Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Plant knows - Very interesting read.
This really is an interesting read. It is nothing like the usual flower/plant and garden books. There are some really interesting and thought provoking topics in the book that I couldn't help but keep reading. Did you know flowers can distinguish between light of different colours. If you touch a beech tree it will remember it has been touched. There really are some very...
Published 22 months ago by 01zesty01

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
Book is good enough but did not find anything I didn't know already, which was a bit of a disappointment.
Published 1 month ago by AMWG


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Plant knows - Very interesting read., 3 July 2012
This really is an interesting read. It is nothing like the usual flower/plant and garden books. There are some really interesting and thought provoking topics in the book that I couldn't help but keep reading. Did you know flowers can distinguish between light of different colours. If you touch a beech tree it will remember it has been touched. There really are some very interesting facts and points in this book. You will almost definitely learn something new from reading this book. You will view plants in a different way. I also think this would be a great gift for gardeners or people who like the great outdoors. This book certainly goes beyond expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly fascinating, 11 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an absolute revelation without requiring any interest in or knowledge of plants. By the end of the book you have a new found respect for plants and how they behave and cannot help but look at them in a different way. If there was any reminder needed as to how clever nature can be, this book contains the evidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Plant Knows: A Field Guide to the Senses of Your Garden - and Beyond, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, and very thought provoking. Couldn't put it down once I started reading it and have bought it for a friend who also finds it very interesting. Based on scientific researches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 28 Feb 2013
By 
Ethan Ramsay (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is well written and notes scientific method. Everything seems reputable and the writer manages to relate a plants life very closely to human life considering how different the two ways of life are. This book is incredibly interesting and the writer has even included a few youtube links to help visualise what he describes - although some of the links are down you can find the same thing by searching for it on youtube as there are multiple similar videos to the ones he gives links to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking, 15 Aug 2012
By 
M. D. Holley (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This book is superficially about plants, but for me the main interest is the light it sheds on what it means to be human.

Daniel Chamovitz writes in a very clear, simple and easy to read style. I was able to go through the book from cover to cover in just a few hours.

As he discusses each of a plant's 'senses' (seeing, smelling, touching etc), he always relates the 'sense' technically to what happens in animals, and then shows how similar chemical processes underlie the same 'sense' in plants. It is fascinating to ponder just how closely related animals are to plants, and how much 'awareness' plants somehow have.

The discussion of plants as being in some sense 'aware' is very thought provoking, because plants have no brain or central nervous system. Which leads one to wonder whether animals, including humans, retain plant like 'awareness' apart from their brain in a similar way (my speculation - Chemovitz does not comment on this).

It is clear that a lot remains to be found out about plant life via further research.

This book is not in any way cranky or sensational. The author is very low key and simply outlines recent scientific research. Earlier this year I read Rupert Sheldrake's book 'the Science Delusion' which discusses ideas of consciousness outside of the animal kingdom, among many other zany ideas. Sheldrake is much more of a character than Daniel Chamnovitz and unfortunately some of Sheldrake's science is decidedly flaky and cranky. Daniel Chamovitz, on the other hand, in his low key and methodical way, opens up some robust science in this area, which is very welcome.

Why only fours stars? It's so methodical and low key that I didn't feel overwhelmingly inspired as I do by the very best books. But I still thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant little book to update your plant behaviour knowledge, 10 May 2013
By 
I read this through in maybe 6 hours on a flight and was fascinated. It was an easy read that updated a lot of the interests I had as a biology student over 30 years ago. Much of the research - relatively easy experiments - about tropisms (plant movements) has been done in the last thirty year and these are expanding our overall grasp of the complex plant - environment interaction.
My only complaint would be that the book is too short - 180 pages but these are short, large print pages - perfect for reading on a plane though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of information, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an ideal book for those who would like to begin to understand how plants communicate with their neighbours and the outside world. Plants are not dull static things that sit there at the mercy of their surroundings all that might befall them - they can fight back! I read it all through quite quickly and learned a great deal. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing botanical facts in an easy-to-read format, 22 July 2012
By 
C. R. Thomas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How good to find an up-to-date serious book on the amazing botany of plants that is easy to read. I just flowed through it. And learned more about how I may help (or hinder) my own plants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Plant knows etc., 2 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very interesting and informative book which I couldn't put down once I'd started it. It is the type of book I will read many times or just dip into it when there is something specific I want to recall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleased I bought it., 28 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting book and I would especially advise vegetarians to have a look at it. Or not...they might give up eating altogether.
I now find it a lot easier to have meaningful conversations with my broccoly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6498d08)

This product

What a Plant Knows
What a Plant Knows by Daniel Chamovitz
6.43
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews