Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tommy and Bobby at their best.
By the time things have rolled round to series five C&B have reach TV mega stardom. London Weekend TV must have recognised this too because the sets are more expensive, and the quality of guest has increased tremendously. That slow build which started with practically no money and on tiny, nothing sets..grew to approach Morecombe & Wise proportions.

Indeed...
Published on 16 Sept. 2012 by Sharon Woodward

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars What it says it is.
80s comedy in the fashion that these guys do it. I used to laugh when I was a kid and the wife and mother still do so if it keeps them happy it's good for me!
Published on 29 Mar. 2013 by SABRE


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tommy and Bobby at their best., 16 Sept. 2012
By 
Sharon Woodward "DGTW1" (A land where the Laserdiscs roam free!) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cannon and Ball - The Complete Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
By the time things have rolled round to series five C&B have reach TV mega stardom. London Weekend TV must have recognised this too because the sets are more expensive, and the quality of guest has increased tremendously. That slow build which started with practically no money and on tiny, nothing sets..grew to approach Morecombe & Wise proportions.

Indeed C&B's cross-talk and sketches were very much like Eric & Ernie's, right from the start, as was how they interacted with guests. And with good reason too, Sid green was writing their material for them. The same Sid Green who had written for Morecombe and Wise, with his writing partner Dick Hills.

By now there were more writers in the scripting melange too, as well as Tommy and Bobby's own unique touch thrown in for good measure. This great writing and T&B's unique ability to go "off script" and then back without losing the beats of the sketch or play just shows how much they too had flourished as performers. They had really found their feet at LWTV.

Possibly the definitive version of how to put on a variety show onto TV, and worthy successors to the M&W crown of top double acts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories of times past and times never to be again, 1 Aug. 2012
By 
Mr. Simon Ambler "bookyou" (wakefield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cannon and Ball - The Complete Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic is all i can say about Bobby Ball & Tommy Cannon (Cannon & Ball).

Their sketches are great old fashioned family fun while at times might be a bit corny but this brings back lots of childhood memories for me, one of which was when i was on stage with them at the Bradford Alhambra.

The timing is great, the quality of the video is excellent and i will continue to buy ALL of their series (i own all previous 4 sets).

Get back to the 80's, get some ben and jerry ice cream and have a great night in with the lads. my son loves Bobby.

I have been saying for years that they should release their shows on dvd and finally we get the chance to own all of them. you will not be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cannon & Ball, 22 April 2013
By 
Mr. David John Cole "capri30ghia" (Yateley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cannon and Ball - The Complete Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyable wail down memory lane. I remember these lads from back then. Fan's will enjoy this offering. I would recomend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What it says it is., 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cannon and Ball - The Complete Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
80s comedy in the fashion that these guys do it. I used to laugh when I was a kid and the wife and mother still do so if it keeps them happy it's good for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars cannon and ball dvd, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cannon and Ball - The Complete Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
a great fan of these two comediens, but must admit this dvd is not as good as others we have purchased. very funny in places but overall very disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cannon and ball, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cannon and Ball - The Complete Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
this was brought as a christmas gift, the person i brought it for likes cannon and ball and already got the other 4 series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cannon and Ball - The Complete Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Great laugh, please let me know when series 8 is available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cannon and Ball - The Complete Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cannon and Ball - The Complete Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cannon and Ball - The Complete Series 5 [DVD]
Cannon and Ball - The Complete Series 5 [DVD] by Alasdair MacMillan (DVD - 2012)
£10.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews