Customer Reviews


206 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it
a really good book brought everything alive . I wish I had a little Cornish house that someone had left me.
Published 8 months ago by Tricia

versus
51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seduced by the cover
Admittedly I was seduced by the cover! This is a gentle, effortless read - perhaps a little too effortless - but would be a great beach book if you don't want a challenging read on hols. Also you'll need to be able to forgive some well-worn concepts: handsome men with white teeth, glowing tans and chiseled jaw. One even had a 'hurt puppy' look. Shivers run up spines,...
Published on 15 Jun 2012 by FrancescaD


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seduced by the cover, 15 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Cornish House (Paperback)
Admittedly I was seduced by the cover! This is a gentle, effortless read - perhaps a little too effortless - but would be a great beach book if you don't want a challenging read on hols. Also you'll need to be able to forgive some well-worn concepts: handsome men with white teeth, glowing tans and chiseled jaw. One even had a 'hurt puppy' look. Shivers run up spines, words desert, breathing and hearts stop, and at one stage the heroine ponders 'wild sex'. Now and again the flow of the book is interrupted by a kind of emotional U-turn eg. One minute the hero and heroine are clasped together, full-length, front-to-front in the kitchen, and the next moment are discussing central heating!
But, all that aside, the author presents a wonderful picture of Cornwall, and the book is worth reading for that alone. I wouldn't call this a page turner, it's not rivetting, but if you read it for what it is - a gentle romance in a beautiful setting, you'll be satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average romance, 11 Sep 2012
By 
JM (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cornish House (Paperback)
This was not quite the book I had expected. The description led me to believe that there would be plenty delving into the past, as it mentions the generations of women who lived in the house before, but this was not really a major part of the story.
Widow Maddie inherits an old house in Cornwall, and moves there with her stepdaughter Hannah. She tries to find out about the woman who bequeathed her the house and why, this is as far as the history bit goes. Mostly the book is about the relationship between Maddie and her revolting stepdaughter, I suppose a sign of good characterisation here because I loathed Hannah, she needed a good slap, but to be honest I just found her infuriating and the way Maddie dealt with her was quite pathetic. The other theme in the book is Hannah's friendship with an elderly local man, and Maddie's romantic entanglements with various men.
If you enjoy romance novels you will probably like it, for me it was a bit of a non event, not what I expected and a bit bland, but readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn!!!, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cornish House (Kindle Edition)
Was highly disappointed in this book , only read all of it to see if got any better ... it didn't . Sorry , but not for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A perfect holiday read, 25 May 2013
This review is from: The Cornish House (Kindle Edition)
I was initially drawn to this book by the cover and was really looking forward to reading it. I thought it would be set in the style of two eras , past and present day and we would become involved in both stories. However, this wasn't the case and I found the story very slow to begin with. Once , I was about a third of the way in ,it started to take pace and I became very involved. It is a very easy read with a bit of a predictable ending , but I would still recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 22 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Cornish House (Paperback)
I started to read this based on good reviews on Amazon but was really disappointed.The relationship between the stepmother and stepdaughter was not particularly believable. The way the stepdaughter behaved, her language and actions were terrible, far too OTT and I can't believe this had not been dealt with and was just ignored and allowed to continue. It really annoyed me to the point it detracted from the actual story. I didn't finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Romantic and Effortless Summer Read, 26 May 2012
By 
Susie B - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cornish House (Kindle Edition)
Artist, Maddie, recently widowed and struggling to cope with the loss of her husband, discovers that she has inherited a house in Cornwall from an unknown relative and hoping that a move to pastures new will be the much-needed fresh start for her and her step-daughter, Hannah, she puts aside any misgivings and decides to make the move from London. The house in Cornwall, named Trevenen, has been rather neglected, but it is a beautiful, rambling home with a wonderful character and feeling to it and, as Maddie discovers more about the house and of its previous occupants, she finds herself becoming very attached to her new home and soon she almost feels as if she is a part of it - especially when an old chest is found which contains family papers, a diary and photographs, providing Maddie with some interesting information about her previously unknown family.

However, Maddie cannot really start to enjoy her new life because Hannah, who is understandably bereft after losing her father, is initially determined to find fault not just with Maddie, but with the new house as well and, when Maddie becomes friendly with a local man, Mark, Hannah decides to make life as difficult as she can for them, which causes all sorts of problems. However, as time passes and the warmth of new friends and the magic of Cornwall slowly starts to work on both Maddie and Hannah, they begin to see life in a more optimistic light and Trevenen certainly has its part to play in helping them through their difficult times.

In her debut novel, Liz Fenwick fondly describes the beauty of the Cornish landscape, her descriptions of Trevenen are a pleasure to read and her characters are warmly depicted. However I do have to be honest and say that I found some of this story to be rather predictable and some of the language a little clichéd: men have chiselled jaws, tanned, muscular bodies and smile wickedly; hearts flutter, legs tremble and knees buckle; the archetypal teenage step-daughter slouches about, continually bored, rolling her eyes, muttering "whatever" and "this sucks" which did become a little tedious. But that said, Liz Fenwick has written a heart-warming story of love, loss and healing and if you want a lightly entertaining and effortless read to sink into on a lazy summer day, and you are in the need of something romantic and undemanding then 'The Cornish House' may well fit the bill for you.

3 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me., 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cornish House (Kindle Edition)
23 pages in and very disappointed. The style is women's magazine fiction. Not for me. This is the problem with buying as a kindle download. In a bookshop I would have scanned the opening pages and put it back on the shelf. The stepdaughter irritating, the Nigella Lawson reference cringeworthy. No desire to continue which, from me, is unusual as I always try to finish a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good setting, but I found the handling of one central character tedious, 4 Sep 2014
By 
M. F. Cayley (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cornish House (Kindle Edition)
A recently-widowed woman artist, still in deep grief, inherits a large house in Cornwall from an unknown relative and moves there with her stepdaughter, who is a teenager with major behaviour problems. The heart of the book is the stepmother-stepdaughter relationship, and the way both of them end up transformed. It is difficult to write a novel in which one of the central characters is consistently horrible for most of the book, and I don't think Liza Fenwick has pulled this off. I found the stepdaughter tedious, and for me there was too much repetitiveness in her behaviour and the description of her thoughts and feelings. I did enjoy the setting - the old house and the sense of a small community where everyone knows everyone else's business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Predictable, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cornish House (Kindle Edition)
An ok book for a little light reading.
Quite predictable, but entertaining.
Wouldn't have bought it in hard/paperback.
typical chic lit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a page turner, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cornish House (Paperback)
The title and setting seemed perfect for my holiday in Cornwall - but unfortunately I found it to be a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cornish House
The Cornish House by Liz Fenwick
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews