2012 by Mook

versus
2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Do you know all their music?
I bought 'Love, Devotion, Surrender' on vinyl when it first came out. Heard more bits of their music and then nothing for years so bought this box set to appreciate what I had been missing. Excellent quality if you like the albums included. Why three stars? Not so sure I like all of what i have been listening to but that's my problem.
Published 14 months ago by Manxted


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't get any better than this, 12 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Complete Columbia Albums Collection (Audio CD)
The original line up's three studio albums are here (The Inner Mounting Flame, Birds of Fire & Lost Trident Sessions), remastered versions & all reviewed elsewhere on Amazon, not a lot needs to be said about them, pretty much seminal recordings from first to last song. I would point out that the Inner Mounting Flame has a bonus track, The Noonward Race, live from Mar Y Sol festival in 1972, this version is one of the most intense things I've ever heard them play.

The two real gems here are the remastered Between Nothingness & Eternity & the accompanying live bonus disc (over an hour of unrealeased music). The 1973 live album now sounds absolutely stunning, the bass & drums now come to the fore & there are riffs which seem to have been omitted from the original release, an astounding live album. The bunus disc is it's equal, if that's possible & we're treated to great live versions of Hope, Vital Transformation, One Word, Steppings Tones, Awakening & The Dance of Maya. I'm not one for bleating on so if you like the Mahavishnu Orchestra, you will love this - staggering from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You know you know, 24 Oct 2012
By 
Jeremy Walton (Sidmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Columbia Albums Collection (Audio CD)
This box set amounts to the most complete (officially released) collection of music from the original version of the Mahavishnu Orchestra, the band assembled by guitarist John McLaughlin in mid-1971. They produced two studio albums (their attempt at a third finally appeared in 1999) and a live set, which was released shortly before they broke up at the end of 1973. Their technical ability, detailed polyrhythmic compositions (most of which were credited to McLaughlin) and powerful live performances garnered a following which belied the relative inaccessibility of their pioneering instrumental jazz-rock.

Fans already know all this history, and will already have the previously-released albums, so the real questions here concern the new material contained in this set. This consists of a sparkling 15 minute version of "The Noonward Race" from the band's performance at the Mar Y Sol festival on April 3, 1972 (which has previously been released on a compilation, and has been in unofficial circulation for some time), plus a completely new set (lasting just over an hour) of other tracks from the same concerts that produced the "Between Nothingness and Eternity" live album. The band's real forte was in live performance; they toured constantly, and their setlist was completely restricted to the material from the studio albums, so by the time their live show was recorded near the end of their career, they were able to make the execution of this complicated music sound effortless. To have these official live versions of these tracks (as opposed to bootleg-ed versions of varying quality) after such a long time is a real joy, and they perfectly complement the much-loved studio versions.

The packaging of this set is quite nice, with little cardboard sleeves for the discs, and a brief booklet (including some remarks about the band from McLaughlin) giving some recording information. Although it seems to be difficult to purchase in the UK at the moment, I'd recommend perseverance in trying to get hold of it, for the sake of the blistering live performances from this great band from long ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional - the power and intensity is extraordinary., 8 May 2013
By 
Ben Bottle (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Columbia Albums Collection (Audio CD)
You may well own "Inner Mountain Flame", "Birds of Fire", "Between Nothingness and Eternity" and "The Lost Sessions". If you are into The Mahavishnu Orchestra you SHOULD own them.
Well - here, you are going to own them again, and believe me it is worth it!
John McLaughlin, Jan Hammer, Rick Laird, Jerry Goodman and Billy Cobham - the ultimate band. The cohesion, the intensity is palpable; the energy is extraordinary, almost overwhelming.
This amazing group of musicians redefined music.
Jazz Fusion has often been a demanding genre to engage with; there are so many rock elements.
Well, the power of this band leave the likes of Led Zeppelin in the shade, not that I am making any direct comparisons.
Listening to Mahavishnu can be exhausting but, if you give it the space it needs - very rewarding.
I own all the albums mentioned above and treasure them. However this set has unreleased jewels.
"Inner Mountain Flame" has am extra track! A blistering live version of "Noonward Race"
Then on Disc 5 you get the "unreleased" tracks from "Between Nothingness and Eternity" - and this, in my humble opinion really makes this set worthwhile; if you have the others?
The ORIGINAL Mahavishnu Orchestra live and unleashed.
At the time of its release "Between Nothingness and Eternity" contained unreleased tracks; the studio versions eventually appeared on "The Lost Sessions". Now we have Mahavishnu classics from "Inner Mountain Flame" and "Birds of Fire" live for the first time!
Yes there have been countless bootlegs but this is "official".
Relive this amazing and extraordinary band; Jazz Fusion AT ITS BEST!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to a formidable band..., 18 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Columbia Albums Collection (Audio CD)
I have to admit, although I like my prog rock, I never really regarded myself as a Mahavishnu fan. I bought 'Inner mounting flame' some thirty years ago from a second-hand record shop in Bristol and enjoyed a couple of the more accessible tracks ('Dawn' and 'You know, you know') but didn't really bother with the rest of the album. I thought it was bit cold, technical and lacking in melody. However, somewhere at the back of my mind I always felt I never gave Mahavishnu a fair shake, so with an immeasurably better stereo system and our subsequent advance into the digital age, I thought I would give the band another try with this not-too-daunting limited box set from their classic 1971-73 line up. I'm really glad I made the effort.

Mahavishnu Orchestra's music is intense and demanding and is certainly an acquired taste. Their style is harsh, austere, angular, strident, bombastic and a bit bonkers. However, once your ears start to become attuned to the thunder and the fury you start to discern little ribbons of melody and clever rhythmic patterns running under the surface. Coherent tunes start to present themselves, albeit not in an obvious, orthodox fashion, and the whole piece slowly starts to come together. The three studio albums are formidable and compelling. The synergy and interplay between the musicians is spell-binding and the music has a visceral, exuberant quality. Your ear is constantly drawn to the stunning individual performances on offer...McGlaughlin's splenetic, freewheeling guitar, the torrent of noise from that insane violin, Hammer's moody, agile keyboard-work knitting everything together. Billy Cobham's drumming is stunning and worth the price of admission alone. It's not all bile and thunder, though. The light and shade in the performances, the quieter, reflective passages, the subtler, almost pretty interludes provide amazing contrast to the main barn-storming event. What a pity this line up only recorded three studio albums. I'm less convinced about the two live CDs. The recording is less pin-sharp and the performances are inevitably less concise and more drawn out and indulgent.

Just a quick word about the sound on these remasters. In a word, excellent. 'Birds of fire' and 'The lost Trident sessions' are mastered very slightly on the bright side, which I really like, given the denseness and complexity of the performances. 'Inner mounting flame' is slightly warmer with a bit less top-end, but the sound is still perfectly adequate.

All things considered, this is a great box set and at such a reasonable price my advice would be take a bit of a risk, be prepared to put in a bit of time and effort and you may well be rewarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous quality new Live CD + great sounding remasters !!, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Columbia Albums Collection (Audio CD)
This is worth it just for the wonderful unreleased Live CD, and I have to disagree with another review about the sound quality of the other re-releases, because they are MUCH better sounding than any previous releases as I have all of them from the vinyl to original CD to various remasters.

VERY worthwhile grabbing this before it disappears, just like most other Legacy limited editions, although I got it on Amazon UK for 26 and now they want 41...hmmm??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing,as you'd expect!, 2 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Columbia Albums Collection (Audio CD)
This box has just arrived from the USA and does not disappoint. If you know the band then you know what to expect, staggering musicianship and mind bogglingly complex improvising. So far I've listened to the live disc which I've had on vinyl and cd before. The remaster is very nice, the bass drum is now deeper and the mix isn't as muddy as previous versions. Also the bass is now audible with some wonderful playing on track one.
The only problem I have is that I had to pay a customs charge of 12 so be aware of this when deciding whether to buy from America! ( quite why this is unavailable in the UK I don't know )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz Rock defined, 27 Sep 2013
By 
D. F. Beeton (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Columbia Albums Collection (Audio CD)
This is the most sublime music. The musicianship is quite unbelievable. Every player is playing at the top of their game. Cobham's drums, McLaughlin at his finest moment, Jan Hammer sublime solos, Rick Laird jaw dropping bass and Jerry Goodman defining jazz rock violin. Each album is flawless. The live bonus CD is a real treat. It is argued that Miles Davies ground breaking jazz rock fusion albums Bitches Brew and In a Silent Way was the birth of a new music. If that this was the birth then this is the teenage years of jazz rock fusion. Full of energy, bursting with creativity, complex time signatures, fiendish chord changes with elaborate lead lines interwoven. The speed of the playing is pure virtuoso. It must be interesting for these musicians to look back at the CD's on this compilation and think, I was at my finest. Pure channeled inspiration. A masterpiece. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mahavishnu fan MUST have, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Columbia Albums Collection (Audio CD)
The unreleased live cd5 is simply stunning, the power and inventiveness unrivalled to this day imho, this is worth the price on it's own and to also get 4 of the original classics what can I say but Buy now. The first lineup was the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome boxset,gets better after each listen, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Columbia Albums Collection (Audio CD)
tremendous musicians,that compliment one another,even though these albums were performed in the early seventies,the music is still refreshing,as though it was being played today.Timeless classics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the greatest after all these years, 4 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Complete Columbia Albums Collection (Audio CD)
Over 40 years have come and gone since the Orchestra first burst onto the globe - things may come and things may go, but the art school dance goes on forever, and the first Mahavishnu will never, ever, be either bettered or equalled.
Richard House, Winchester
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Columbia Albums Collection
The Complete Columbia Albums Collection by Mahavishnu Orchestra (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews