Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Walking Shoe
This is the single most comfortable shoe product I have ever bought. Size 10 actually fits, I have had trainers recently that didn't accomadate for wide feet but these are great. May not be the easiest to clean if they get very dirty - but they are super comfy.
Published on 2 Dec 2012 by M. WHITE

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good...but could be better
Very comfortable and the waterproofing seems to be effective. However, for something with such a chunky sole, they are not as grippy as you might think. Walking around the (wet) streets of London over the new year, I slipped on several occasions. Nothing serious and I was able to recover my balance as the loss of grip had only been momentary. But there was a definite loss...
Published 23 months ago by Pete Bell


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good...but could be better, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very comfortable and the waterproofing seems to be effective. However, for something with such a chunky sole, they are not as grippy as you might think. Walking around the (wet) streets of London over the new year, I slipped on several occasions. Nothing serious and I was able to recover my balance as the loss of grip had only been momentary. But there was a definite loss of traction. I'm not sure I'd feel inclined to wear these off the beaten track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boot failed after less than a year, 11 Dec 2013
By 
Jeff Price - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have owned many pairs of Merrell shoes/boots as they are very comfortable. However, my experience with these boots has turned me off of this particular company. The stitching on the toe of this boot completely failed while on an extended trip. The gap left then allowed the toe of the boot to fill with sand and small beach gravel UNDER THE LINER (so, not something that could be shaken out). This ultimately meant the waterproofing on the liner failed. Contacting Merrell customer support was met with poor success (and it should be telling that their warranty on their socks is three times longer than on their boots!!). I ended up tossing these boots rather than hauling them back to the UK. A quick search online found that this sort of failure was common in Merrell shoes - as was the poor level of customer service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Waterproof - Amazon only model?, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First pair went back to Amazon within 2 days, both boots leaked badly. Return is very easy; just box up and take to local shop, at no cost. Received replacement pair within a week. These too are not waterproof, I don't know yet whether to send them back or not, as they are comfortable. As others have found they can be a bit slippery on wet concrete flagstones or steps, but they are fine for dog walks on grass and dirt tracks. Just don't expect them to be waterproof.
I bought these to try out the Merrell brand as I have seen many good reviews in magazines and online, the price was reasonable on Amazon. There is no reference to Archeon boots or shoes on the Merrell website so I presume these boots are made exclusively for Amazon [quality may have suffered to meet a price].
Sizewise I take an 8 in shoes but for walking boots (Scarpa - 3 season and Brasher -winter) I take 9; the size 9 in this boot fits me just fine.

Summary: Boots are comfortable, but not waterproof. If they were not advertised as waterproof I would have given them 4 Stars and would probably still have bought them at the price. As a test of the Merrell brand, I'm not convinced that they can justify their normal high price for boots which are not waterproof when advertised as such. My Scarpa boots are years old and still waterproof, even in the West of Scotland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Walking Shoe, 2 Dec 2012
By 
M. WHITE "Basscamp" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the single most comfortable shoe product I have ever bought. Size 10 actually fits, I have had trainers recently that didn't accomadate for wide feet but these are great. May not be the easiest to clean if they get very dirty - but they are super comfy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Boots!, 8 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This boots have a top finish and are very confortable to use. Best for more cooler days as they have a very good insulation that will keep your feet very warm. Perfect for winther days. Go one size up for perfect fit. It really is a great value for money, especially with free shipping included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sizing and comfort, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merrell Men's Archeon Mid Wtpf Lace Up (Apparel)
I have worn Merrell boots for years and have found them to be the most supportive and comfortable footwear. I expect the size problem - ie having to go up a size. However, not only were these boots too small but too narrow (I compared them to a pair of Chameleon Wraps that are falling to bits and they are significantly narrower at the ankle and these were a women's fit! Also, they aren't really a proper mid boot as they don't even come up to the ankle bone on the inside of the foot.

This is extremely disappointing - I have already returned a female Siren Breeze (bought elsewhere) as insufficiently supportive, but they didn't pinch as much on the inside of the foot.

What on earth is Merrell up to in the sizing? My patience is being sorely tried as a loyal Merrell customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good quality boots, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very nice comfortable boots, worth spending the money on, maybe could have done with half a size larger (normal take an 8 but with thicker socks felt slightly tight so an 8.5 might of been better)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Merrill shoes, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought these on recommendation from my wife , and after reading revues. Excellent fit(one size larger than usual) comfortable all day use, waterproof and warm.love them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent for winter, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
High quality footwear, they are very warm and very nice for winter, they ended up being an excellent purchase and a pleasant surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great boots, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
extremely comfortable and really good value for money, would recommend these boots very highly to anyone. Merrell are great quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Merrell Men's Archeon Mid Wtpf Lace Up
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews