Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy reissue of a beloved '80s album
It's hard to believe it's been 25 years since Swing Out Sister's debut was released. "It's Better To Travel" remains an excellent album. "Breakout", the band's signature hit, sounds just as good today as it did back in '87. Thanks to the excellent remastering job, the music sounds good as ever. The horns absolutely shine on this reissue, and Corinne Drewery's lovely...
Published on 21 July 2012 by A. Gift For You

versus
10 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Swing out Sister showcase eighties glam rock at it's best.
I don't know if this is a good thing, but Swing out Sister began Tom O'Connor's afternoon BbC TV series in the 1980's with a mimed rendition of Breakout, which also opens this CD. The series may have gone the way of all flesh, but S.O.S have been preserved in aspic here for your delectation. It sounds mighty good too with crystal clear production reproducing ice cold...
Published on 28 Feb 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy reissue of a beloved '80s album, 21 July 2012
By 
This review is from: It's Better To Travel [2CD Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
It's hard to believe it's been 25 years since Swing Out Sister's debut was released. "It's Better To Travel" remains an excellent album. "Breakout", the band's signature hit, sounds just as good today as it did back in '87. Thanks to the excellent remastering job, the music sounds good as ever. The horns absolutely shine on this reissue, and Corinne Drewery's lovely vocals are front and center.

This reissue was originally going to have less bonus tracks, but both Corinne and Andy Connell listened to fans and revised the track listing. There are bonus remixes of the popular songs "Breakout", "Twilight World", "Surrender", "Blue Mood" and "Fooled by a Smile" plus a smattering of B-sides. The B-sides are not as good as any of the songs on the album, but it's good to have them as part of this collection. Surprisingly, despite revising the track listing, there are actually more remixes that were left off, including the 7" mix of "Twilight World" and the Phi Phi mix of "Fooled By a Smile".

Small quibbles aside, this is a must-have reissue for S.O.S. fans and '80s music fans. Listening to this album again, it still puzzles me that Swing Out Sister never became bigger despite the success of "Breakout". Hopefully their second album, "Kaleidoscope World", will get the deluxe treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total class!!!, 25 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. D McGrath (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Better To Travel (Audio CD)
I bought this album way back in 1987 on cassette (remember them!!!) after buying "Breakout" as a single. Nothing nicer when you buy an album by a new artist and you get straight into it. LOVE "Twilight World" - my fave on the whole album. It gets right under my skin in the nicest possible way. Still sounds as good now as it did way back in 1987!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Remaster, 21 July 2012
By 
Michael 80 (San Francisco,USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Better To Travel [2CD Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
I have this album on cd from way back in the 80s. Over the years those obscenely priced Japanese reissues with a mediocre sound have often tempted me, but always refrained as I knew one day, a proper 2 disc UK version would appear. Well now here it is finally and was damn well worth it ! Thankyou Corinne and Andy for making this happen. 25 years is a while, but listening to IBTT again with all the remixes and b-sides is a breathtaking experience. In recent times many 80s reissues have suffered from careless remastering by being excessively loud or fuzzy and even bad vinyl rips, but certainly not in this case. Both discs sound crystal clear flawless. For all you music buyers out there who love SOS,please go out and actually buy the cds. That way you can really enjoy this splended 25th Anniversay Edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Pop Album of the 80s, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Better To Travel [2CD Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
I just love this album with all it's bonus tracks and mixes. Brings back the good mood that the group always surrounded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Better To Travel [2CD Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
This is really Fantastic listening, re makes of the excellent tracks, Done Really Well, to a very high level, Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVINGLY EXPANDED CLASSIC, 8 Sep 2013
This review is from: It's Better To Travel [2CD Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
Looking back to first hearing "Breakout" on the radio and in clubs, and seeing its video in heavy rotation on MTV in 1987... great memories of that time. I can't even say I'm an SOS diehard, snapping up everything I can lay my hands on. But this album was such a dazzling debut, I'm not surprised they're still going strong 25 years on. An exquisite blend of pop, soul, dance and "cocktail" jazz that's timeless. So when I saw this two-disc remaster available, I said "Absolutely! " A great job of presenting the original album in updated remastered form, along with the tracks from the limited release "Another Non-Stop Sister" CD and B-sides from the album's singles. If they do this kind of work updating the duo's second album, "Kaleidoscope World, " an album I like even better than this one, I'll definitely be buying that, too. Excellent! Fans of this album will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Better To Travel (Audio CD)
Bought this as a belated replacement for the cassette version (remember those?) as the price was so low and you got the download too (saves about 5 minutes rip time :-) )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Anniversary SOS! Thank you for 25+ great years., 14 Aug 2013
By 
K. Landwehr "jjsmom" (Macomb MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Better To Travel [2CD Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
Since 1987 I've been a fan and always looked for when they'd be in the States or wherever in the world I happened to be. Finally, this summer, after 26 long years the "stars lined up" and I got to see this group in Detroit, Michigan USA. Absolutely worth every minute I waited and I never wanted the night to end. Obviously it did but wanting to keep the magic alive I kept looking online for more interviews or items concerning the group. To my surprise I came across the release of this anniversary album. It was never released in the USA market nor is it available through Amazon USA. But luckily Amazon UK came to the rescue and sent it quickly "over the pond" to me. The cost with currency conversion, VAT and shipping was still in line with what I'd pay locally for a special release such as this. What a small world it is - Thank you Amazon!
Now to the album - You must have it... absolutely must! Even if you own the original release - buy it. The songs are as strong today as they were 26 years ago. The best description I've heard for the musical styling of SOS is cinematic jazz pop with a soul and it started here with this album. The remastering was skillfully accomplished and with the additional B-Sides/alternative mixes/extended versions we get a special opportunity to hear more of the extensive creative sides of Andy Connell and Corinne Drewery.
I can not wait for the next time to see them live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surrender!!, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Better To Travel (Audio CD)
I first bought this CD when it was released way back..
Loved it then and love it even more now! It's like meeting up with an old friend after so many years..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars no cassette player....., 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Better To Travel [2CD Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
had it on cassette when it first came out in 1986 forgot about it, had a house clearance found music cassette with said music on could not play as i have not had a cassette player for years so ordered cd sounds as fresh as the day it was realeased.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It's Better To Travel [2CD Expanded Edition]
It's Better To Travel [2CD Expanded Edition] by Swing Out Sister (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews