Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Considered purchase where size/quality matters
This is by far the best quality ultra compact 1080P Handycam I have ever owned and I have
been buying the flagship models every year since 2009 when new updated (full size) Handycam's
are released. I can recommend this to someone who wants the best quality in a tiny package.
A few pro's and cons are as follows:

+ Crystal clear 1080P clarity with...
Published 20 months ago by Choong

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars LENS TOTALLY UNPROTECTED
LENS TOTALLY UNPROTECTED
The latest Sony super small full HD camcorder is waterproof, but sadly has no protection for the very sticking out lens. WHY MAKE IT SHOCKPROOF AND WATERPROOF AND LEAVE THE LENS TOTALLY UNPROTECTED.
YES IT SHOOTS FABULOUS FOOTAGE BUT I WOULD NEVER DARE PUT IT IN MY POCKET.
Ironically its 2 predecessors both had automatic lens covers...
Published 1 month ago by Christopher W. Brierley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Considered purchase where size/quality matters, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony GW55VE Waterproof Full HD Flash Memory Camcorder and Case - White (Electronics)
This is by far the best quality ultra compact 1080P Handycam I have ever owned and I have
been buying the flagship models every year since 2009 when new updated (full size) Handycam's
are released. I can recommend this to someone who wants the best quality in a tiny package.
A few pro's and cons are as follows:

+ Crystal clear 1080P clarity with colors that are realistic and vibrant.
+ Very small form factor (digital camera size), It will fit in a jeans pocket with ease.
+ Very stylish design especially the white one which I opted for.
+ Waterproof to 5 meter, Dust proof, Shock proof. Easy to use touch screen.
+ One second quick start up time unlike 5 to 6 seconds like others (even full sized ones).
+ High quality video even in low light thanks to the Exmor R CMOS Sensor technology.
+ Built in wide angle lens with great macro video/photo capabilities with flash.
+ This bundle includes a case which is water repellent and has a carry strap.
+ Excellent Optical Steady Shot with Active mode for less shaky movie/pics.

- No filter thread to add extra lenses.
- Battery lasts just under one hour although they are cheap to buy.
- No info in battery remaining time in minutes, just in four blocks animation.
- It is not scratch proof. You have to be careful with the lens area.
- The microphone can pick up low zoom engine noise in quiet situations.
- Microphone not as high quality as the full size cams but acceptable.
- The record/zoom/photo buttons are a bit stiff. Some technique is required.

I really like this Handycam and I Highly recommended it. Overall 8 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible quality and very compact, 8 Sep 2013
By 
L Williams "LJW" (Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony GW55VE Waterproof Full HD Flash Memory Camcorder and Case - White (Electronics)
I do a lot of walking, many walks on long distance trails, and I like to take both still photographs and video to record the trips. I already owned a Sony camcorder, however when walking on multi-day trips with a full rucksack, it added considerably to the weight.
This camcorder is perfect. Lightweight, waterproof, rugged, and takes superb quality photos and video... At least as good as the larger camcorder, possibly better.
It comes with a waterproof semi- hard case, with options to hang round the neck or attach to a belt or rucksack strap.
Full of features, this is a sophisticated bit of kit. The only downside is that the zoom control is a little stiff, and I have a tendency to take two photos in quick succession, as the photo shutter button is also a little hard to get used to - both probably because of the waterproof nature of the controls.
All in all, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still learning, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony GW55VE Waterproof Full HD Flash Memory Camcorder and Case - White (Electronics)
very handy for size. A lot more good features I did not expect. Love the GPS feature and the 'play memories home'. Robust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars LENS TOTALLY UNPROTECTED, 28 Aug 2014
By 
Christopher W. Brierley - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony GW55VE Waterproof Full HD Flash Memory Camcorder and Case - White (Electronics)
LENS TOTALLY UNPROTECTED
The latest Sony super small full HD camcorder is waterproof, but sadly has no protection for the very sticking out lens. WHY MAKE IT SHOCKPROOF AND WATERPROOF AND LEAVE THE LENS TOTALLY UNPROTECTED.
YES IT SHOOTS FABULOUS FOOTAGE BUT I WOULD NEVER DARE PUT IT IN MY POCKET.
Ironically its 2 predecessors both had automatic lens covers but were not waterproof, see HDR TG 3 and HDR-TG7VE. The original HDR TG 3 is still the best IMHO, see my reviews of these other 2 camcorders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars There are far better choices, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony GW55VE Waterproof Full HD Flash Memory Camcorder and Case - White (Electronics)
Though a Which? best buy I have found it anything but practical: all the buttons are tiny, often under a flap or lid - try using it on a ski slope, let alone a yacht or dinghy. The sound is atrocious and there is no means to add an external microphone. This product has long ago been overtaken by DSLR cameras for their lenses, or by a GoPro for portability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent results for both movies and stills, 19 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony GW55VE Waterproof Full HD Flash Memory Camcorder and Case - White (Electronics)
Bought the camera just four weeks ago Made a movie of a recent trip to Zambia and the result far exceeded my expectation. The movies are well focused and crystal clear. The camcorder is exceptionally easy to use with few controls.
Negatives:
- In bright sunlight, it is impossible to see the screen with the result that I did not capture the image I was attempting to obtain. Also one could not tell whether the camcorder was recording or on standby with the result that I missed altogether some of the images I was trying to capture.
- The zoom in and out buttons are awkwardly positioned and stiff, I guess due to the waterproof characteristic of the camera with the result that it is difficult not to shake the camera when filming with it in hand.
- The speed of the zoom in or out can not be controlled which results in a jumpy image.
- The microphone picks up a lot of background noise as well as what is happening in the immediate foreground and it proved impossible to edit out when using imovie on my IMAC.

Positives
- Overall the resulting film was excellent given it was my first time using the camera.
- At ciirca £430 the camera delivers a lot.
- Having stood under Victoria Falls getting soaked to the skin, I can attest to the fact that the camera is waterproof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a fantastic camera image quality, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony GW55VE Waterproof Full HD Flash Memory Camcorder and Case - White (Electronics)
We use it for cave video and sea canoeing work. The low light quality is exceptional. The only issues is protection from scratching the front lens glass and very occasionally misting on the inside of the lens glass in acute temperature change conditions. Both are manageable with care (casing)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stunning quality but...., 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony GW55VE Waterproof Full HD Flash Memory Camcorder and Case - White (Electronics)
Stunning video quality and a delight to use. Very small and neat.

Pros
It is tiny for a video camera.
The video quality is excellent, especially in low light.
Battery life seems good although I have ordered another battery.
Very easy to use. It just switches on when the screen is opened and the screen rotates for "selfies" shots.

Cons
The screen is impossible to see in bright light. This by far the worst problem.
There is no filter thread so a lens hood cannot be used.
The camera overexposes by at least one stop although this can be altered to some degree and can be fixed in post.

All in all I am pleased with the camera for holiday use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A fair camera but with Niggles!, 1 Mar 2014
By 
CSMedia (Gospel Oak, London) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony GW55VE Waterproof Full HD Flash Memory Camcorder and Case - White (Electronics)
Pros :

* Small and portable with deemed excellent image quality on video (Some loss on MP4 conversion).
* Supplied with quality white shoulder strap case, though as it fits in the pocket it is not needed.
* Waterproof to claimed depth.
* Quick start up.

Cons :
* The buttons do not always work when pressed. The photo button is also confusing in that it it was thought pictures had been taken but had not, the screen displays refocus and indicates a frozen image if captured.
* The touch screen is unpredictable and sometimes requires tapping several times.
* The zoom can be sporadic and yet if the 'Touch screen' is used, when working, the zoom is very smooth.
* Auto Focus, at times slow or not existent, footage out of focus is experienced especially at night. Touch screen manual override available.
* Problems with screen, despite brightness adjustment, had us missing footage that we thought was recorded or was out of focus.
* Software : Mac users will need to download software "Play memoriesHome", irritation, can be converted to MP4's to run in iMovie.
* Software transfer errors, problems with this method of transfer instead of standard files to drag and drop, result in reboot.
* Software scans for all movies on a computer instead of only those taken with need to scroll through files to find those just uploaded.
* Excessive transfer time takes an age to download 13MB let alone 32MB on micro card(Will publish exact time soonest).
* Over exposes single shot with flash.

Summary : I really wanted this camera to be everything it claimed, the compactness and design is most appealing, it is a disappointment that we eventually had to return it due to poor quality of final image whether the result of a 'duff' camera or if this is what they are all like.

Whilst the GW55VE looks an impressive camera on image quality it is slow to transfer files through sony's software. It will and does open iPhoto on a macintosh that perhaps is a better option to use but not tried.

Where as our previous Flip Ultra was quick to operate and drag / drop files for immediate play this sony only adds more hoops to jump through to get the same outcome, the movie. Is the quality of image worth all the hoops? NO, as the movies will need conversion to MP4 with loss of quality (very noticeable) and some software can not edit in 50 fps.

Would we recommend this product? Ermmm!.....No! To date we have sent it back, it either had problems in running as it appeared to phase in and out of focus in a constant rhythm, more pronounced on MP4 conversion that may be something to do with the stabilisation system.

To date we use our Nikon D5100, cheaper, that can not be slipped into a pocket but outclasses the Sony. We also have two Flip Ultra HD cameras and although are pocket friendly do not have the additional specifications of the Sony or other higher spec cameras. We will continue to search for a decent pocket camcorder and it is unfortunate that the Sony did not meet the expectation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good to read reviews, 9 Mar 2014
This review is from: Sony GW55VE Waterproof Full HD Flash Memory Camcorder and Case - White (Electronics)
I was tempted to buy this model but several reviews showed there was a problem with the control buttons.
I'm glad I read these reviews which have saved me money, I'll look elswhere for a decent video camera now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews