Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it ..
The Turning Point opens in 1952, when Ellen Kingsley takes a scientific appointment at the mysterious Gildersleve Hall; there she comes into contact with the enigmatic Marcus Pharaoh, a distinguished scientist, who is as bold as he is dangerous. Caught up in tragedy, Ellen is forced to make some difficult decisions, and her future, once assured, suddenly starts to look...
Published on 28 Sep 2012 by jaffareadstoo

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars quite a good read
enjoyable but not perhaps one of her best books. I only read it a few weeks ago but cannot recall the storyline, which is unusual for me; the one I read previously, Catching the Tide, was more memorable by far.
Published 19 months ago by Mary


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it .., 28 Sep 2012
By 
jaffareadstoo (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Turning Point (Paperback)
The Turning Point opens in 1952, when Ellen Kingsley takes a scientific appointment at the mysterious Gildersleve Hall; there she comes into contact with the enigmatic Marcus Pharaoh, a distinguished scientist, who is as bold as he is dangerous. Caught up in tragedy, Ellen is forced to make some difficult decisions, and her future, once assured, suddenly starts to look uncertain, as secrets from the past threaten the future.

Easy to read from the opening page, this is one of those lovely books that you can just curl up with and read without having to think too hard about convoluted motive, plot or malice. The story is nicely told, the characters are likeable without any one overshadowing the other, and the fine attention to detail really makes the story flow along, so that you become immersed in the lives of Ellen, India and Marcus.

I am always comfortable reading a Judith Lennox novel; she is a talented story teller and with consummate ease draws the reader into a believable world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging Romantic Saga, 10 Aug 2012
By 
Susie B - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Turning Point (Kindle Edition)
It is 1952 and Ellen Kingsley, an intelligent and beautiful young scientist, has just landed a prime job in scientific research at Gildersleve Hall, Cambridge, under the renowned scientist Marcus Pharaoh. Among the scientists working at Gildersleve, Ellen meets the rather dashing Alec Hunter, the chic Frenchwoman Andree Fournier and the rather taciturn Bryan Redmond, all of whom have been personally chosen by the very charismatic, but manipulative and egocentric Pharaoh. Before long Ellen finds herself becoming very attracted to the darkly handsome Alec but when she sees him in an embrace with Andree, she realizes that Alec is not for her. And besides, she has other things to occupy her, not least the unwelcome attentions of Marcus Pharaoh, who does not react well when Ellen politely lets him know that she is not interested in him. When a member of the scientific team is found dead at the foot of the stairs after a heated argument with Pharaoh, Ellen becomes suspicious and reports her suspicions to John Riley, a policeman who is investigating the death. Riley, affable, attractive and devoted to his job, can find no evidence that Pharaoh was involved in his colleague's death and Ellen thinks that is the end of the matter, but shortly after the police have finished their enquiries, Pharaoh sacks Ellen telling her that she is not suited for the work at Gildersleve Hall.

Ellen moves to London, finds work in a hospital and by chance she meets up with an old school friend, India Mayhew, and her brother, Sebastian. India is beautiful, but damaged, and when Marcus Pharaoh, who is speaking at a conference in London, is introduced to her, he is utterly captivated and determined to win her heart. But Pharaoh gets more than he bargains for when he becomes involved with India, and so indeed does she. Meanwhile Ellen becomes reacquainted with Alec Hunter and falls deeply in love with him, much to the dismay of John Riley, who has become very much attracted to Ellen himself. But the path of true love does not run smoothly for Ellen, as Alec is not quite as he appears on the surface. I haven't given too much of the plot away here, there is a lot more for prospective readers to discover in this big, sweeping romantic novel full of twists and turns and secrets and lies and one that moves from Cambridge to London, to a windswept Scottish Island and then to America.

I downloaded this novel onto my Kindle as I needed something light and pleasant to dip into as a break from a rather harrowing non-fiction title I am reading, and 'The Turning Point' certainly fitted the bill in that respect as it was an undemanding, engaging and entertaining story. This novel is not going to win any great literary awards, it doesn't have a deep and meaningful underlying message and it won't keep you up until the early hours frantically turning pages, but it is an engaging, warm and involving romantic saga to sink into while you are relaxing on holiday, curled up on the sofa or tucked up in bed - and sometimes that's just what we need.

3.5 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars quite a good read, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Turning Point (Paperback)
enjoyable but not perhaps one of her best books. I only read it a few weeks ago but cannot recall the storyline, which is unusual for me; the one I read previously, Catching the Tide, was more memorable by far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Turning Point (Kindle Edition)
I am a fan of Judith Lennox but was disappointed with this. The characters were more superficial and the storyline did not hang together well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant author, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Turning Point (Hardcover)
I love this author's writing, and have read all her books. wasn't disappointed with this one either. Can't wait for next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read from Judith Lennox, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Turning Point (Kindle Edition)
I look forward to reading each Judith Lennox book, I even save them for holiday time so I can dedicate time to read them with few interruptions. There is always a slight sense of trepidation as I first start to read when I hope I will not be disappointed and no I wasn't with The Turning Point. I found it one of the easiest books to get into and gripped by of all Judith Lennox books. I find the stories well researched especially as I usually have experienced the places she writes about.

Judith always writes about interesting independent women and with roles and experiences so connected to the period.

I am looking forward to the next story, thank you Judith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tuurning point by Judith Lennox, 17 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Turning Point (Kindle Edition)
Wonderfully fulfilling read as always. One can rely on this author to tie up ends satisfactorily.She is an excellent storyteller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An engaging read, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Turning Point (Kindle Edition)
In the autumn of 1952, young scientist Ellen Kingsley is thrilled to be joining as a research assistant at the prestigious Gildersleve Hall in Cambridgeshire. Here she is a part of an elect group of scientists led by the enigmatic Marcus Pharaoh; yet there are undercurrents, tensions and rivalries bubbling beneath the surface at Gildersleve that Ellen is at first blind to. However, when she discovers the dead body of colleague Dr Redmond her time at Gildersleve comes to an abrupt conclusion. Ellen later tries to forge a new career for herself in London, yet it seems that her time at Gildersleve cannot be so easily erased from memory as first she bumps into Pharaoh again, then another former colleague the dashing Alec Hunter. It is when her adventurous and beguiling friend India Mayhew becomes caught up with Pharaoh, however, that old secrets come spilling out; and the truth is finally revealed.

The Turning Point makes for an intriguing read, intricately weaving together multiple story threads and characters that seem to connect together quite flawlessly. At times it may seem like the story has changed direction and is heading another way, however, everything comes together in the end, unsolved mysteries and unanswered questions finally revealed.

This is very much a character driven story, Lennox not only painting a vivid picture of her characters, their strengths and weaknesses, their vulnerabilities, but also sometimes delving into complex backstories that help give further layers to her characters and enable the reader to truly get beneath their skin, understand what really drives them and what their darkest most fears are. As such the story itself can sometimes seem a little slow-paced in terms of action, however, the interactions and dynamics between the characters are compelling. Pharaoh and India in particular are intriguing, and contrasted well with the much more sensible and principled Ellen. My personal favourite though was Riley, the steadfast, quietly intelligent and dependable police inspector whose heart Ellen captures early on in the story.

Throughout the story there lurks a certain sense of mystery and intrigue, the opening chapters at Gildersleve having that undercurrent of tension and all not quite being as it seems. Later in the story Lennox vividly portrays life on the Scottish Isle of Seil, capturing the remoteness and wildness quite brilliantly; and the scenes with Ellen staying at Kilmory House with Alec and his mother almost have a slightly menacing quality. I particularly liked the fact that even Ellen, practical and scientific to a fault, finds herself questioning the supernatural, and how in that setting she's less confident of her own beliefs.

All in all this makes for an engaging story, with a wonderful mix of mystery and romance; it is a story about the turning points in life, choices that can have profound consequences for the future, and how the past can never really be escaped, but will always be there behind you when you turn to look over your shoulder, waiting to catch you up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Turning Point, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Turning Point (Paperback)
I love all her books and couldn't put this one down I read it in three days. Unfortunately I have nearly read all of them now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the Turning Point, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Turning Point (Kindle Edition)
Good story line never knew what was going to happen next! A very good gripping read mm mm mm mm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Turning Point
The Turning Point by Judith Lennox
£3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews