Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars budget price budget quality
The instructions are useless, do not cover the supplied model and confusingly refer to several other cameras.
There are only two camera connections on a very short split cable (400mm), one is for the 12V supply from the supplied AC adapter (approx 1 metre). The other is a BNC male which delivers composite video. To get the video I used a Silver-Crest USB Video...
Published 9 months ago by ancient mariner

versus
38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Home security
For the price the camera is Ok, although the instructions are pointless as they don't seem to cover the camera purchased.
The power and signal lead are too short if you are using it outside as the connectors will be exposed to the elements.
The IR image is a bit poor. Colours are a bit off, no yellow on the one I got, but all I want to do is catch the little...
Published 12 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Home security, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BW® 420TVL CMOS CCTV Weatherproof Color IR Outdoor Security Camera Video Surveillance (Electronics)
For the price the camera is Ok, although the instructions are pointless as they don't seem to cover the camera purchased.
The power and signal lead are too short if you are using it outside as the connectors will be exposed to the elements.
The IR image is a bit poor. Colours are a bit off, no yellow on the one I got, but all I want to do is catch the little b@$t@rd$ who keep smashing my greenhouse glass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars budget price budget quality, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BW® 420TVL CMOS CCTV Weatherproof Color IR Outdoor Security Camera Video Surveillance (Electronics)
The instructions are useless, do not cover the supplied model and confusingly refer to several other cameras.
There are only two camera connections on a very short split cable (400mm), one is for the 12V supply from the supplied AC adapter (approx 1 metre). The other is a BNC male which delivers composite video. To get the video I used a Silver-Crest USB Video Grabber which, with accompanying Cyberlink software, gave me the picture on the PC. You will need something similar to connect to a computer.
There are NO adjustments, exposure etc being determined by software in the camera itself. It switches automatically to monochrome in the dark and the IR leds do the job but with limited range. The mount is basic and can be screwed on the underside or end of the camera body. The "rain hood" will provide little protection outdoors, the protective lens cover screws off the front end and has an O ring seal. It seems one could disable the IR leds by disconnecting a small plug on the pcb accessed behind the lens cover - but why bother?
In normal daylight or standard indoor lighting colour rendition is quite good, a slight yellow tinge under some incandescents, with good auto focus down to approx 500mm. Suits my application very well.
In summary this is a very basic CCTV camera with no frills, good colour and, if all you need is a simple straightforward unit, this is very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for price, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BW® 420TVL CMOS CCTV Weatherproof Color IR Outdoor Security Camera Video Surveillance (Electronics)
This camera makes tree leafs look purple, and at night I can hardly see a thing, would not recommend this, for out outdoor or night use, look clear in well lit areas, in office, home or shops, will be looking to upgrade to a Tek Direct UK - 700TVL SONY CCD Effio-E 36IR OSD on amazon, hopefully that what be suited to me. Also if you go ahead and buy this camera, remember, you need to buy an 12v power charger, and extended cable, and adapters for your RCA or Scart TV/Monitor inputs, The camera does not come with anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ok but not the best value, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BW® 420TVL CMOS CCTV Weatherproof Color IR Outdoor Security Camera Video Surveillance (Electronics)
We bought this because we thought it would save us money. Although it works ok. it's no where near as good as the one we bought for £30 it did not have the cable, so cost £15 more in the long run to put it up. The picture quality was ok, but not brilliant at night. my silver car looked gold and the night vision quality was poor compared to the one we bought for £30. all in.

Try it if you must but i recommend you spend the money else where. dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good for the price, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BW® 420TVL CMOS CCTV Weatherproof Color IR Outdoor Security Camera Video Surveillance (Electronics)
Bought this product to replace a failed 6 year old CCTV camera which is used to monitor the traffic up a main road and round a bend so that I can drive out of the property safely. The first impression of the camera is that it is very small and light compared to the old one. The built seems sturdy and the quality is good. It was very easy to set up and get connected even though the unit came without any instructions on assembly. The cables that come with the camera are rather short. I would have given a 5 stars rating if the cables are say 20-30cm longer. On performance, the day colour image is clear and good for the purpose. However, night vision is grainy because the IR is out of range but I can still see cars coming up the road fine because their headlights are on. Still early days to gauge the reliability of the camera but it has been in operation for 3 weeks without any problems. Overall I would rate this as a good outdoor CCTV camera. Given the low cost of the camera I would probably get another one as spare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home Security, 3 May 2013
By 
Ian.D (Chorley, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BW® 420TVL CMOS CCTV Weatherproof Color IR Outdoor Security Camera Video Surveillance (Electronics)
What a great piece of kit, with cable and power supply from the same company it costs less than £40.00, just plug it in to the TV and go. a great picture, a good solid steady mount, waterproof cable and less power than a mobile phone to run; its one thing that's worth its money for a bit of piece of mind. I also purchased two high quality plastic signs warning the wider world of the presence of a 24/7 cctv link, its amazing the effect it has on the neighbours too! no more parking in front of my drive, no more mysterious dog droppings, and no junk mail stuffed into my letter box!

Its worth every penny just for those reasons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars out door security camera, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BW® 420TVL CMOS CCTV Weatherproof Color IR Outdoor Security Camera Video Surveillance (Electronics)
The camera was easy to fit and you can adjustment is very good the only thing I found was the colour was not very good could not get a strong colour from it out doors , but having said this it was a good price and you get what you pay for
it was fast delivery .
I would recommend it if you need a cheap camera
j turner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great starter CCTV cam., 24 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BW® 420TVL CMOS CCTV Weatherproof Color IR Outdoor Security Camera Video Surveillance (Electronics)
I bought two of these for general outdoor use, and I must admit apart from the occasional spider web they are ideal.

420 lines is not high DEF by any means but more than adequate for home use..

IR is very good. And the image quality at night is very clear,

little interference day or night even with a long 15m cable that's on the one.

Price is very reasonable, and to be honest you can"t blame the spiders for liking the warmth of the IR. but after a few weeks of clearing the webs they get the idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Camera for the money, 10 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BW® 420TVL CMOS CCTV Weatherproof Color IR Outdoor Security Camera Video Surveillance (Electronics)
Daylight colour and sharpness good Night vision (B&W) brilliant. For the price this camera is very good value for the money. Shipped fast. Comes with a BNC connector so had to use an adapator as my connector is RCA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low price but certainly not low quality, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BW® 420TVL CMOS CCTV Weatherproof Color IR Outdoor Security Camera Video Surveillance (Electronics)
I picked this as it was a very competitive price, was the right spec and a UK seller. I hadn't noticed in the description but it also came with a mains power supply which was a bonus as I expected to have to get one separately. It's a sturdy design and as my use for this unit requires modification I was very pleasantly surprised to find it easy to work on. Example, if you wish to not use the ir LED's then simply unscrew the front and unplug them. The focus wheel is also in here and can focus down to 2". These were both requirements I needed, so for me this was a great purchase.

Picture quality:
I purchased this along with a 7" TFT monitor which it worked on fine but I also gave it a test on a 32" TV and the picture was amazing for the price. When the ir LED's are connected the ir worked very well (Only tested indoors so far) and it was like the lights were on in the room.

Mounting the unit:
This unit also come with a mounting bracket that can mount either under the unit or at the back, and as the bracket is adjustable it should certainly cover any angles you may require.

Verdict:
Considering the quality of the image and the easy of adjustment & fixing, I don't see a reason to pay more for a better spec. But as I won't be using it for the usual use of covering somewhere like a car park, I can't comment on the quality at a distance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews