Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Sound - Looks Good!
First of all, this is not surround sound (although with the 3D sound turned on with blu-rays, you do get the feeling of sound around you - it's just not very directional!).

What it does do really well is improve on the sound that you get with your TV. It's much easier to hear dialogue (even without clearvoice turned on). The bass, while not booming is...
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Blown Away
I have to admit, I am not a 'soundbar connoisseur'. But who is? Here's what you need to know:

- Integrated subwoofer (which allows you to save space on those ugly crates that accompany some sets of speakers)

- 3 HDMI ports to simultaneously connect TV, Bluray, PS3 etc.

- Make sure your TV has an ARC HDMI connection that allows export of...
Published 17 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Blown Away, 3 July 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG NB2520A Speaker Bar System with Integrated SubWoofer Sound Bar (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I have to admit, I am not a 'soundbar connoisseur'. But who is? Here's what you need to know:

- Integrated subwoofer (which allows you to save space on those ugly crates that accompany some sets of speakers)

- 3 HDMI ports to simultaneously connect TV, Bluray, PS3 etc.

- Make sure your TV has an ARC HDMI connection that allows export of information from the TV to the soundbar - if it doesn't however there is still a 3.5mm jack connection or an optical audio connection

- The adjustable height feature is a bit of a gimmick, its like standing on a Thomson local

- There are a lot of fancy and stylised sound options: "Natural, Bypass, Bass, Clear Voice, Game, Night, Upscaler, Loudness" of which none felt particularly right - separate bass and treble controls would have sufficed - on this note, the trumpeted "3D Sound" takes a lot of getting used to; analogous to ramping up the high end treble to full.

Here is what you need to do:

If you want to get a neat soundbar for tidiness then your best option may be a wireless one; we are all well versed in the spaghetti junction of the modern day living-room. But if you do not mind the wires this is still a very smart way to jazz up those awful in built TV speakers. There are some fantastic speakers designed to link up to desktops and computers around this price-band. In fact the lines between speakers and 'home-entertainment' systems are so blurred these days your best bet is to pop down to your local retailer and try them all out for yourself; and then if they can't get close to amazon's comptetitive prices come back here and bite the bullet.

Whilst this soundbar is much better than my tv speakers, I cant help but think there may be much better sounding speakers on the market for this price - do your research and don't rush your purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Sound - Looks Good!, 3 Feb 2013
This review is from: LG NB2520A Speaker Bar System with Integrated SubWoofer Sound Bar (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
First of all, this is not surround sound (although with the 3D sound turned on with blu-rays, you do get the feeling of sound around you - it's just not very directional!).

What it does do really well is improve on the sound that you get with your TV. It's much easier to hear dialogue (even without clearvoice turned on). The bass, while not booming is certainly present and adds to the atmosphere both on TV, Blu-ray and the PS3.

The bar looks great with my 37" LG LCD (exactly the same width), and gives a boost to sound without trailing wires and multiple boxes. One thing not mentioned in the description is that it comes with an IR repeater in case the soundbar obscures the TV IR reciever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


124 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome bit of kit, 29 Dec 2012
This review is from: LG NB2520A Speaker Bar System with Integrated SubWoofer Sound Bar (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I received the LG NB2520A as a Christmas present after much research into surround sound systems without the trailing wires. It was also the top rated sound bar reviewed by Which? magazine.

In the box you will find:

1x LG NB2520A
1x Power cable
1x Remote
2x AAA batteries
1x HDMI lead
2x Height adjustment feet
1x Instruction Manual
1x Warranty
1x Cleaning cloth

Rear Connections:

3x HDMI
1x ARC HDMI (Audio Return Channel) Sound Bar to TV
1x USB
1x Optical
1x AUX In
1x IR Out

The LG NB2520A 2.1 surround sound system and has two 3" down firing sub woofers located at either end of the bar and six built in speakers. The overall output of the unit is 80W, Ideal for a small to medium sized room, and is just under 1 metre in length (880 x 81 x 119mm). I have mine in my bedroom just under my HDTV which is a 40" Samsung and looks great. Anything smaller and it may look a little too big.

I found it pretty easy to set up (around 20-30 mins) just by connecting the HDMI lead supplied from the sound bar to the TV, then the HDMI leads from my Xbox and PS3 to the sound bar. You can also use an Optical cable from the sound bar to your TV. You can also easily hook up an iPod or other music device to the sound bar.

The sound bar has touch sensitive controls on the top and a LED display on the front as well as the IR sensor for the remote control. It has various sound settings such as:

3D Virtual Surround
Dolby DRC
Dolby DTS
Natural
Bypass
Bass
Clear Voice
Game
Night
Upscaler
Loudness

The sound i find is just about right, the sound is very clear and bass very punchy. The surround sound features work very well almost like sitting in a small surround sound theatre (at the right volume). As it has in built subs as opposed to a separate one you wont be drowned out by continuous low bass and you wont have to worry about the house shaking. All in all this sound bar is ideal for a bedroom or small living room, anything bigger and you may want to go with something a bit more powerful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG NB2520A Speaker Bar System with Integrated SubWoofer Sound Bar (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Much easier to set up than reviews implied and once on can be operated from either TV or Sky remote. Impressive depth and breadth of sound. Excellent value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars soundbar, 3 April 2013
By 
John H. Hutchinson (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LG NB2520A Speaker Bar System with Integrated SubWoofer Sound Bar (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Superb! If you have one, connect direct to your PVR. You might have to set TV to recieve "sound" via digital source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LG NB2520A soundbar, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG NB2520A Speaker Bar System with Integrated SubWoofer Sound Bar (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
The LG NB2520A soundbar works great with both an optical cable and HDMI.

Simply connect the optical cable from your TV (if applicable) into the back of the soundbar

For the HDMI connection, connect the HDMI output from the soundbar into the HDMI (ARC) connection on the TV.
Now connect the HDMI cables from your Blu-Ray player, FreeSat, Xbox/Ps3 to the soundbar inputs.

Select the input on top of the soundbar between Optical (TV sound redirection) or HDMI (IN*) Job done

Worth the money, only took 30 minutes to cable up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 10 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: LG NB2520A Speaker Bar System with Integrated SubWoofer Sound Bar (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Recieved this for Christmas after reading the review on Which. I love it, it works really well and adds real depth to the sound that my TV can't match. It was really easy to set up out of the box - althoguh my TV didn't have an HDMI out/ARC socket, so I needed to buy an optical cable (£6) and run this through my Sky HD Box.

I've tried a lot of the sound settings and the 3D Surround is really good, and the 'Clear Voice' setting works well too.

We've cited it in a cabinet under the TV, which I guess might mean we lose some of the effect but it still sounds great.

It isn't massively loud (80W) so probabaly not the answer if you want something to make the TV louder if you're stuggling to hear the TV - however if you want to improve the quality of the sound, then great.

We also now use it for playing music via an auxiliary cable for iPods/Smartphones and via a HDMI cable to the PC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant sound quality, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG NB2520A Speaker Bar System with Integrated SubWoofer Sound Bar (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Having purchased a LG LED TV last year, as other consumers have stated, the speakers on the TV are nothing to shout about. I had been looking for additional speakers but didn't want trailing wires all over my living room..then I came across this LG sound bar, and what a difference it has made. usually the volume on the TV has to be cranked up to give any decent listening performance, not so with this speaker bar...half the normal TV volume gives a crisp sounding performance. It is able to be adapted to your own personal listening preferences without having a boom-box effect from the combined sub-woofer. I had considered the latest Bose speaker bar, but at £200 pounds cheaper, this is the perfect solution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expected more for the price, 16 Mar 2013
By 
Yasmin Mariess (Guernsey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG NB2520A Speaker Bar System with Integrated SubWoofer Sound Bar (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Out of the box it looks a well-made solid piece of kit. Easy enough to connect to your TV / DVD player etc. But, be warned; your TV must have HDMI (ARC) connection or you will have to buy an optical cable to connect it to your TV. Worth checking this out as other reviewers here have had problems connecting to older TVs.
While the audio quality is certainly an improvement on the TV speakers, it is a bit lacklustre for the price; top end frequencies are a bit flat and bass isn't deep enough for my liking. There are 7 sound presets which offer some, but not a great deal of variation, and a 3D effect which does give more dimension to the audio, but with some sacrifice to quality.
Overall; it's a nice bit of kit, but would have expected better performance for the money, and greater integration with my LG TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LG speaker bar NB252OA, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG NB2520A Speaker Bar System with Integrated SubWoofer Sound Bar (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Excellent - really pleased with this item
Sits neatly under the TV without interfering with the view or the TV remote signal
Good range of input sockets including optical so can be used with DVD, Blu-ray etc
Has its own remote and integral sub-woofer
Excellent sound much better than TV and better than what we used to have as 5:1 surround because our speakers were on the floor and masked by chairs, sofa etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews