Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunning
This is a gorgeous book. I got this after reading a balanced review on a gardening blog I read by "wellywoman".
I especially loved the photography. Its also quite a thick book so you do feel that you are getting your moneys worth (especially at the price that Amazon are selling it at)
If you like Monty or if you like looking and reading about gardening this is a...
Published on 26 Mar. 2012 by Piano learner

versus
36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some interesting snippets but a lot of repetition
I was given this book as a birthday present because it is a family joke that most of my gardening 'wisdom' is prefaced by "Monty says..." so, yes, I'm a fan and maybe that's why I was disappointed by this book, a lot of it felt eerily familiar. In short there is very little in this book that isn't covered in more depth in 'The Complete Gardener' or 'The Ivington...
Published on 8 Jun. 2012 by Joaozinho2


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunning, 26 Mar. 2012
This is a gorgeous book. I got this after reading a balanced review on a gardening blog I read by "wellywoman".
I especially loved the photography. Its also quite a thick book so you do feel that you are getting your moneys worth (especially at the price that Amazon are selling it at)
If you like Monty or if you like looking and reading about gardening this is a good book to keep going back to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some interesting snippets but a lot of repetition, 8 Jun. 2012
By 
I was given this book as a birthday present because it is a family joke that most of my gardening 'wisdom' is prefaced by "Monty says..." so, yes, I'm a fan and maybe that's why I was disappointed by this book, a lot of it felt eerily familiar. In short there is very little in this book that isn't covered in more depth in 'The Complete Gardener' or 'The Ivington Diaries'. Even between chapters there is a lot of repetition, the passages on peas are a good example.
I realise that this is partly due to the format, in which each chapter is based around a month so that you can dip in and out but it still seems a case of poor editing and/or a way to pad out the book.
The writing is full of Monty's usual infectious enthusiasm as he waxes lyrical about the joys (and frustrations) of gardening and is full of useful bits of advice. I find his books a useful counterpoint to the more formal advice laid down in RHS manuals and reading his books always gives me new ideas (albeit scaled down - we don't all have the luxury of a couple of acres and ample funds).
However, if you want tips on how to garden buy 'The Complete Gardener' it's an excellent reference book. If you want to read about the development of Longmeadow, buy 'The Ivington Diaries' - an inspiring account of how the Dons created and maintain their garden. This book just feels like a chance to cash in on the recent Gardeners' World series and offers nothing new, bar a few references to the poor weather of 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good For Vegetable Growers, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved his narrative, his enthusiasm, especially for those who grow vegetables. I would recommend this book to any general gardener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gardening with an expert, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a great fan of BBC Gardeners World so it was a natural urge to request Monty Don's "Gardening at Longmeadow" as a birthday present. On the TV programme, he is so easy to listen to with simple and distinct instructions and information and these attributes are very much carried into the book as it is just like listening to his easy, natural presentation. For example in the book he has a section on snails which are the bane of my gardening life and he not only talks about snails in general but also describes the different kinds of snails and how their habits differ so making it necessary to see what kind of snails one is trying to deal with and so choose the correct "attack" which is not necessarily synonymous with killing. A good read and an excellent reference book for the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gardening at Longmeadow - Monty Don, 19 Jun. 2012
By 
Keven Hearn (Cieux, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my wife - an avid gardener and "Gardener's World" addict - but found Monty's gentle, flowing style has inspired me to not only read it....but to start gardening. An excellent book.....his enthusiasm and love of gardening shines through! Highly recommended......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gardening book, 29 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is extremely useful as regards what time of the year to plant vegetables, it is very easy reading and gives many, many useful tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read and down-to-earth gardening advice, 25 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a confirmed fan of Monty Don this latest book was a must-have. He is a practical gardener ( like the late Geoff Hamilton) and you know that what he says re gardening, planting,dealing with pests and other problems will work, because he has been there, done that and learned through his own experience. As he takes you through the gardening year, with lovely illustrations as a bonus, you cannot help but be enthused and want to get going in your own patch. Buy it, --it's worth every penny !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gardening at Longmeadow by Monty Don, 10 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Length:: 1:40 Mins


Gardening at Longmeadow

In my video I have done a review of Monty Don's Gardening at Longmeadow,I really hope you find it interesting.

Mark Abbott-Compton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated and informative, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a gift for my husband who has recently become very interested in gardening after a lifetime of just mowing the lawn and he is absolutely delighted with the book. Monty Don's writing is both informative and readable and the photographs of his garden are beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for gardeners!, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have a house in France, as well as Tasmania which requires 2 kinds of gardening. This book has so many hints and ideas for my garden in. France and complements the TV program I watched while in France last year. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gardening at Longmeadow
£9.51
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews