Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice London-based detective drama series - but don't expect to be wowed!
If you're into nostalgia and especially TV detective dramas then you shouldn't ignore this series. Made by London Weekend Television in the early 1970s, I assume they were looking for their own version of the long-running BBC series 'Dixon of Dock Green'. The scripts are well written, the stories are handled well and the acting is great but it feels a bit stilted in...
Published 15 months ago by Charlie Mouse

versus
34 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In the shadow of The Sweeney
New Scotland Yard from London Weekend is a rather strange police procedural drama. Made in the early 1970s, it was part of the company's early drama output, and it was a really good idea that, on the evidence of the first series, wasn't given the attention and thought it deserved. Set in what we have to assume is part of the Yard's major crime unit (this is never really...
Published 23 months ago by Anthony Harrison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice London-based detective drama series - but don't expect to be wowed!, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Scotland Yard - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
If you're into nostalgia and especially TV detective dramas then you shouldn't ignore this series. Made by London Weekend Television in the early 1970s, I assume they were looking for their own version of the long-running BBC series 'Dixon of Dock Green'. The scripts are well written, the stories are handled well and the acting is great but it feels a bit stilted in places and that's probably because it was recorded mostly in studio. A few years later Thames TV would create 'The Sweeney', shot entirely on film and on location, and much more honest and gritty - meaning that 'New Scotland Yard' was somewhat left behind.

A nice series and definitely worth watching - but don't expect to be bowled over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Scotland Yard, Series 1, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Scotland Yard - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I did not realised how good this series was when I first saw it as a youngest over 40yrs ago as there was glut of police series from Z-Cars to Dixion of Dock Green. The real sad part was that the series was cancelled by LWT as they had aimed it for the US market too much and if they had not done so it would have worked better and sold better. The opening credits and scenes are almost a copy of "Hawaii-50"(which is the US telephone version of 999 ;this is before mobiles.) The series features guest actors like June Browne,(Dot Cotton in Eastenders), Sharon Duce, Jacqueline Pearce, Robin Ellis (Poldark),Billy Murray(the Bill), Kenneth Cranham and Winsor Davies, sure line of talent that should have made it a runaway success, but it was not to be. Sadly LWT pulled the plug but it can still be enjoyed on dvd for old fans like me and younger ones who are new to tv crime drama.
Blade
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In the shadow of The Sweeney, 6 Sep 2012
By 
Anthony Harrison "Interceptor7" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Scotland Yard - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
New Scotland Yard from London Weekend is a rather strange police procedural drama. Made in the early 1970s, it was part of the company's early drama output, and it was a really good idea that, on the evidence of the first series, wasn't given the attention and thought it deserved. Set in what we have to assume is part of the Yard's major crime unit (this is never really explained), the officers deal with the usual array of nasty criminal activity - murder, kidnap, arson, gangland goings-on - and is led by Detective Chief Superintendant John Kingdom, assisted by Detective Inspector Alan Ward. Kingdom is played by veteran actor John Woodvine, who tries his best in the role, but to me seemed to give a strangely under-powered performance. For such a senior officer, Kingdom is very hands-on, and even allowing for the passage forty years, I can't really believe that he would have had such an intimate role in each case; dramatic licence I guess, but it's not the only thing that stretches credibility in the show. Kingdom and Ward have an odd relationship, sometimes spiky and acrimonious, and at other times warm and supportive, but this uneven tone to the characterisation didn't seem to work.

Despite scripts by some top-notch writers of the day (Tony Hoare, Don Houghton, Robert Banks Stewart), and some skilful direction, the material and stories and really hampered by the slow pace and limits of television production at the time. The ideas on show here demonstrate the genesis of seminal works such as The Sweeney, which was able to fully respond to the need for face-paced action and movement when dramatising stories like these. It's a lesson that fellow London ITV contractor Thames learnt much earlier, when it moved Special Branch from a slow, studio-based approach, to the faster, action-orientated 16mm film deployed by Euston Films. New Scotland Yard could really have benefitted from this technique, as I got somewhat weary of the seemingly endless explanatory (and at times overly theatrical) dialogue and detailed focus on the characters' back-stories.

As you would expect, some episodes are better than others; I particularly enjoyed Memory of a Gauntlet and Shock Tactics, but some of them simply don't reward the effort of watching. If you do buy this, look out for some early screen performances from some up and coming television greats - future Harvey Moon, Kenneth Cranham (in what must have been one of his earliest TV roles), Robin Ellis, and Alun Armstrong.

The series must have done something right though, as according to the IMDB it ran, with some format and personnel adjustments, for four series. If Network release the other series, I am not sure I'll be buying them...as I say, there was just too much hard work involved as a viewer. Still, it's probably a relatively important example of the development of television police dramas, but unlike its contemporaries such as Special Branch or The Sweeney, doesn't have very much to say and I can see why it's largely been forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful series, 28 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: New Scotland Yard - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A pleasure watching new Scotland Yard for the first time. A very compelling forty year old tv series

All the episodes wonderfully written.

The only flaw- would a high rank officer like Chief inspector Kingdom (woodvine) be involved in such mediocre crime cases like bank robbers or a Jewish female killer?

John Carlisle plays one of the strongest characters as the thin faced gaunt looking Gestapo youth leader inspector Alan ward. Inspector Ward happily shoots and slaps women and knocks out defenceless suspects

Episodes include A horse riding policeman accused of murder, a serial killer stalking women in their 30-and 40s and Hippy heroin addicts and lots of other great stories

A great drama Full of substance with well written and well made episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned Cop Series, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Scotland Yard - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is typical of the type of TV cop shows I was brought up with and much better than some of the dark and moody stuff you get on TV these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Series, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Scotland Yard - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I simply love the series, but unfortunately I have had to return this as there was a fault on one of the discs. I would certainly recommend this to all my friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Scotland Yard - The Complete Series 1 [DVD]
21.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews